We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest high-end hotel in town!”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #146 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Below is a letter i sent to the GM:

I recently stayed at the Hotel on Rivington from November 12th to November 16th and had one of the most satisfying hotel stays in my many years of traveling. While I was only there for four days, I wish I could have prolonged my stay because of the amazing experience I had at the hotel. The staff and the atmosphere of the hotel was above and beyond my expectations, and would just like to let you know that your hotel is doing an excellent job keeping the guests feel very welcomed and content.

When I initially booked the reservation over the phone, Geo could not have been more polite and courteous answering my many questions regarding room and hotel accommodations. In fact, before we hung up, he mentioned he would be working the afternoon I arrived and looked forward to my arrival.

When I entered the hotel, Geo greeted me with a smile. He was not only polite but also started a friendly conversation, and as a woman traveling alone, made me feel very welcome and comfortable. This type of friendly attitude translated throughout the four days I stayed at the hotel. Every evening, prior to meeting friends for dinner, I had a glass of wine and sat next to the front desk observing guests interact with The front desk and Geo and Asiatic. They were extremely professional when navigating challenging personalities. These two men are a valuable asset to your hotel guests and your business.

In addition, the room was very clean, the cleaning staff very accommodating, and the bed was very comfortable. Even though the cost of the hotel is quite pricey, the experience was definitely worth the money I spent and the value was very high. A hotel like the Rivington is at a level of high expectation and it really fulfilled those expectations. I hope that this kind of hospitality continues at the Rivington so that more people could share an experience like I did at your hotel. See you again in February!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheriNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hello CheriNYC! Thank you so much for your spirited 5 Circle Review! We love to hear from our guests and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is committed to providing excellent service and Geo and Asiatic are no exception. Always with a smile and ready to help!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel on Rivington.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
There are newer reviews for Hotel on Rivington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

From the minute I pulled up and being greeted by Eddie at the door, to the arrangement of my car service by Joshua leaving, and everything in between, I was genuinely impressed with the level of service. What differentiated it for me was that it was real, true customer service. Never felt like I was putting anyone out, which isn't always the easiest thing to find these days—but when you do it really stands out. Short stay, but I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdsgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hi sdsgraves! Thank you so much for your 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

From Eddie, Joshua and the rest of the Team here at Hotel on Rivington,
All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you haven't seen the New York City skyline from the Lower East Side's Hotel on Rivington, I urge you to stop what you're doing and make plans to do so RIGHT NOW. Honestly, everything about this place is great… location, architecture, staff, amenities. But what really kills me are the views. I've stayed there several times, each time having the pleasure at looking at a completely new vista through floor to ceiling glass and in some rooms, from the balcony. When you approach the entrance to the hotel, you hardly notice it's there, it's that low key. Take a quick trip up to the second floor and your greeted by friendly and experienced staff in the serene setting or the registration desk. You'll be instantly into the adding lounge for a complimentary beverage within a living room atmosphere overlooking Rivington Street's famous Economy Candy. Spend a little time there taking it all in as it will acclimate you to both the hotel and the whole vibe of LES. The head on upstairs, open the door to your room and see what surprises await. Depending on the room, that could be soaking tubs with overhead waterfalls, steam showers, completely stocked mini bar, balcony and VIEWS VIEWS VIEWS which seem to change with the light at every time of the day or night. You'll never want to leave.

Room Tip: They're all good but I really like the hight floors facing East.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Greetings from just up the Turnpike, Mark N! You've got us blushing this morning with your excellent 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words about your experience at Hotel on Rivington. The views speak for themselves (yes even the view of the candy shop!) and we are glad you've gotten to take in the Midtown Skyline as well as the Freedom Tower and the Financial District.
Sorry you had to leave! :) We look forward to welcoming you back any time.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

It seems impossible to me now that just a few short months ago, I felt like me and my fiancee Jo were never going to agree on a hotel to stay in for our October trip to NYC. Too expensive, no breakfast, too touristy, too grimy... the search felt never ending. And then... then, Jo found Hotel On Rivington. A boutiquey place about 5 minutes from the Williamsburg Bridge on the Lower East Side.

Revelation.

It was expensive, yes, but not in a way that set it apart from anywhere else on Manhattan Island. And I would say that we more than got what we paid for. When we arrived at the hotel, we nearly walked past it as the only clues to the fact that this building was a hotel were two doormen outside and a "Hotel on Rivington" doormat. Some might find that annoying, but even after 12 hours in transit, I found it rather charming. A word on the doormen- they, Josh especially, were uber friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Sorting out taxis, bringing luggage to your room, they- as with everyone else we came across in the hotel, were so welcoming.

When we got to our room, on a hot, sunny day, we found that we could see the Freedom Tower as well as the Brooklyn Bridge not just from our room, but the shower as well- we got a great sunset one day. I've seen people complain about the fact that the glass isn't frosted which leaves you vulnerable to prying eyes. But, up on the 11th floor, I wasn't too bothered by thoughts of anyone looking up at me. And even if anyone was, I can confirm that the shower cubicle goes from clear to steamed up in about 10 seconds. The bed was very comfortable and- jet lag aside- we slept the sleep of the righteous. As an aside, the day after we checked in, the weather was quite overcast and the Freedom Tower disappeared from view!

We were lucky enough to have complimentary breakfast from the restaurant downstairs, Co-Op. And it was there that we learned that everything you've heard about New York City and their plates of food is true. We staggered out of the restaurant with full bellies more or less every time we ate there, but just as importantly, the food was delicious (my personal favourite, the smoked salmon bagel with scrambled eggs and capers). The guys in the restaurant were a bit more droll than anywhere else, but quite funny if you got chatting to them.

There was free Wi-Fi, free wine in the afternoon (it seemed that some enjoying this service may not have actually been guests of the hotel, reggae music in the lifts and a fairly comprehensive minibar. Just a personal preference, but we loved the black and red interiors. It felt like we were in our own movie whenever we were making an otherwise ordinary journey through the corridors of the hotel. Oh, and the free pool table was a very nice touch. In short, I don't know when we'll return to New York, but when we do, we know where we'll be staying. A great hotel.

I nearly forgot to mention the biggest bathtub I've ever seen, after a day tramping around Manhattan, I didn't want to get out. On that note, some may find the distance between the hotel and the "touristy" bits of NYC a bit of a chore, but we loved being slightly out of the way and, in any case, the F train uptown was only a 5 minute walk away. As was the magnificent Doughnut Plant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockthecasbah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Greetings rockthecasbah77! We are so happy that our style didn't "Clash" with yours! Your stellar 5 Circle Review has us grinning from ear to ear here on Rivington Street. So happy that you chose to stay with us, we know you have hundreds of options in Manhattan but you chose to stay at our unique boutique hotel and we are overjoyed that you "loved" it. From Josh, our charming doorman to our hard-working restaurant staff, our aim is to assure an excellent, memorable and comfortable stay for our clientele.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rivington Street and will take good care of the Doughnut Plant in your absence. Yum! :)

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

First time staying in the LES and this hotel was the perfect location. Nice touches like freshly baked cookies delivered with the turn down service each night really goes above and beyond (plus the complimentary beverages in the bar). The room didn't blow me away, it was modern, clean and spacious for New York .. BUT the beds are something else. Seriously these are THE most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. You have to try them. Quirky minibar with some interesting items, it feels like this hotel is trying to do something different from the faceless corporate hotels and i loved this about the Rivington.
The breakfast was the only chink in their armour - chaotic service and long wait times but this is New York and there are a million other places to eat.
The biggest test of any hotel is would you go back? In this case I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms that have a bath in the floor to ceiling window bathrooms - trust me it...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanSS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi danspoon74! Thanks for the lovely 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor! We love to get feedback from our guests and we can't thank you enough. Our beds are Tempur-Pedic and our guests LOVE them. A good night's sleep is a top priority when staying away from home. We are very glad to hear that you are looking forward to coming back and are excited to welcome you back with a comfy bed, complimentary beverages, freshly baked treats and a familiar face to greet you.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been lucky enough to stay in many hotels in NYC on business and for leisure and have often found myself disappointed by the service / friendliness of the staff and the facilities of the hotel for the price and supposed quality rating it has. Hotel on Rivington completely bucked this trend!

Location is a little 'out of centre' but everything you want is still very accessible and the neighbourhood possibly a little noisy at the weekend if you are looking for a relatively quieter NYC break or on are away on business.

Everything else is fantastic! Great bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel, friendly staff who makes sincere gestures of hospitality, little touches that make the difference, good sized rooms, superb amenities - I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending.

Special mention to Evelyn in Reservations - she set the tone prior to my arrival for the service I would receive when I arrived. Friendly, helpful, courteous - an asset.

Room Tip: If you can, pay for a room on a higher floor - quieter and fantastic views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charwea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hi Charwea! Thank you for your stellar 5 Circle Review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel on Rivington. We are in the business of bucking that trend, for sure. :)

Excellent service is our goal everyday and Evelyn is an asset. From the first phone call with a guest to sending you off in an NYC taxi at the end of your stay, we are committed to that goal.

Thanks again for sharing your kind words here on TripAdvisor!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is quite a stylish hotel in LES with a lot of positives: location in "real" NY, great food/bars nearby, subway, little bedtime treats and of course the phenomenal view! The staff are quite helpful & the guest services are very helpful if you need anything organised prior to arrival.

There are some negatives however. The dark black decor will not be to everyone's taste, at times we felt like we were entering a strip club not a hotel. The mattress seemed to be orthopaedic, which we found really uncomfortable. Again I think you will love or hate.

I'm not sure if the sex aids in the mini bar deserve a positive or a negative!

I think the thing that most effected our enjoyment of the hotel was the glass in the shower wall. Be under no illusion: there is no frosting, you are in full view of the outside. On arrival, dying to take a shower, we had to abandon the plan as there was a roof party across the street! If this doesn't bother you, go for it. It really bothered me and I wish I had been more careful in reading reviews. I kind of assumed there would be frosting/a blind. I think not enough warning is given regarding this feature of the hotel which some people just may not like.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the views. You can lie in bed and see the Empire State!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PsychLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hi PsychLou! Wow you are one of TripAdvisor's Top Contributor's, that is really awesome! We are very proud to have garnered such a positive review from you. TripAdvisor is a great way for potential guests to learn from our past guests and your review is a great help.

Im glad you enjoyed the Lower East Side. It is definitely "real" NY. Restaurants, galleries, boutiques, colorful characters everywhere and the view of Midtown, soaring above. :)

That being said, it is your uneasiness about the hotel that we can learn from more. We do cater to an adventurous clientele. We have a tequila lounge on the ground floor and do offer Babeland products in our mini-bars. But your comfort is our #1 priority. The exterior-facing shower feature of the hotel can be a bit flashy but we offer screens that stick to the windows if you like and usually they steam up pretty good. Our beds are all Tempur-Pedic matresses and do offer a didnt sensation than a standard mattress. I'll speak to my team about being more informative of these amenities.

Thank you for your review, it is invaluable to us in our quest to provide a comfortable, memorable and enjoyable experience at Hotel on Rivington.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#82 of 468 in New York City
668 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#79 of 468 in New York City
665 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#154 of 468 in New York City
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#205 of 468 in New York City
717 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $243 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing