We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Night”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I cannot begin to describe how happy we were with Hotel on Rivington. We live in Manhattan and since we were having our wedding here locally we wanted to check into a nice hotel to make our wedding night special. I researched for days and Hotel on Rivington had the best rooms with the best views. Once we arrived they offered an upgrade for a small fee which turned out to be an amazing suite with a view of the entire city along with a bathroom view of the brooklyn bridge with a soaking tub. I must have called down to the front desk 4 times on the morning of my wedding to ask for this and that and the staff went above and beyond to carry out my requests. Thank you for making our wedding night and the night before so very special!
Also the beds were AMAZING! Best sleep I've had in a very long time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethany d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello BethanyChristine! CONGRATULATIONS! We are so proud to have been your hotel on choice on your wedding weekend! Thank you so much for the excellent 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor.
Glad you went for the upgrade and views of the Brooklyn Bridge and the skyline, they can be pretty stunning. Feel free to stop in anytime you are in the LES or drop a line if you need any assistance with future accommodations. Very happy for you!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    354
    117
    66
    47
See reviews for
127
550
90
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Superb with breathtaking views with staff genuinely interested in guaranteeing that the customer is getting the best, personalised service ever! We were placed on the 19th floor with ample space & incredible views of downtown New York, East side River. Excellently situated with metro nearby. I would recommend the "fusion style food" restaurant next door too. It was my husband's birthday and staff went out of their way to make us feel very special. Hats off to you all for your passionate methods.

Room Tip: the higher the better for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello silvana m! Thank so much for the spirited 5 Circle Review. It really warms our hearts to know that you enjoyed your experience here at Hotel on Rivington. The views from the guest rooms are amazing and somehow make the hustle and bustle of the city seem peaceful and quaint.
Happy Birthday to your husband! Very glad you spent the celebration on our ground floor in Co-Op Food and Drink.
I'll be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff. We truly do care and want all of our guests to have a comfortable stay and a pleasantly memorable experience. Please reach out to me if you need any further assistance or accommodations.

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently enjoyed our fifth time staying at The Hotel on Rivington and once again we loved it! As frequent visitors we were upgraded to a one room suite which was great. The room was on the 12th floor and had great views from both sides of the bedroom; one side to Manhattan and one side to Williamsburg. The hotel is conveniently located to Williamsburg; which is good for us as we have friends there. It's also convenient for the hip bars and restaurants of the LES. It's also a short walk to Soho, Chinatown, TriBeCa etc. Being frequent visitors we don't make much use of the concierge but we usually ask for dinner recommendations. This time The General on Bowery was spot on! The staff are all friendly and welcoming. The best thing I can say is that we will be back again next year so we will see you then.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Greetings Keith M! Thank you so much for your stellar 5 Circle Review! It is our pleasure to have back here on Rivington Street. You are a valued guest and we really appreciate you sending us the TripAdvisor Love. :)
Glad you enjoyed the view of Manhattan and across the East River to the Williamsburg Waterfront.

Please feel free to reach out when making your next reservation! We'll be sure to roll out the red carpet.

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a great hotel and a wonderful location - have stayed 6 or 7 times. Super boutique in its style though beginning to look a little dated as it is one of the earlier boutique hotels. Rooms are still great. Breakfast is good, never tried other meals as the area is excellent with loads of vibrant bars and restaurants. One downside - the management try to run the bar like a nightclub completely at the expense of the residents. Expect to not be able to be heard let alone served, dodge the queues when you are come back in - they aren't for you! It is important to ask for a high up room as the noise from the disco is annoying. They usually oblige if asked in advance. Dont risk the disco, drink in one of the nearby bars and pop back to use the toilets!!!! Anyway, a small price to pay for a nice hotel in a cool area.

Room Tip: Must must must chose a high floor unless you are planning on partying or night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello Ian T, thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. Reviews from seasoned travelers (28 TripAdvisor reviews!) and repeat guests are very valuable and help to shape our hotel. We are so happy to have you as a loyal guest and are very pleased that you enjoy the hotel so much.
Please contact me directly for future reservations and I will be sure to allocate a high room for you. Our restaurant, Co-Op Food & Drink, can be very boisterous and we apologize for having to put up with the rowdiness. Please let me know next time you return and I will get you a few comp drinks tickets and make sure you receive VIP service, hopefully we can win you back!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you ever get a chance to experience the terrace suite, experience it twice. Its an awesome room with incredible service from the time we booked till the time we left. We've also stayed in a Junior suite which was just as elegant and again incredible service.

Room Tip: Corner suites are perfect on any of the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Brody B! We loved your 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor. The Terrace Suite, with its 2 King-sized beds, 2 full bathrooms and TOO cool private terrace, you are right, experience it twice! So glad you enjoyed it so much and we hope you had a friends over...too!

Hope to see you again here on Rivington!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Hotel on Rivington is in An AMAZING location!! Its on the Lower East Side and close to Soho and Williamsburg !! Its in the middle of some fabulous bars.And eating out in the area is Fantastic!
With NYC the places to eat change every year so we asked at reception for some cool eateries and got some great ideas !! (afraid I forgot her name on reception but she was lovely)
Being our fifth time at The Rivington we have had many rooms my advice to all those thinking of coming ask for a high room so you get the best views and The Unique rooms are great as they are big and spacious ! I must admit the hotel is beginning to look a little shabby so I would say a little touch up is maybe needed (this did not effect my stay though)
With regards to the staff we dont often see anyone in all five years of coming!But when we do everyone is always nice and polite !!!
The doormen always give you a nod or hello ! and as mentioned we got some great dinner ideas at reception!
The rooms have always been clean and tidy so no complaints ever with the rooms we have had !
If you want a Hotel in a great Location near all the cool shops and hip eateries then this is for you ! If you are looking for the personal touch and over fussing of staff then this isnt for you !! x

Room Tip: ask for a high room to get a great view x
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colby_cat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi colby_cat21, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review here on TripAdvisor! We really appreciate the feedback and take every review to heart. As a return guest your input is very helpful to our mission of always striving to provide a quality product at a great value.
After 9 years here on the Lower East Side we have to work as hard as ever to keep up the maintenance of the hotel. We are constantly upgrading every aspect of our modern boutique hotel to stay cool, understated, comfortable and current.
I hope you enjoyed some of the new hotspots in the neighborhood! As well as the views from high above it. :)

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A disappointment from the outset. The reception area is no bigger than a walk-in closet. At the reception desk there are three clerks. When we arrived a woman trying to check-in is told a room won't be available for another 3 hours. It's 1130. She is distraught. When she made the reservation she told them she would need to be able to go directly to her room as she was just coming in from an overnight flight. The three clerks tell her those are the rules and she probably was mistaken because rooms generally aren't available until 3pm. Of course while all this drama is going on the clerks leave four other customers standing there to witness this painful drama.

After watching the sleep deprived woman leave in tears to find another hotel, the smug clerks finally notice the others in line. Of course we now know better than to ask for a room key. They take our bags to the bell stand and point us to their waiting area.....and SURPRISE! It's a dump. The furniture is worn and uncomfortable and.....dirty. The coffee stand is missing something. That's right, you guessed it --COFFEE. Here's the best part. They have a pool table in the middle of this room. Within 15 minutes a gentleman who obviously hasn't bathed for several days comes in off the street and decides to play pool. Unfortunately, there isn't sufficient room for someone to play pool without invading the personal space of those trying to get some work done while waiting for a room. And, as you would imagine, the sound of pool balls crashing around the table isn't exactly conducive to conference calls or uninterrupted memo writing.

I could confinue, but I have wasted enough of my life on this sorry establishment. Suffice it to say there are many great hotels in NYC. THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM. Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Wil G, we appreciate your input and will use it to move forward and improve our quality of service and our overall product. We are on a "service mission" of sorts and are striving to improve. We have gotten our rating here on TripAdvisor into the top 100 all the way from 238 out of 435 and obviously still have a ways to go. Your review caught our attention and has us very concerned. Reviews like yours help us immensely, so for that we are very grateful.

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#90 of 467 in New York City
638 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#81 of 467 in New York City
651 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#158 of 467 in New York City
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#350 of 467 in New York City
71 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#212 of 467 in New York City
709 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#167 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Property: Hotel on Rivington
Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing