We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Bar!”

Dive Bar Restaurant
Ranked #3,698 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Welcome to Dive Bar, the place to be on the Upper West Side! Conveniently located on the southwest corner of 96th Street and Amsterdam Avenue, we have something for everyone to enjoy. Come in and try one of our phenomenal daily specials, or order something delicious from our permanent menu. At Dive Bar, we have a huge selection of on tap beer and growlers- glass bottled filled with draft beer to bring home- that is constantly being updated. We specialize in Craft Beer and have 30 taps, as well as 2 Cask Conditioned Taps. Try your favorite or try them all, and don't forget to take a look at our extensive scotch, bourbon and tequila menus. We also have a wide variety of delicious snacks and substance, including dive burgers, sandwiches and all day breakfast available at our late night kitchen-open til 2 AM! From trivia to sports to music, all three Dive Bar locations have events nearly every night. Stop by to watch your favorite team play on one of our 14 televisions, and stay tuned for news on upcoming events and live music!
bolton
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“What a Bar!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Didnt eat here but spent 2 nights in there for drinks.

Great atmosphere, excellent music, and a vast choice of over 50 beers, 25 of which are on draught!

A little piece of unspoilt new york and a great night.

Looks nothing from outside - but inside is a delight, just how you would hope a local NYC bar to be

Well its got my vote and recommendation anyway

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Definetely a neighborhood joint”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Dive Bar gets extremely crowded come early evening but during the afternoon it's a cozy neighborhood hang out. Amazing beer list and great specials. The staff know their suds and the food is a step above standard pub fare. Hats off to being vegetarian friendly, the poutine in a veg gravy was amazing.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood beer joint good food”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Great local spot. Not for everyone. Lock New Yorkers recommended it and we liked it. Give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sure, Why Not Try It!”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

All in all, clean and well-lit. Not exactly two things you'd think of with a "dive", but it was good.

Found some good friends to talk with. Beer selection was good.

Hoping to find a chatty or at least helpful bartender, but he couldn't be lacking any more in the personality category. Just a flat-out non-conversational condescending loser.

Stayed for 3 beers, but only because we sat down next to some fun people. The bartender would have driven us away immediately.

Go with friends or don't go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
624 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
“Dive Bar...A Nautical Theme...But In Fact, Aptly Named”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The theme is slightly nautical in this little hole-in-the wall joint on the upper West Side. hence the name.But, as a matter of fact, the place really is a dive. Actually, I have nothing against dive bars. They are what they are...local hangouts, not very strong in the charm department and not exactly a gourmet experience. But this area of Amsterdam-Broadway-West End between 89th and 100th is low on local bars. You have to travel up to Columbia or further down into the 70s to find many neighborhood watering holes.So the Dive Bar is convenient and welcome if you are living or staying in the area. I have been there a number of times. Some of the patrons are a little rough around the edges and the barkeep can be a litle gruff at times, but I have never really felt ill at ease or menaced at any time. This night, we went for a casual pub dinner...sandwiches, fries, burgers...usual bar fare. The woman who waited on our table was pretty cool and friendly and the food, while nothing to brag about, was decent enough. There were four of us and we did some drinking, but still I got sticker shock when this rather simple light supper ran us $94! Again, this is New York City, so prices are expected to be hefty I guess. Back near home in the hinterlands of Bryn Mawr, this same evening would probably cost 55 bucks in one of the local pubs. Anyway, when I go back to this area of the NYC and if I am looking to go casual, I'm sure I'll wind up in the Dive again. i'll just remember to load up on cash before I do.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Bar Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Dive Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing