We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fine. Not great, not awful. But for the price I'd expect more.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #170 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine. Not great, not awful. But for the price I'd expect more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Good points:
Great location, good views, close to subway.
Extremely comfy bed, good black-out blinds.
Good shower, although warm rather than hot, with nice view.
Staff were helpful, if a tad too cool for school (but hey, it's a design hotel!).
List of good local restaurants was spot on.

Bad points:
Room a bit shabby. Could do with some TLC.
Noisy, could hear room above us. Hole at bottom of door meant you could hear everything in the hall.
Some irritating 'form over function' features; ridiculous sink, nowhere to hang coats, very minimal lighting.

Basically, it's perfectly fine. Nice even. But for $340 a night (inc. taxes) you expect something a bit special, which this place just isn't.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    335
    105
    61
    43
See reviews for
105
510
85
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

I was excited to get a good rate on this hotel, which I've wanted to try for a long time. It is very contemporary. The room was very soothing, comfortable bed and spectacular bathroom with steam shower and amazing bathtub. Very cool. However, we were on the 3rd floor and from midnight to 4:30 a.m. there was constant shouting, horn honking and blaring music. Terrible. And no warning about this from the front desk staff in advance. Perhaps on a much higher floor things would have been better, but given that the staff didn't even seem to care how our stay was when we checked out, we won't bother to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank achapstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

I always love visiting New York City and rarely find much to complain about when I stay, so perhaps my opinions are biased. On my most recent trip, together with my wife, we opted to stay in the Lower East Side. For those who don’t know Manhattan, the LES is a bit more gritty than other parts of town. It’s a good 10-15 minute stroll from more bustling parts like Soho. It’s considered an ‘edgy’ part of NY, with plenty of thrift stores, antique & art galleries, cafes and fashion boutiques. If this is your thing then the Hotel on Rivington might be a good place to stay.

By far and away the best thing about Hotel on Rivington are the views. If you get a room high enough (we had a corner king with balcony on the 18th floor and loved it) the views over Manhattan are spectacular. In fact waking up and seeing the sun rise of this part of New York is something to behold.

The rooms are nice. General style is modern and decor is overall pretty slick. All rooms have floor to ceiling glass windows hence the great views of the city. There is plenty of wardrobe space and spacious room. The bathrooms are quite special with the floor to ceiling glass windows continuing into the shower (perhaps not great for the very shy). Our room also had a very large soaking tub, complete with candles and matches. The beds were extremely comfortable. A fantastic night sleep was had (this despite the relentless hustle and bustle of NY streets 18 floors below us).

Breakfast was not the greatest I have ever had. The continental breakfast comprised bagels, toast with a choice of cream cheese or jam and fruit, but it was not very well organised. Likewise I was not overly impressed with the level of service - there was at least two occasions we asked for something to be done and it was totally ignored. A personal gripe of mine.

In summary though, I would say a stay at Hotel on Rivington was probably worth it. It’s not the cheapest place to visit but hey, neither is anywhere in New York.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eltyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

This is my first time ever commenting on a horrible experience at a hotel but I feel like the reviews of this hotel are giving people the wrong idea. Here are my issue.

#1 Unless you are a circus freak the rooms are 300 sq ft too small with old banged up furniture.

#2 After pulling up the sheets I saw about 20 black pubic hairs on the brick mattress.

#3 The website? Really? Reallllllly? These photos make this place look nicer than the the Ritz, spoiler it's not.... Whoever photoshopped these images could make my grandmas living room look great for the homepage of design and architecture, give me a break.

#4 This place is banged up... With a nasty stained red carpet pulled up the lobby, tiny 12 inch TV's, and weird staff, I can tell you as I still sit at this hotel it's not worth your time. I'd rather stay in times square, and I HATE times square.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Syracuse_Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Have stayed here 3 times now and we love the location and small boutique hotel.Rooms are decent size and staff friendly.A bit expensive unless you can get it on sale.Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toron2travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed 2 nights on the 16th floor - in a Corner King Room over the New Year period.

The choice of hotel was based on us wanting a change from the main tourist areas of mid town and we were not disappointed.

The location is in an up and coming area - meaning a great bar or restaurant could be located next to somewhere less desirable... it reminded me of the MeatPacking district of 5 years ago.

You have to be a bit more 'on guard' as there are plenty of the less well off in the area and we were hassled a couple of times for a 'few dollars'.

Hotel room was very good and would recommend for the great view and unusual layout of the room.. slept very well but did take the 'ear plugs' and they were needed!

I would be happy to answer any questions if you want me to!

All in all good hotel, good location and something a bit different that the razamatazz of times square.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamcaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

At the Hotel on Rivington the answer is more than five.

There are lots of bad things about this hotel.

The bar staff don't seem to have been told that they are there to serve customers.

Having been ignored for some minutes at the bar by five staff, when one of them left the bar and walked passed me I asked him for some drinks. He told me to wait at the bar. I told him I'd been doing that and suggested he go back and get the drinks. He didn't seem to find this a reasonable suggestion and so did so with bad grace.

The doormen display the same attitude.

The room service staff are a bit better, although they are let down by the food they deliver.
It would seem reasonable that if you order some food that is what will arrive. Something else probably will. Something that isn't even on the menu on one occasion. And if the food should be hot, don't expect that it will be.

And if you don't order a wake up call in the early hours, don't assume you you won't receive one. On realising the caller has called the wrong room, don't expect an apology either. Expect him to laugh instead.

Don't expect the furniture to be clean either.

It's in an interesting part of town but the hotel's a triumph of slightly dated style over substance.

On the plus side, if you have a room on a high floor, the views are great but that, along with it's location and good beds are about it. I had some meetings with some contemporary art dealers at the front of the bar. They are a discerning bunch who viewed the place with a cross between amusement and mild horror.

I often thought complain but there were so many things wrong I'd have been doing so constantly and the staff really couldn't care less so I wonder what the point would be. I just won't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank censington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#83 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#147 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#90 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#162 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#380 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#210 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Property: Hotel on Rivington
Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing