We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning japanese food in a high-class setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EN Japanese Brasserie

EN Japanese Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
EN Japanese Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,518 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Leroy Street
Transit: The Varick street station (1,9) located at west Houston and 7th ave, is the closest train to EN Japanese Brasserie. From the station walk one block west to Hudson Street, turn right, and then walk two blocks north to leroy st. - the west 4th street station (A, C, E, F, D or V) is the next closest station. From the station walk west from 6th ave.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning japanese food in a high-class setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

First of all I'll start by saying that I'm married to a Japanese woman, and have spent countless trips to Japan in the last 10 years. As a result my expectations on Japanese food outside Japan is usually pretty low.

I was proven wrong.

I was there with a few friends. We ordered a selection of their dishes: agedashi tofu (fried tofu), sushi rolls with sea urchin, cod "nobu style", vegetables with natto, the home made tofu, vegetable tempura, etc.

Out of the ~10 dishes we ordered, 9 were excellent.
The only disappointment was the karaage (fried chicken), which was surprisingly dry and salty, and clearly well below the standard of the place.

On other points, the service was good (nothing special), and the drinks of good quality.

Of course, there's a price for this quality, but I think it's worth it.
bill for 4 ppl, 10 dishes, several beers and a bottle of sake: 400 USD (with tips)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Resyek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    90
    16
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
586 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“For top-notch Japanese fare beyond sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We enjoyed every single dish last night, the fresh tofu made hourly, the asari clams, the O-Banzai kyoto style appetizers, the Karei Age fried flounder with ponzu sauce. The desserts, too. Our very un usual shochu (a 25 percent alcohol spirit served on the rocks) was tasty but I would not especially recommend it. (Gyokuro) There are many many sakés to choose from. Service very professional and kind. We came at 630 thus we the first clients and everything was served very very fast, not necessary, but we understand. Very attractive decor. A few private rooms available.
500 for 6 people witgh the expensive bottle of shochu (74) tax and tip

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant is trendy with high ceiling, large space, nice decoration, very good food. We had kaiseki, they were served in very small portions but you would end up not hungry. The brown dish (not sure what it was but kind of vegetable) in the first 3 was fantastic; the sashimi pieces were so fresh and delicious; the black cod and chicken were outstanding. I heard they are famous for their tofu, but the tofu was okay to me, maybe because i'm not a fan of tofu. The black cod was the top notch of our dinner. It's pricey but it's worth the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Vermont
Level Contributor
207 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were a party of 5 on Saturday night and had an outstanding visit. We selected the multi-course dinner and were very impressed with the quality and the variety of food presented. Service was excelent but not oppressive/stuffy and the atmosphere was airy and elegant/austere. Despite its being a large, open space, the restaurant was not noisy and one did not get the feeling of being rushed, harried or that the staff wanted to "move us along."

My companions had a bunch of sake (I don't like sake) which was adjudged outstanding by its consumers (admittedly, their judgment may have been a bit "impaired" by the end of the evening). By the way, if you or your party drink lots of sake, be prepared for a significant check.

I'm not sure what Japanese restaurant to compare this to in New York. I have not been to the Morimoto in New York but am familiar with the Philadelphia location which is also outstanding but much, very much, busier and louder. ENJB seems almost zen-garden like by way of comparison.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We've lived in Japan for 10 years, so we know how good Japanese food can be. EN matches the quality of food in Japan. Try their tofu; it is spectacular! The quality of service was excellent. Portions are good and not overwhelming. It really felt like being back in a restaurant in Japan.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzyNYC_278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EN Japanese Brasserie also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to EN Japanese Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing