We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem on the Lower East Side”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #200 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem on the Lower East Side”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

You would never guess what was hidden inside from the outside of this discreet hotel! A lovely spacious room with stunning views through the floor to ceiling windows, there is even an amazing view from the shower! The most stocked mini bar I have ever seen with some surprising items. Also one of the comfiest and biggest beds I have ever slept in! The lounge area downstairs was lovely to relax and play some pool or do a bit of work with comp coffee, tea, water and wine throughout the day. I also had the breakfast in the Co-Op restaurant and it was delicious!! The French toast is not to be missed! The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel is close to so many bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asiafan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    343
    113
    64
    46
See reviews for
111
531
86
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a very good stay at the hotel on Rivington. Was a bit surprised by the entrance, as it was not very easy to find (our driver did not find the hotel to begin with), and the lobby was small and not on the entrance level.
Our room was very nice, with great views of the city! Bed quality was really good!
Location of the hotel was great for nightlife.

Room Tip: We had a high floor corner room, which was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkfa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from Hotel on Rivington last week and still can't believe what a great stay we had!

I emailed to check our reservation in advance and happened to mention that we are on our honeymoon and had our Corner King With Balcony upgraded to a Studio Suite! And what an awesome suite it was! We were on 14th floor and we could see the Empire State Building lying in bed!

In addition to our corner bedroom (with a tv and desk), we had a small living room with two couches, a table and a TV. Loved the bathroom with the window, sleek and stylish black decor, candles etc. Also great toiletries, the best hotel shampoo and conditioner I've tried. Loved the fact you could adjust the lights in all the rooms. The Tempur- pedic bed was awesome. Slept really well, (except had to get up a couple of times every night to check out the view;) Bedding was comfy, some of the sheets were a little torn but clean. Housekeeping kept the room clean and tidy, but as other reviewers have said, there is a bit of wear and tear noticeable around the hotel.

Temperature in the bedroom got a little cold because of the big windows, but that was easily fixed by increasing heating and drawing the curtains a bit. Our room was really quiet, couldn't hear any noise from other rooms. A bit of street noise carried up obviously, but nothing disturbing. Noticed that in some of the rooms the door didn't come all the way down to the floor so there was a gap between the door and the floor.

Guest were well taken care of. Housekeeping brought cookies/brownies up to the room every evening. Complimentary magazines in the room including the latest Time Out. There was an insanely well stocked "minibar" which was actually a full closet of anything you could need during your stay. Also had comfy robes and umbrellas to use during our stay. Complimentary coffee/fruit/wine was served in the lounge area next to reception every afternoon. (also got a drink ticket for happy hour at the bar upon arrival) They had a great pool table which we used and a small business centre so you could easily print what ever you needed. Free wifi throughout the hotel was a great bonus too!

The staff at the hotel were great! Nice doormen! Friendly housekeepers! Great informative staff at reception! First night, we arrived after the hotels own restaurant has closed and were famished. We were given an extensive takeout menu of a nearby diner that delivers to the hotel which really saved us. The only thing I missed was some basic hotel information in the room, now there was only a room service menu.

LES is a great cool neighborhood for urbanites. Lots of interesting restaurants just around the corner (we enjoyed Beauty and Essex, wd-50, Sauce, Pulinos, Clinton Baking Company for breakfast... Also the legendary Katz's Delicatessen is nearby) Lots of bars with lots of action over the weekend. Unfortunately didn't have time to check out the hotels own restaurants at night.. We did have breakfast at the hotel CO-OP first morning. Really good eggs benedict but waiter tried to charge gratuity twice (40%!) but that was the only negative thing during our stay! Also good access from the hotel to all parts of the city. The nearest subway stop is just around the corner. (tip: We ordered a car to take us from the hotel to the JFK which was a better option for a cab. Nicer car, same flat fee. )

Over all Hotel on Rivington is a nice, friendly, modern hotel with an urban vibe and unbeatable views of NYC. Thank you- We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend stay. We booked a high floor corner king room with a soaking tub, and the view was breathtaking!. Check in was very fast and the staff were extremely nice and friendly. Had nightly turn down service and housekeepers left complimentary treats on each night. The room and bathroom were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Would definitely recommend this place for couples not so much for families with kids unless you get a bigger room or suite. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emJadAllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with fantastic service, great rooms, beautiful views, and close to everything!! We stayed over xmas, and our doorman was very knowledgeable about what was open nearby, and suggested a couple of fantastic and local restaurants. Our front desk staff was very helpful as well, especially in getting the room that we wanted (high, northfacing...definitely the way to go at this hotel!).

Room Tip: High, northfacing is the way to go! The studio suites or unique suites are also definitely worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for our anniversary or Christmas time "no kids date night out" a number of times and the hotel goes from strength to strength. Lester the doorman recognized us from prior stays and enthusiastically welcomed us and made sure we got our luggage to the room right away. Cristina checked us in early and suggested we try a different room (it was great) and got us reservations at a local (and sold out) restaurant for exactly the time we requested - two hours earlier than the best time I got. Location is amazing - lots of great restaurants and nightlife within a few blocks and the subway is right around the corner to go anywhere quickly. Views are great. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in Dec 2012 and had a corner king on the 16th floor. Hotel lobby and hallways are a bit dark and, if im honest, a bit strange, but the room more than makes up for it. Great views across Manhattan, with the Empire State at the foot of our bed and the Williamsburg Bridge to the right. Showering with a view of the Empire State building was fantastic. The room was clean and not a bad size for a New York hotel. Linen, beds and toiletries were good too.

LES is a great place to visit. Great bars and shops. Hotel within easy reach of the subway and walking distance for Chinatown (fascinating shops), Little Italy (beautiful at Christmas) and SOHO, great shopping. Must do breakfast or brunch at the Clinton Street Bakery and for a good burger go to NOHO Star on Lafayette St.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#87 of 468 in New York City
581 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#91 of 468 in New York City
636 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#368 of 468 in New York City
55 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#204 of 468 in New York City
694 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#315 of 468 in New York City
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Property: Hotel on Rivington
Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing