We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms!”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great rooms!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was worried when I got there because the entrance a bit odd, but "doormen" at front very nice.
We loved our top floor room-- floor to ceiling rooms. little balcony. In the bathroom, there was a huge shower and we got a separate indulgent soaking tub. There were floor to ceiling windows, plus little balcony. We splurged as was our anniversary and I used to live down the street.
The bed was lovely. The Davines products great. We went for coffee to the delish Caffe Vita around the corner --just two spots to perch. The neighborhood is happening, of course, and easy to find great places to eat and drink. Overall staff helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floors on back! gives you view of bridges --and a parking lot, but lights are glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    340
    110
    64
    44
See reviews for
109
525
86
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Excellent rooms and very comfortable beds. The floor to ceiling windows made for great views, especially in the corner rooms. The staff is great, and very accommodating, even during a hurricane!! The Co-Op restaurant was very tasty, and most of the food is available for in-room dining. Will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the 7th floor.. your view won't be as restricted by the neighboring buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbiebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a long overdue rating, My husband and I stayed there last March (2012). The staff is great. We were booked in one of the few rooms with the Northern view of the city and of the Empire state building. However, I wanted a corner room, and they were all booked our first night, but they did a great job maneuvring one for us the next day. I am forever grateful for that. I felt like I was gently floating above the city my whole stay.
The atmosphere was very laid back. The neighbourhood provided for a pleasant discovery. We come to the city a couple of times a year, and always make the most of it by being out until the last minute. This particular stay was so magical (because of the room and a great pizza place around the corner that had just opened) that we ate in our room two nights out of the three. We ordered carry outs, and lounged lazily above the Lowe East Side.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBdeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Rivington during Sandy. It was an experience that could have been horrible, but was made OK by the fantastic staff including MarcAnthony, the Manager.

Everyone of the staff were extremely helpful and concerned for us all.

Michelle at breakfast was a hoot.

Our corner room was amazing, with excellent views over a dark Manhattan - we even saw the explosion that caused the blackout from our 11th floor room.

We were given candles and glow sticks (which our daughter loved!) to guide us through our dark rooms. Sitting in the 2nd floor lounge or the Co-Op restaurant on the ground floor with all the other Sandy-victims were as pleasant as could be. There was definitely a feeling of 'we-are-all-in-this-together'. How the bar staff managed I have no idea, as they could hardly see where they were going but they kept on serving us.

The staff were more than happy to charge phones, laptops and ipads for all the guests - they took away our devices and locked them up in a secure room with power - total stars.

We were especially impressed over the free food the Hotel provided. They could so easily have made a fortune from us all, as there really were NO alternatives, unless you wanted to walk to 42'nd street where power was available, and some restaurants were open.

If/when we go back to NYC, I would love to come and stay at the Hotel at Rivington again.
Absolutely AMAZING!

Room Tip: Ask for a high corner room. Brilliant views of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HantsGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff at this luxe - but trendy - hotel is amazing!! We checked in on Thursday night with Gio who could not have sweeter!! We had a fantastic room with incredible views of the city. On Sunday we found out that our flight home was cancelled due to Hurricane Sandy and immediately went to the front desk. Christina assured us that "you always have home at the Rivington" and even extended a special rate for great loyalty and customer service to existing guest!!

Went to 2nd floor lounge to enjoy some wine and appetizers as we watched the Giants barely beat the Cowboys. ... Justin was super helpful and explained that restaurant was closed on Sunday but room service was available.... We wound up eating out at Sauce --- soooo good!!!

Monday as you can imagine was scary but the calm demeanor of the staff made it less so... After a quick morning run we found ourselves back at the 2nd floor lounge with fellow "refugees." The hotel had set out complimentary water, coffee and wine as well as fruit. A celebratory "Hurricane" spirit set in and everyone seemed to relax. An added reassurance came when the GM - MarcAnthony - came to the lounge and went from table to table to introduce himself and inquire on our stay and to assure us of the hotel's commitment to our comfort and safety. It's clear the staff was following his lead.

As the hurricane intensified and a power outage effected NYC, this hotel didn't miss a beat. Each and every team member showcased the utmost calm cool and collected attitude! The restaurant glowed in candle light and the guests socialized with each other and the staff! Amazing!

Can't wait to see what the rest of my stay brings!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautiful place and the hotel room was one of the best I've ever stayed in, with the floor to ceiling windows and very modern feel to it all. Loved the LES location, there was never a shortage of cool bars or brilliant food nearby.

The only remotely negative thing I noticed was that the staff seemed a little "too cool for school", but I suppose that's almost expected when you're paying a fortune for a trendy hotel in lower Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanderlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koekelberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a higher floor corner room and the view was stunning. The beds were very comfy (like at home with tempur bedding). Breakfast inthe morning was made fun and personal by Michele who advised us very well.
If you want to say anything: internet could have been quicker....
As for the location - a bit off the beaten track but also more quiet due to that so...

Room Tip: Higher floor corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbehets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Property: Hotel on Rivington
Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing