We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, casual dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Turkish Cuisine

Turkish Cuisine
Ranked #2,050 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, casual dinner”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We've been to this cosy restaurant twice now, and love it. Welcoming staff, lovely decor with lots of Turkish tiles and copper. The mixed grill is fantastic, a crisp selection of grilled meats but not overdone. Tomato and eggplant sauces, cool yogart-mint dip, fluffy rice. All at a reasonable price. Try it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valientheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    70
    17
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A great meal, and close to Broadway theaters too.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Met here on the recommendation of an old friend and we weren't disappointed. I particularly liked the Arnavut Cigeri (fried beef liver), and the lamb Beyti. You won't regret eating here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonetone2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A slice of Turkey on Ninth Ave.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We've been here numerous times and have always enjoyed the experience at Turkish Cuisine. Eating at the restaurant feels like you are in somebody's home. The place is decorated in a warm Turkish motif. Only once did we make reservations but it did not seem necessary. The servers are very friendly and helped us with some great choices to select. We had the special lamb shank dish. And, indeed it was especially good. We also had the grilled chicken kabob over grilled eggplant. As an appetizer, we had the babbaghanosh. It's homemade as you could really taste the grilled eggplant. It was not blended to mush as one gets in many restaurants.

However, please check your bill. The restaurant overcharged for the glasses of wine and charged for one refill of coffee. This charge for a refill of coffee seems to be something we have noticed at another Manhattan restaurant. Is this a trend? It's unfortunate as it leaves a negative impression. We were such in a great mood that we did not look closely at the bill. Will we be back? Absolutely!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DHudsonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The staff here make you feel as though you have just hopped on another plane to Turkey - apart from the view of NYC - the selectiojn of food and even typically Turkish veggie food were a great choice!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ells1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
268 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Turkish Eatery”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a very good Turkish restaurant with an excellent menu and extremely appealing decor. The two cold appetizers ordered - Spicy Hummus, which is a house special and Tarama, which is caviar with special middle eatern spices were both very good, but both could have been more portion-generous. Two of us ordered the Combo Grill consisting of chunks of boneless marinated chicken, chopped seasoned lamb, and lamb served with rice and grilled vegetables. The other two diners ordered the Chicken Eggplant Kebab made with tomato and garlic sauce. Everyone was quite pleased with their selections. Another too noisy Manhattan restaurant but we won't hold that against them. Prices were reasonable. A no cocktail dinner for four with two appetizers and four entrees cost about $37 per person...$45 per person if tip is included.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBJoelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkish Cuisine also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Turkish Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing