We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional N.Y. After Six”
Review of Pietro's

Pietro's
Ranked #1,348 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traditional N.Y. After Six”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Pietro's is the place to go to witness traditional N.Y.C. after business hours. Wonderful food, fair pricing, a bit noisy, but an atomosphere to die for. While not Sedalia or Cincinnati, the change is grand for an evening.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Pietro's is a longtime Midtown East citizen. It could serve as a set for any mob movie; that is not a criticism. But there are so many better Italian restaurants at the same price point that it seems nonsensical to settle. The menu is tired and uninspiring. The food is just ok. But just OK doesn't provide a memorable dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastVillageDenizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
213 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth looking for it”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

A really nice place that is a bit off the main path. Food very good and reasonably priced. The veal is great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djh5723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
706 reviews
583 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“49 years”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Start with Shells a la Nat or chopped tomato & onion salad with blue cheese dressing. Have a filet or Chicken Pietro (order white meat only, no skin, no bones). Have a side of fried onions. I've never had dessert.....who can eat that much. I started eating regularly at Pietro's, upstairs in a small dining room on 45th St., in 1963 and have never gotten over the move in 1984. Most of us are on Medicare...but "early onset"

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
227 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were delightfully surprised. Had reservations at another restaurant in the area but due to a flooding problem we had to make a quick change. Wanted to dine near the Grand Central Station since friends were coming in from CT just for dinner. This received a good rating from Zagat but didn't say much about the decor. The four of us found it delightful. We don't demand new we like the ambiance of older restaurants. The point is the food was excellent. Portions were large and prices were good. We are looking forward to returning to this great Italian restaurant. ALSO, I love the front door. It was a special touch and unexpected. I felt like I was entering someone's home. Nice touch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pietro's also viewed

 

Been to Pietro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing