We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Grace
Ranked #167 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable, . We leave the laptop and money in the room safe and had no problem.
The hotel is well located, close to times square. The breakfast is optional, we prefer to have breakfast near the hotel, has a starbucks and a bakery on the same block. The staff is just ok, no praise and no complaints. We had great days in New York and certainly we will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maimartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for writing such a great review about Room Mate Grace.

I'm more than proud to hear that you had a great stay, but I am not pleased with an OK, I want a GREAT! So if you felt that the staff was only average, you should have let me know, because we pride ourselves on excellence, and we want our guests to be treated as home.

Looking forward to meeting you again soon, and please, do not hesitate to talk to me personally about your stay.

Hope you had a safe trip home.

Sincerely.

Room Mate Grace Hotel Managament Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    1,014
    272
    110
    90
See reviews for
358
1,187
153
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you enjoy being in the middle of it all, this hotel is perfect. Times square is literally right outside the door. I was kind of worried about how noisy it was going to be because we were so close to all the craziness, but you couldn't hear anything in the room. The bed is amazing!
The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. We didn't know the area that well and they were always more than happy to help us out with directions. The hotel design is very modern with random patterns on the walls. It's just such a cool place. And the price is pretty good considering on the location.

Tip: If you stay here make sure you go to the Cranberry Cafe for breakfast. Their mocha lattes are incredible. Also check out O'Lunney's Irish Pub for lunch or dinner. Both of these places are right by the hotel.

I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshlynnPate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear customer.

What a nice review!! Thank you so much for taking your time and giving us your feedback about your stay.

Room Mate Hotels philosophy is to treat our customers as if they were friends, and I see that we achieved this with you!We know that many guests do not know the city so well, so we are more than welcome to make you feel home.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Room Mate Grace Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had a really good experience in this hotel.
Rooms were clean, helpfull staff and great value for an hotel in Manhattan!!!

Two minutes walking from times square, great night club on the week end, swimming pool and Spa.
You can't ask more!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cetti1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear customer.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a great review.

Room Mate Hotels philosophy is to be located in the best places in every city. I see that you found this location to be convenient and close to everything you may need.

I am glad to see that our staff did a good job with you too!

If you happen to visit NYC again, I hope to welcome you personally.

Kind Regards,

Room Mate Grace Hotels Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is only a few doors down from the Lyceum Theater and around the corner from the heart of Time Square. Friendly staff. Plenty of places to eat next door and across the street.

Loved the funky room! More spacious than I expected being it's location. Clean.

For us it was a place to sleep for 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear customer.

Thank you so much for your great review!!!Im so happy to hear that, even for 1 night stay, you loved our hotel and found everything you needed.

I really would like you to stay with us for a longer time, so this way you enjoy our facilities such as the pool, the steam room, bar etc

Even if its for just one night we will very honored to welcoming you again!

Hope you had a safe trip home.

Room Mate Grace Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I am currently lodged at the Grace. Applied for a superior room which happened to be extremely small (room 1005). No internet conection in the room despite having asked over 10 times to reception. The entrance is like a small cave with a tiny pool. The service...anything but good. I have travelled a lot to New York and I can tell you, I will never again be at this hotel. Definetely not worth for 500USD a night. It really reminds me of the youth hostels you go to when you are 18...Avoid at all cost!!!

Room Tip: Do not come to this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acuarel_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank your for taking the time to write a review about your stay with Room Mate Grace.
I would also like to take this opportunity to extend my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have been experiencing during your stay.

Since you are a guest who is currently staying with us, please feel free to reach out to management to further discuss your stay with us.

Warmest Regards,

Room Mate Grace Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worms
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed this year the first time at Room Mate Grace, as we liked the stylish appearance shown in the internet, and the promise was kept. The hotel is really nice in style, even though our room was very small (we were with friends, their room was as nice but had more space).
The location between Battery Park and Times Square is very good and it is safe to walk back from the subway or Rockefeller plaza even later in the night.
Service from the lobby staff was exceptional. We lost our iPhone on the flight, and Ronny from the lobby did his utmost to help us to get it back - called Lost&Found at the airport, searched in the internet for a search form from the flight carrier and filled it out for us (and believe it or not, we really got back the phone after 2.5 month!). But also the other staff was always helpful and responsive to our requests and questions.
Breakfast is o.k. for the price, service in the breakfast area was quite slow, though.
The only downside was the noise, as we were in the 6th floor and the noise level from the street and the 4th floor rooftop bar next door was quite high (but we had good earplugs with us).

Room Tip: If the floors are comparable, I would avoid room 1 and 12 as they are smaller than the others (at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HB_WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Customer.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a great review. We strive for excellence and pride ourselves on providing personalized service to all of our guests. I am really happy to hear that our staff could help you that way and that finally after that incident everything went well!!

In Room Mate Hotels the word "no" does not exist, and we really want our guests to feel like they are at their friends´ house.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Room Mate Grace.

Hope you had a safe trip back home.

Kind Regards,

Room Mate Grace Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was a bit worried after looking at some of the reviews, we arrived at 10pm, the street was bouncing and we were really surprised how near Time square we were. We were greeted by reception staff, checked us in really quickly, and they were really helpful telling us where to go and get something to eat. Our room was small but that's what you get in New York, we had a double bed and there was a single bunk above ours, this wasn't ideal as it was for our 18 year old daughter and it was a bit cramped for 8 nights, I must add, the beds were really comfy, the room was cleaned every day and the bathroom was quite big and very clean, nice clean towels and dressing gowns every day. The pool was great, our daughter used it each day, there is a swim up bar too. The door man was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him, I would recommend this hotel to anyone if you are looking for a clean place to crash right in Time Square

Room Tip: We were in room 901 and it was really quiet and the beds are to die for zzzzzzzzzzzzzz
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrorchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this candid review about Room Mate Grace.

Room Mate Hotels philosophy is to treat our customers as if they were staying in a friends house. We strive for excellence and I am really happy to see that you enjoyed all our facilities and were treated very nicely from our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

Warmest regards,

Room Mate Grace Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#187 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#223 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#39 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#47 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,840 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#51 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#231 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Property: Room Mate Grace
Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing