We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocks”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #160 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rocks”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here last summer and this hotel rocks. Amazing (latex) mattress. Very clean room. Incredible view we would watch the traffic on 3 bridges and all of lower east side from the 17th floor. We had a corner room with 2 walls of windows and a shower on the outside wall, and I would definitely recommend the upgrade to this accommodation for the extra bucks (and that is coming from a pragmatic cheap skate). The balcony itself, I am sorry to say, was a little too scary to spend much time on. You feel more or less like you are on one of those window cleaner platforms scaling the side of a sky scraper.
If you can get in here to a corner room in the 300 to 400 price range like we did, I can't expect you could have any regrets. Except, of course, it made us want to stay in the room more than we should - we were here to see the city from the street mostly, after all. Although the lobby of the hotel is very minimal, this lodging was definitely a place to make an impression.

Room Tip: Corner room, outside shower, high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi brian999! Im glad we made such an impression on you! A 5 Circle Review from one of TripAdvisor's Senior Contributors?! We must be doing something right. :)
I hope you got to see some of the city from the street view as well, so much fun to be had in the Lower East Side. Although it is pretty cool to take it all in from the comfy confines of a corner room above all the hustle and bustle of NYC.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel on Rivington!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    348
    117
    65
    46
See reviews for
120
540
88
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I needed a lower east side hotel to stay at for one night while we attended the birthday party of a friend. Most of the evening’s activities were in the area, so we wanted not only a stylish place to sleep, but also a hotel that we could use as a launch pad for a fun night out in downtown NY. The Hotel on Rivington did not disappoint. The rooms were cool, comfortable and clean. We loved the views out the floor-to-ceiling windows. They reminded us of why we love staying in the city. The service was attentive and authentic and we appreciated the friendly atmosphere. And even though this hotel has a vibrant party scene and caters to late-night revelers, we were not disturbed by noise or the scene. In fact, it added to the texture of our stay. The Japanese inspired deep soaking tub was a sublime way to let go of stress and breakfast at the Co-Op downstairs was both delicious and perfect place to devour the Sunday NY Times. If you are looking for LES headquarters with cool as cool as you but without attitude, then this is your place.

Room Tip: Book a room on the upper floors. The views are reason enough to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Sean M! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review here on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy the neighborhood as well. Brunch in Co-Op with the Sunday Times sounds pretty hard to beat!

You are always welcome here on Rivington Street!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here three times over the past two years, and I have to admit I am a little bit of a hotel snob. The rooms are very clean, always. The staff will jump to get you anything you could ever dream of. The beds are comfortable with feather pillows and light-blocking curtains. The views are very nice. The last room we stayed in on the 16th floor had a balcony. The corner rooms are very nice but I have not had a room that wasn't nice. Modern style. They have complimentary cookies every night, fresh baked! There is coffee and sometimes wine(special occasions) available on the second floor. It is very close to the subway: one block on Delancey St. And there is some good shopping and restaurants surrounding. Would definitely recommend it. Also about a $15 cab ride from Penn Station. We always have a great time when we come. The mini bar is stocked with literally anything you could think of (sunglasses to synthetic vaginas!). We will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NursesNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello NursesNotes! We LOVE to get reviews from TripAdvisor's Senior Contributors! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Sounds like you had room 163 (one of my favorites!), great view of the Freedom Tower, balcony, the soaking tub and of course the King-sized Tempur-Pedic mattress (just like in every room). I'll make a note in your profile and hope to get you that one next time. :)
Just one note: We offer complimentary wine every day! Along with coffee, tea, fruit and water. And yes, we have an extensive minibar. Hope you enjoyed!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I spent the two nights following our wedding at the Hotel on Rivington, and it was a near-perfect experience. The staff made sure our stay was memorable; we were greeted with fresh-cut flowers, champagne, chocolates and rose-petals scattered on the bed. The views from the 18th floor-corner room were terrific - it's not that high up for New York, but the HOR is in a low-rise part of town and we got the full sweep from the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings in mid-town all the way down to the new One World Trade Center. The huge bedroom and bathroom and floor-to-ceiling windows were a treat, as was room-service breakfast. Many thanks to the friendly, (very) gay-friendly, professional staff - you helped make our wedding weekend everything we could have hoped for!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Peter T! and CONGRATULATIONS!!! We were so pleased that you spent your special day with us at Hotel on Rivington. We love being a part of these magic moments in our guests' lives. Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor with a 5 Circle Review!

We sincerely hope you will return to visit us again and add to your memories.

Congratulations on your marriage!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

As a travel agent, I am always looking for both the bad and the good when staying at a hotel. I want to make sure I only put my clients in the best hotels. The location is great, right next to a subway entrance. There's also some good places to eat nearby, including Katz's Deli and Russ & Daughters with their amazing bagels. I had a corner king room with soaking tub (and balcony!) and it did not disappoint. The room was clean, and had such a gorgeous view. The staff at the hotel that I encountered were nothing short of wonderful. Geo at the front desk is an asset to this hotel, and they had better not lose him! The cleaning staff at the hotel was also really accommodating and pleasant. Baudouin is such a sweetheart as well! I didn't have any noise issues, but I was high up. I imagine any hotel in NYC will have some noise issues when on lower floors. The restaurant and bar at the hotel can definitely get lively, so i'd recommend asking for the highest floor possible. The entrance to the hotel is very different, in a good way. And the lounge near the front desk is a great place to read or check wifi, after you've checked out and are waiting for your car to take you back to the airport!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Thelma A! We really appreciate your review. Coming from such a seasoned traveler as yourself, your feedback is invaluable. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will send your clients over to us. Baudouin is an All-Star and Im glad you had the opportunity to connect with him. Geo and our Front Desk team are always very helpful and informed about what's happening all over NYC, don't worry we won't lose them! :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rivington Street anytime!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Great spot close to subway and within walking distance of Lower East Side/Soho etc. Some great restaurants just around the corner ('Inoteca very good, Sauce excellent). Awesome views with floor to ceiling windows. And free coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBramley1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi JonnyBramley1963! Wow, thanks for the excellent 5 Circle Review! We love to hear from our guests and really appreciate your feedback. Its great that you got to enjoy Ino'teca and Sauce, 2 neighborhood stalwarts, but there are so many more! You simply have to visit us again to try!

Thanks again!
All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have stayed at THOR quite a few times over the years and use hotels in NYC frequently. My last experience there was pretty poor and perpetuates the notion that at weekends it's a bit of a party hotel, which is great if that is what you want.
I however wanted a good nights sleep and was awoken by a party in the room next door. My efforts to ask them to reduce the noise levels were ignored as were the hotels 'attempts'.
These things happen and it's how you are dealt with that identifies how valued you are as a customer. Whilst I received a discount for my troubles I also received a rather patronising response when I enquired as to why none of the managers dealt with me when I complained about the issue. When did this start happening? Surely an apology would have been more appropriate?
Some of the staff at THOR are excellent which is a shame because their solid efforts are undermined by indifferent management. I have stayed there several times before, so it pains me to say that they really need to do better. Other hotels within throwing distance
really do go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant and also demonstrate how they value your business. THOR have become complacent, which combined with rooms that are not cheap, makes for a pretty unsatisfactory stay.

Room Tip: When they say a high room ask how high. Their idea of high still leaves you without a view other tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducati R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello Ducati R, thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We use reviews like yours to focus in on where we need to improve and it is a great tool for us.
That being said I am concerned about your less-than-stellar stay at Hotel on Rivington. We definitely do not practice handling guest service issues like yours in that fashion, so I am sorry. I would like to personally invite back to the hotel and promise to extend a discounted rate and room upgrade. I am sure we can win you back as the loyal guest you have been to us.

Please feel free to contact me directly anytime.

All the Best,
Adam
aperabo@hotelonrivington.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#88 of 466 in New York City
616 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#86 of 466 in New York City
643 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#155 of 466 in New York City
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#362 of 466 in New York City
65 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#214 of 466 in New York City
702 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#309 of 466 in New York City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Property: Hotel on Rivington
Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing