We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool Place.”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #160 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jericho, New York
1 review
“Very Cool Place.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

asked for a mini suite on a high floor. Was very pleased. Great room. Great Views. Really cool room. so different from typical hotel in NY. Great area for restaurants and young people.
Great amenities. Friendly staff and Clean! Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: asked for a mini suite on a high floor. Was very pleased. Great room. Great Views. Really cool room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Greetings from the Lower East Side, kewforest! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for our hotel. Our staff works hard to present a quality product and a unique, relaxing experience and it is GREAT to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Very Cool Indeed!

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    348
    117
    65
    46
See reviews for
120
540
88
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

From check-in until check-out our party of 5 had an incredible experience! The customer service was exceptional, friendly, and went above and beyond to ensure that we had a fun time. Our room was spectacular - the terrace balcony itself was bigger than most hotel rooms I've been in! The rooms were stylishly (and slickly) decorated with fun and modern touches; the beds and linens were comfy and inviting. The LES is a fun neighborhood, with tons of restaurants, bars, and stores to check out (including CO-OP and Viktor & Spoils on the first floor--great times!). We were there to celebrate my friends' bachelorette and I could have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: If you have a larger party, request the Terrace Room -- 2BRs, shared Living Space, and a gigantic Te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi EugenaO! Im blushing. That was an exceptional 5 Circle review! We can't thank you enough for taking the time to give us a shout-out on TripAdvisor. The Terrace Suite sounds like the perfect place to celebrate your friend's bachelorette, I hope you got to soak up some sun while you were overlooking the Lower East Side! Glad you enjoyed our restaurant, Co-Op Food + Drink, and the lounge, Viktor & Spoils too. There is a lot of fun to be had on the ground floor and I'm sure your party made it a night you'll always remember.
Congrats to your Friend! And You!
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Rivington was good for a few reasons. The room is decent size by NYC standards and the shower / bath were nice - great water pressure. Not for the shy, glass walls that are partially frosted but visible to the outside world if you care about that. Bed was great, nice linens and feather pillows, high quality. Entrance to the hotel is funky and lobby is on 2nd floor No big deal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Excellent review, nolcol! We appreciate your kind words AND happy to be your 10th TripAdvisor review! Its true, our hotel is funky and the showers in some rooms do boast views, its whats sets us aside and provides a unique experience! Thanks again and hope to see you back in the Lower East Side soon!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is our second visit to New York and to the Hotel on Rivington, located on the Lower East Side. The entry is very unassuming but we were, without exception, always greeted and welcomed back by the doormen. The Front Desk is located on the second floor and hosts a staff that were helpful, professional and courteous. Our room on the 15th floor had a fabulous view of the city with floor to ceiling windows which created a feeling of spaciousness. The bed & pillows were heavenly, the shower consistent and the amenities and extra touches appreciated. We certainly look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraJVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hellohello DebraJVictoriaBC, what a warm and fuzzy 5 Circle review! Coming all the way from Victoria, we feel blessed that you are a return guest. You and your family are very welcome to return anytime and our doormen will still be there with a smile. :)
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you really want a great view, this is the hotel for you. My friend and I stayed in the High Floor Corner King with Balcony, and I could barely pry her away from the windows. We were on the 19th floor, and could see for miles. We got some amazing pictures as the sun set. Also, the windows and balcony opened, so we got a nice crossbreeze, beautiful as we got ready to venture out for the evening.

The staff here are really genuine and seem to care about the quality of your stay. The door/bell men in particular were great fun and very personable. They would take a minute to joke with you, give you a recommendation, and just to welcome you back to the hotel. Made me feel quite at home.

The shower: wow. I travel a fair bit, and this is the best hotel shower I've ever had. The water was hot, the pressure was amazing, and it was almost massage-like (not like some places, where there's either no pressure or stinging-needles of water). Also, the shower has a glass wall facing out into the city-- racy! I liked the notion that I was flashing Manhattan, just a little.

The room did have a few scuffs or bumps here and there, but nothing that detracted from the stay. The only real negative for me was the restaurant. We had breakfast there, and I didn't think the food was particularly good. I had the breakfast burrito, and it came in a prepaid flour tortilla with some eggs that were almost crispy. Urg. Did not sit well afterwards.

That said, the restaurant/bar area was certainly attractive, and I would go for drinks, but I think perhaps that breakfast is not their forte.

Room Tip: Splurge on the higher floors; you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunCatchKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Wow, RunCatchKiss! Stellar review of our Lower East Side hotel! We take a lot of pride in the quality of service and genuinely do care about the personal experience of every guest. Coming from a seasoned traveler like you (58 TripAdvisor reviews!) it means a lot.
Sad to hear about your burrito. Our kitchen strives for perfection and looks like we missed the mark that time. Hope you'll give Co-Op Food + Drink another chance.
Hope you got some good pictures to remember your stay at the Hotel on Rivington!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked a last minute stay here on Hotels.com and the room was comfy and quiet (for LES) and very stylist. Sizable for New York but not huge, and tons of things around the neighborhood. If you want to have a good time, or just lay low, I recommend this spot.

Room Tip: For quiet rooms try to get on on the inside.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CosmoBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello from across the East River, cosmobaker! Excellent review (short and to the point. Just like a true Brooklynite!). Value is the name of the game and we aim to please. :) We appreciate your recommendation very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here in February for about a week - on the 17th floor. Great city views. Room was nicely done - maybe a little tired, but the view made up for it. It snowed on the first morning, we left all of the curtains open the night before. Amazing to wake up to see that! Had a breakfast in the cafe that morning - they got the order wrong, and ended up not charging us. Staff were excellent - service was very good at every occasion - we emailed the head of House Keeping with our feedback that was very well recieved.
The LES is a great area to explore - the hotel is in the perfect spot! Will be back.
Tip - the door to the balcony was squeeling as the wind came through - I wish the staff mentioned on arrival how to lock the door securley and make it more tight - but pulling the handle up.... worked it out on our third night.... :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brkSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Greetings from the Lower East Side, brkSydney! Thank you so much for the 4 Circle Review. We appreciate your kind words AND more importantly letting us know what we can work on. So glad you enjoyed your view of the snowy NYC skyline! We are looking forward to your return. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#88 of 466 in New York City
617 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#86 of 466 in New York City
643 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#155 of 466 in New York City
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#362 of 466 in New York City
65 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#214 of 466 in New York City
704 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#309 of 466 in New York City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Property: Hotel on Rivington
Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing