We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should have been 5 star”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #160 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There is no easy path to a 5 star review as those should include brilliance at every touch point. The Hotel on Rivington does most everything right but the small misses do add up. We had an 18th floor suite which was very cool and spacious. The bathroom shower and tub were awesome, in the corner, with wall to wall windows overlooking the city. Truly an experience. The staff works hards and Nadia at the front desk is a rock star. Quick check in, lovely glass of wine in the lobby, and a great bell hop. Really the only miss was a day two encounter with a less than fully engaged front desk team who felt a 5 minute extension of happy hour was too much for a guest to request. This may fall on those two employees but management needs to stay vigilant in the pursuit of a great experience and teach their people how to add the magic. We would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to another stay in the future.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room and with a corner bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tokeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hi tokeefe! Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. This is a very helpful review. We do strive for perfection (or 5 Circles) and feedback like your's lets us know where we can focus more to bring Grade A service to every guest and at every opportunity.
With your help we can "add the magic" and hopefully provide a 5 Circle stay next time!

All the Best,
Adam

PS -- Nadia IS a rock star. This is just her day job. ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have nothing but praise for this hotel and staff.

The welcome we received when we arrived was very friendly and the receptionist that checked us in was very knowledgeable. The room was lovely, we particularly enjoyed watching the sun come up over the Manhattan skyline and the double shower. Fantastic products too. The cookies at 'turn down' were very welcome and a nice touch.

For future visits, I would prefer a higher room as I found the street noise quite intrusive, even though we were on the tenth floor. However, this did not diminish our enjoyment; it didn't wake me, I was just aware of it when I was awake.

When we checked out on Saturday morning, the doorman was particularly helpful. He stored our bags, suggested the best time to leave for the airport later in the day and organised a car to take us, which was very reasonably priced. When we returned to collect our bags, four hours later, he remembered who we were and arranged for the car to arrive, it was circling the block waiting for us.

So, all in all, a very enjoyable stay, which we hope to repeat sometime soon.

Room Tip: The higher the better to appreciate the Manhattan skyline and facing East to see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1961Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hello 1961 Melanie! Thank you so much for your "friendly" review! So glad you had a 5 Circle type of stay with us on Rivington.
Seeing the sunrise over Brooklyn and lighting up the Manhattan skyline is one of my favorite sights too. The city seems so calm and fresh from up above.
Very Happy to hear that we'll be seeing you again! It was a pleasure having you.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

When searching for a hotel in New York, my husband and i chose hotel on rivington because of its location and modern minimalist interior. Of course all the other criteria (internet, cleanliness) were a given. It was my first time in NY so we wanted the full new york experience, rather than the touiristic one. The moden the industrial the happening NY. Once we got there, our stay escalated from average to superb. Day1: the day we arrived our rooms was not up to our expectations . we expected exquisite views as agreed with the receptionist, instead we got a parking view. There was clearly a mix up. we had a clash with the hotel staff as we expressed our disappointment. Day2: Luckily This incident was quickly compensated the next day when the receptionist told us that we have been upgraded to the 17th floor -corner room - overlooking NY CITYSCAPE. Now that's a view! Magnificent. So service: check . tip: if you're thinking about staying at this hotel I definitely recommend 15th floor an above, corner rooms! General pointers: The hotel is located on the lower east side and, If you're looking to stay in a happening neighborhood and close to boutique shops, art galleries and restaurants, then this is definitely a good choice. The hotel entrance is rather small (intriguing) and they have a club and a restaurant on the ground floor, separated from the reception which is on the first floor. The walls of the hallway are decorated with large dark portrait paintings. The hotel serves complimentary sunset drinks and morning coffee/fruits in the common lounge everyday (A small gesture that goes a long way). We also discovered nice clubs and restaurants at a walking distance. We tried their restaurant and it's not bad. The club is always full and blasting.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hi Roww! Your review gives us the warm and fuzzies! Thank you so much for your kind remarks about the hotel, we are so glad you had such a magnificent stay.
Its nice to get it right the first time, but the real measure of a hotel's service is how it responds to a "mix up" or less than stellar experience. Im very glad we got it right for you and were able to accommodate the room on the 17th floor (the views are pretty tough to beat).
The location is another huge plus for the hotel. The Lower East Side is full of great restaurants, galleries and boutique shopping. Our concierge team can be very helpful in pointing out the best places as well as the hidden gems! So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come visit us again. :)

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I just spent 5 nights at The Hotel on Rivington in New York City. We all loved this Hotel,let me explain why. First off the location is awesome, the lower east side. If your not familiar with that it is a 10 minute walk to SOHO and China Town and a short taxi cab or subway to midtown. The main difference is this part of town is so lively with great restaurants and cool shops...it's fun to be there!
The Hotel is very clean! The staff was very helpful and friendly! This weekend was super hot in the city,the air conditioner is the best of any hotel I have stayed at anywhere. The shower is also so great,high water pressure and large with a view. And then the bed was so comfy, a posturepedic with great pillows and comforter, we slept great!
The area was rocking at night but the room was nice and quiet even on the 9th floor. The room was not gigantic but large enough to be comfortable with a desk and Free wifi. How about cookies every night ,wine on arrival and a table full of goodies. We were loving it!
I go to NYC 3 times a year and the next time will be at The Hotel on Rivington, the price was very fair and worth the money. I travel the entire world and I chose this Hotel based on a review from a friend of mine and I was not disappointed. It's not a Ritz Carlton type hotel, it's Hip and fun and easy to deal with "Try it, you'l like it"

Room Tip: get a corner if you can two views for the price of one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Steven S! Excellent 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor! Cant thank you enough for sharing your experience. We cant take credit for the location (fantastic as it is), but we can for our dedicated and knowledgable staff. :) They are committed to bringing top-notch service and ensuring every guest feels the Lower East Side Love.
Our mattresses are actually Tempur-Pedic and yes they are comfy! Very happy to hear you slept well and enjoyed the city views from the shower. That way you can check out the scene in the neighborhood as you are getting ready to paint it red!
The Lobby Lounge is pretty popular place with its complimentary coffee, tea, fruit and wine. We like our guests to feel at home and start their vacation off on the right foot.
We are all looking forward to your next trip! The hotel is "hip and fun" because of guests like YOU!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend with my wife. It is near SoHo, and a few restaurants, but I probably will prefer to stay at some other places first in the future. The entry, elevators, and hallways were dingy and dark. There is a lounge area on the second floor next to the reception which does have a lot of windows in a sizable room where one can meet and have a drink. The downstairs bar looked kind of cool but we did not visit it (bar next door is cool with its rustic feel, communal tables, and large open windows). We had a corner king studio. As is often the case with these trendy hotels, the bedroom was small as was the bathroom, but with a seperate sitting room, the bedroom did not need to be big (floor the ceiling windows made it feel open); plus the bathroom, while small, did have a counter to put one's toiletries, plus a shelf below the sink that could be utilized as well. There was a lot of closets space. Overall, it was a fairly pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gold98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hello gold98! Thank you so much for your review! We love hearing from our guests, its the best way for us to continue to strive for perfection and tailor our service and amenities to fit our clientele. We do fly a little under the radar here on Rivington with no big gaudy sign and the muted entryway. Glad you enjoyed our Lobby Lounge on the second floor, complimentary coffee, tea and wine has a way of brightening any situation, right? :)
Our restaurant Co-Op Food and Drink is located on the ground floor and has a very cool vibe and excellent cocktails, feel free to check it out next time your in town! Thanks again and so happy you enjoyed your stay on Rivington.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had booked two nights in the Hotel on Rivington at the recommendation of a few friends and was not disappointed! I only wish I had more time to explore the hotel and the surrounding neighborhood, but was not able to this time I was on a relatively short trip and pressed schedule.

The bed was hands down the best night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel! I would come back again for the bed alone :) Staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was gorgeous (even on the 4th floor). The Hotel on Rivington was pretty conveniently located to the subway lines I needed to access, and travel to surrounding areas was easy.

In such a vibrant and bustling area, it was a bit loud at night (as to be expected), but nothing disruptive (rather a nice, city white-noise). Other than that minute downside, it was perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinA603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hi Kristin A, thank you for your kind words here on TripAdvisor! Always good to hear that even though a little thing like business got in your way, you were able to enjoy yourself! If you have more free time next time stop by the Front Desk and we'll point out some must-see, must-eat, and must-experience spots in the neighborhood and beyond!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Hotel on Rivington is the best stay in the LES - and I've tried them all.
Lately business has taken me to the over-wrought gong-show of the meat-packing district - ie The Standard. Exhausting.
In comparison my recent Rivington experience was seamless. Great location. Great access to everything. Three minutes to the subway. Good bars and restaurants literally on every block within 5-10 minutes. Nice stroll to Soho.
Cool yet calm vibe. Superior staff - thanks to Nadia, the fab Cristina and especially Alyxx. The doormen greeted me and chatted on every exit and entrance. Nice guys. Nice touch.
The room was great - 19th floor I think - with fantastic skyline views - my balcony was literally 30 feet long. Room service was quick. The lounge a great hangout spot with coffee ..or wine. Get a room with a soaking tub, Trust me here.
There are more 'hipster' hotels but Hotel on Rivington is truly 'hip'

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fantastics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hello Fantastics! Fantastic 5 Circle review on TripAdvisor! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences on the Lower East Side. We understand how "exhausting" NYC can be outside of your hotel so we aim to keep it simple, seamless and splendiferous here on Rivington :)
Sounds like you enjoyed room 195 with its balcony spanning almost the entire north-face of the building. Hope you remembered your camera! And hope to see you next time.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#72 of 470 in New York City
721 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#70 of 470 in New York City
687 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#231 of 470 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#221 of 470 in New York City
731 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 470 in New York City
2,925 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#217 of 470 in New York City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $199 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing