We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional diner”

Gee Whiz Restaurant
Ranked #2,167 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great traditional diner”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had breakfast here, eggs sunny side, crispy bacon and potatoes, the basic diner breakfast. Very good it was, and good value too. The Americans get the service angle just right in diners like this. It is all very traditional, the booths, the ice water and the snappy service. We look for places like this to begin our day.

It is as much about time travel as anything else, as it has been done this way for 100 years, and the prices can't have changed much in that time, as it all feels very good value.

The only beef I have is that the Yanks don't know that tea in a pot is the only way - a tea bag and a cup of nearly boiling water is not the way to make a proper breakfast cuppa.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McFoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    68
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We found this place by pure chance, we were standing on a street corner looking at a map for a restaurant when a New Yorker stops, asks what we were looking for, he then recommends this place which was only a few blocks away. Two adults one teenager and a toddler all left very happy, food was good, service was great and the price was fantastic. Definitely one of the best value meals we had in our 3 days in New York.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QCBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

NYC diner - breakfast was huge and very tasty. I had corned beef hash - great service, lovely atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChloeGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Level Contributor
265 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“great diner”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I'd recommend this diner. It's among the best in the neighborhood, especially for omelets and pastrami. Very casual. Reasonable prices. Short walk to the Conrad Hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good brunch, very good price”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Late brunch on a saturday. The place was suprisingly empty as the prices were very decent and the food was very good. I recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauli9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gee Whiz Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gee Whiz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing