We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked by the reviews”

Madison Restaurant - First Ave
Ranked #1,913 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Neighborhood: Midtown
new york, ny
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Shocked by the reviews”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visit relatives a block away and have tried this diner many times with consistently poor outcome. We find it crowded and dirty. Not a repeat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnut2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    60
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Breakfast every day!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great classic diner food, lovely staff and fab value. Huge breakfast choice - you need a long walk after.

Helpful?
Thank Happydad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic American diner”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went here for breakfast. Huge portions, non stop coffee and great atmosphere with the locals. Scrambled eggs with pastrami to die for. Great value as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chichester525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best beligian waffles in midtown!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to have breakfast after a long nite out. Service is quick, efficient and friendly. Food is awesome...breakfast being their best meal served. Highly recommend trying it out...and coffee cup is never empty.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Violetta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cititouropath in London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We asked a local where to go for a good breakfast. "That's easy" he said "the Madison Restaurant 1st and 53st". Boy was he right. We went there every day of our holiday. The staff are fantastic but what I couldn't get is how they made great food so quickly and for the price. Because we let the crowds that fill the place every day go first, we always got their four seat comfort booth.

Now, we like a good sized breakfast, but after a Madison breakfast we didn't even want more than a snack for dinner.

Thanks again Madison
jmhicks

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Restaurant - First Ave also viewed

Woodside, Queens
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Madison Restaurant - First Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing