We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so what the whole place is red and black?!!”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #156 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“so what the whole place is red and black?!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

that doesn't make it cool or a good place to stay. Plenty of room in the room but it is pretty bare. No coffee maker. Beds are time-hardened Tempurpedic I think. Worst -- I left my phone charger there. When I called to ask they please send it back, they wanted to charge me!! After what you pay in NYC for a room they cant mail it for free? And then the guy at the desk was snarky about it. Don't need to stay here again.

Room Tip: I faced the street and it was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    348
    117
    65
    46
See reviews for
120
540
86
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our son had stayed at the Hotel on Rivington, but I hadn't. Was a little disappointed as it was dark and in need of sprucing up. That being, said the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and the location perfect. We checked in starving and they recommended the restaurant, Inotrio, just across the street. It was so good. We had breakfast at the hotel. It was also good. Am a big fan of the contemporary style, but maybe they tried too hard to be trendy. There was too much black for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I fell in love with this hotel - simple and stylish with great wall to ceiling views of the city - we were on the 16th floor which was perfect. I have always wanted to try out the Tempur-Pedic beds and they did not disappoint - so comfortable with beautiful linens, lots of feather pillows and down comforter and amazing bath products plus free wifi. I arrived with my daughter who was just off an international flight and looking for a laundromat and Michael, the doorman, actually took her laundry to the Chinese Laundry down the street then brought it back folded and cleaned! I found my hotel in NYC and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 16th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

You would never guess what was hidden inside from the outside of this discreet hotel! A lovely spacious room with stunning views through the floor to ceiling windows, there is even an amazing view from the shower! The most stocked mini bar I have ever seen with some surprising items. Also one of the comfiest and biggest beds I have ever slept in! The lounge area downstairs was lovely to relax and play some pool or do a bit of work with comp coffee, tea, water and wine throughout the day. I also had the breakfast in the Co-Op restaurant and it was delicious!! The French toast is not to be missed! The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel is close to so many bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asiafan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a very good stay at the hotel on Rivington. Was a bit surprised by the entrance, as it was not very easy to find (our driver did not find the hotel to begin with), and the lobby was small and not on the entrance level.
Our room was very nice, with great views of the city! Bed quality was really good!
Location of the hotel was great for nightlife.

Room Tip: We had a high floor corner room, which was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkfa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from Hotel on Rivington last week and still can't believe what a great stay we had!

I emailed to check our reservation in advance and happened to mention that we are on our honeymoon and had our Corner King With Balcony upgraded to a Studio Suite! And what an awesome suite it was! We were on 14th floor and we could see the Empire State Building lying in bed!

In addition to our corner bedroom (with a tv and desk), we had a small living room with two couches, a table and a TV. Loved the bathroom with the window, sleek and stylish black decor, candles etc. Also great toiletries, the best hotel shampoo and conditioner I've tried. Loved the fact you could adjust the lights in all the rooms. The Tempur- pedic bed was awesome. Slept really well, (except had to get up a couple of times every night to check out the view;) Bedding was comfy, some of the sheets were a little torn but clean. Housekeeping kept the room clean and tidy, but as other reviewers have said, there is a bit of wear and tear noticeable around the hotel.

Temperature in the bedroom got a little cold because of the big windows, but that was easily fixed by increasing heating and drawing the curtains a bit. Our room was really quiet, couldn't hear any noise from other rooms. A bit of street noise carried up obviously, but nothing disturbing. Noticed that in some of the rooms the door didn't come all the way down to the floor so there was a gap between the door and the floor.

Guest were well taken care of. Housekeeping brought cookies/brownies up to the room every evening. Complimentary magazines in the room including the latest Time Out. There was an insanely well stocked "minibar" which was actually a full closet of anything you could need during your stay. Also had comfy robes and umbrellas to use during our stay. Complimentary coffee/fruit/wine was served in the lounge area next to reception every afternoon. (also got a drink ticket for happy hour at the bar upon arrival) They had a great pool table which we used and a small business centre so you could easily print what ever you needed. Free wifi throughout the hotel was a great bonus too!

The staff at the hotel were great! Nice doormen! Friendly housekeepers! Great informative staff at reception! First night, we arrived after the hotels own restaurant has closed and were famished. We were given an extensive takeout menu of a nearby diner that delivers to the hotel which really saved us. The only thing I missed was some basic hotel information in the room, now there was only a room service menu.

LES is a great cool neighborhood for urbanites. Lots of interesting restaurants just around the corner (we enjoyed Beauty and Essex, wd-50, Sauce, Pulinos, Clinton Baking Company for breakfast... Also the legendary Katz's Delicatessen is nearby) Lots of bars with lots of action over the weekend. Unfortunately didn't have time to check out the hotels own restaurants at night.. We did have breakfast at the hotel CO-OP first morning. Really good eggs benedict but waiter tried to charge gratuity twice (40%!) but that was the only negative thing during our stay! Also good access from the hotel to all parts of the city. The nearest subway stop is just around the corner. (tip: We ordered a car to take us from the hotel to the JFK which was a better option for a cab. Nicer car, same flat fee. )

Over all Hotel on Rivington is a nice, friendly, modern hotel with an urban vibe and unbeatable views of NYC. Thank you- We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend stay. We booked a high floor corner king room with a soaking tub, and the view was breathtaking!. Check in was very fast and the staff were extremely nice and friendly. Had nightly turn down service and housekeepers left complimentary treats on each night. The room and bathroom were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Would definitely recommend this place for couples not so much for families with kids unless you get a bigger room or suite. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emJadAllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#88 of 466 in New York City
612 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 466 in New York City
643 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#157 of 466 in New York City
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#363 of 466 in New York City
65 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#215 of 466 in New York City
702 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#309 of 466 in New York City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Property: Hotel on Rivington
Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing