We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food for price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Sichuan - CLOSED

Grand Sichuan
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food for price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I went along with a few friends for a business lunch. The restaurant is very nice with friendly staff, I had a fried rice-the right amount of spice and brought up very quick. It's value for money, you can have a good lunch for under 10 dollars in heart of NYC. I will recommend it and will go back again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhay0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grand Sichuan Chinatown- the redheaded stepdaughter of Grand Sichuan Chelsea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

The main dishes were all decent but vaguely disappointing. The kitchen is actually downstairs and dishes arrive via a dumbwaiter system. I imagine it's a lonely and dark existence down there in that basement, which might account for the lack of love our dishes received. There was nothing noticeably wrong with anything, but that's no great compliment either. For mains courses, we chose sesame beef, Kung Po chicken, braised beef filet in Szechuan sauce, sauteed water spinach and sauteed string beans. The braised beef was a spicy, oily, stew served on a bed of Chinese cabbage and was the most handsome and the best dish of a middling bunch, but it still lacked star power.

For more info and pics check out http://mylifeinnoodles.blogspot.com/2011/07/grand-sichuan-chinatown-redheaded.html

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank rasruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“It was an good restaurant a few years ago but now it`s mainly commercial”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

I have vistited the restaurant before a few years and a couple of days ago the last time and there a lot od things which have changed for the worse in this time. The food was now overpriced in my eyes and the service was never really good. The quality of the food has also changed. There a many better chinese restaurants out of there. In my eyes they loók to much on their profit and not so much on high-grade food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george0681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

I went to this location on 7/26/09. Being a fan of chinese food, I had really high hopes that I was about to have an experience I hadn't had before....I did not....don't get me wrong, It was good basic chinese food but, nothing that I hadn't had 1000 times before...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnieDDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Anyplace that serves frog interests me, especially when it is tender and not fishy. This place hits that mark. Nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

Anyplace that serves frog interests me, especially when it is tender and not fishy. This place hits that mark. Nice dan dan noodles and ma pa tofu. Anything with the wild peppers is a must try. The food is spicy, but the heat is not overwhelming. But don't go if you are in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank DonPBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Sichuan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing