We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views around”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #157 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel! Floor to ceiling windows. The bathrooms are beautiful. I showered while taking in the entire city! The restaurant breakfast was great! Such a gem! Service was wonderful, everyone we encountered treated us like royalty, it is truly worth checking out! Decor is definitely out there but so NY!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janelleandjamescash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ok, so I am not a fan of trendy hotels for the rich under 30 set. Beds too low, rooms halls and baths too dark. All common attributes.

Here the rooms are for NY decent sized, and we were on the 8th floor which is exactly above roof level of adjacent buildings. Since this borders on what was till very recently a ghetto, there are no tall buildings around. Any lower would have been scary dark. At this level and above the wrap around windows make for a great view.

The neighborhood is ok locations wise if you need to be down here to go to SOHO or perhaps NYU, but not for the faint of heart. It is in transition, and frankly, for the prices I would choose a better locale where I felt safer. The place is also very clearly for hipsters -- the mini bar includes sex toys and lubes, and the bathroom sink has a spot where someone clearly had been using a straight razor to chop up drugs. Rap music played in the lobby......

The staff however seems very concerned about service and is very friendly. All in all, ok, overpriced for where it is -- I would pay extra to be at the Gansevoort, or pay a lot less and be at the Holiday Inn Fashion District .

Room Tip: Get 8th floor or above for light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cheapskate1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Not what I expected on arrival - blink and you could miss the entrance. The ground floor lobby is small and dark - check in is on the 2nd floor - also very dark, which is not for everyone.

Positives: Great huge beds, fantastically stocked/diverse minibar, free dressing gowns, great toiletries, great room service food - quickly delivered, great location - 10 mins to soho, restaurants and cafes nearby, free cookies/biscuits each night, great shower, most of the staff were friendly, great TV services, adjustable air con & heating, no noticeable noise, welcome note & popcorn.

Negatives: Tiny towels, awful view from the 10th floor (overlooking a car park), 20% & $2.50 room service charge (& they still leave the tip section blank when you sign!), housekeeping was a little slow, Wifi was a little slow, no hotel service guide, hotel looked a little tired in places, communal areas are odd - doesn't feel like a hotel - feels like a restaurant with bedrooms. A bit too trendy for my taste.

Room Tip: No views from the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CitychickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

that doesn't make it cool or a good place to stay. Plenty of room in the room but it is pretty bare. No coffee maker. Beds are time-hardened Tempurpedic I think. Worst -- I left my phone charger there. When I called to ask they please send it back, they wanted to charge me!! After what you pay in NYC for a room they cant mail it for free? And then the guy at the desk was snarky about it. Don't need to stay here again.

Room Tip: I faced the street and it was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our son had stayed at the Hotel on Rivington, but I hadn't. Was a little disappointed as it was dark and in need of sprucing up. That being, said the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and the location perfect. We checked in starving and they recommended the restaurant, Inotrio, just across the street. It was so good. We had breakfast at the hotel. It was also good. Am a big fan of the contemporary style, but maybe they tried too hard to be trendy. There was too much black for me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I fell in love with this hotel - simple and stylish with great wall to ceiling views of the city - we were on the 16th floor which was perfect. I have always wanted to try out the Tempur-Pedic beds and they did not disappoint - so comfortable with beautiful linens, lots of feather pillows and down comforter and amazing bath products plus free wifi. I arrived with my daughter who was just off an international flight and looking for a laundromat and Michael, the doorman, actually took her laundry to the Chinese Laundry down the street then brought it back folded and cleaned! I found my hotel in NYC and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 16th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

You would never guess what was hidden inside from the outside of this discreet hotel! A lovely spacious room with stunning views through the floor to ceiling windows, there is even an amazing view from the shower! The most stocked mini bar I have ever seen with some surprising items. Also one of the comfiest and biggest beds I have ever slept in! The lounge area downstairs was lovely to relax and play some pool or do a bit of work with comp coffee, tea, water and wine throughout the day. I also had the breakfast in the Co-Op restaurant and it was delicious!! The French toast is not to be missed! The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel is close to so many bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asiafan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#76 of 469 in New York City
703 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#70 of 469 in New York City
683 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#221 of 469 in New York City
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#214 of 469 in New York City
729 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#192 of 469 in New York City
716 reviews
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#307 of 469 in New York City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $222 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing