We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel like a tourist!fun fun fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #328 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Northvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feel like a tourist!fun fun fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

A little "touristy" place, good food maybe not the best but it's so much fun, you have a great view of Times Square and it's great for families.We go there a few times a year and every time we have a great time feeling like we are on vocation for a few hours!!!!if you are in the area try to go! And make sure you try the Cajun Shrimp!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,136
    3,641
    1,282
    338
    158
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, NJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Their motto is 'You're tourists and don't deserve good food/service'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Popped in here for Sunday lunch because we had a 12 year old with us and he was keen. The place was a pretty full but not insane, anyway plenty of time for a lot of the servers to stand around chit chatting loudly and laughing. Décor is interesting and kitschy, especially for the youngsters. Seating is pretty comfortable and we had no trouble getting a booth. Window seating is great for people watching in Times Square but gets pretty hot and uncomfortable on a sunny day. Understand the place gets very packed! They do not take reservations and it could be an extremely long wait

Our waiter did not bother to write down any of our order so it should have been no surprise that he forgot our appetizers. He also disappeared as soon as he took our order. After waiting for 30 minutes for our food, we were able to flag down another waiter for help. He found our waiter who realized that he had never put in our appetizer order for which he apologized and another 15 minutes later we were served everything at once - appetizers and mains. So a total of 45 minutes to get out food.

Now for the quality of the food ... if you are expecting fresh fish/seafood, you're in the wrong place. Everything is very definitely frozen and pre-made and instead of actual cooking, there is a lot of microwave action going on in the kitchen. I knew this going in and my co-diners got to know this with every passing bite. We all happen to order a dish with shrimp and all the shrimp was the same - clearly thawed from frozen, rubbery, waterlogged, and tasteless. Even the salad greens were old and withered.

Considering the mess up with our order, any restaurant would have comp'ed us a part of the meal, offered free dessert or coupons for our next visit. Aside from a half-felt apology, we received none of these because our server clearly did not think it was worth the effort to have us leave happy and come back for another meal. In fact, there is a rather emphatic 'we're serving tourists, it's not repeat business, so we don't give a crap' attitude about the place. In fact, we were seated right next to the register station where hoards of servers would congregate to chat and make fun of their tourist clientele, scattering like cockroaches in daylight whenever a manager appeared.

As a local, I find this whole attitude embarrassing and highly offensive - it tickles me that I live somewhere that millions of people choose as a holiday destination and if people spend their hard earned money at any NYC eatery, they should be served good quality food and be treated well. I actually came in for this lunch with other locals who go to this Bubba Gump's fairly frequently because it's kid friendly ... who will not be returning again.

... and just a note for all the tourists - please, please! PLEASE!! don't restrict yourself to Times Square for meals. There are TONS! of restaurants in the Hell's Kitchen area only a couple of blocks away that have fantastic food, great service at good prices. Take a little time to do some homework before you come and build your itinerary around good places to eat so you can enjoy what this beautiful city has to offer - TripAdvisor is an excellent resource. There is something here for everyone's tastes and at every price point. Your tummy will thank you!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LexiBelleville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Time Square Food Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Most themed restaurants are not worth their salt. Bubba Gump's is an exception in food value in Times Square and the food is decent too. If you want shrimp, this is the place to go. Tip: There is usually a wait but ask to wait at the bar if that is your cup of tea

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A bit like KFC with seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Bubba Gump is famous for Forest... But the magic stops there. The food is seafood/fish equivalent of KFC. We came with a friend and were disappointed. The ambience is nice and I liked the interior, but it's much too 'touristy' and in fact the style is diluted. I probably won't go again, much to my regret, because I'm a big Forest's fan.

Helpful?
Thank Tadeusz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have been to a few Bubba Gumps, this one in New York was very average, I had to tell them what cheesy fries was and how to make them as it wasn't on the menu???? The clam chowder was watery and was very average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snake43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing