We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tapas outside of Madrid”
Review of Tia Pol

Tia Pol
Reserve with OpenTable
Tia Pol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,790 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 22nd and 23rd Streets
Transit: L - 8th Avenue. C/E - 23rd Street.
Description: Tapas from the richly varied regional cuisines of Spain from Galicia to Andalucia, the Basque Country to Cataluna. An all-Spanish wine list as diverse as Spain's viticultural heritage
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“The best tapas outside of Madrid”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have been to Spain a number of times, I do so miss the wonderful, informal tapas paces. Well not any more. This is not American style tapas, this is real tapas. Fresh and well prepared. The wine list is quite good and reasonable and to wash the tapas down with a good Spanish tinto is pure heaven.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    76
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A taste of modern Spain..”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Firstly, WOW! We wanted to eat somewhere nice on our final night in NYC..and i had read some good reviews on Trip Advisor. We went early midweek, about 5.30-6pm and were pleased to get seated without issue. All of the staff were very friendly and knew the menu inside out. The food was fantastic and the staff were attentive and seemed genuinely friendly towards us. We ate and drank like kings and were treated very well by all. If you fancy eating modern Spanish tapas in NYC, you cant go wrong here. The restaurant itself is quite small but that adds to the intimate atmosphere and the exposed brickwork and aluminium encased open kitchen add a modern, contemporary feel to the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mistermarcus1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Nice Find”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We loved our meal here and the service was fantastic.

The choice of food was interesting and delightful, very tasty and well presented.

Service was great from the young lady that greated us, the barman and wait staff

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Tapas Place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great place for a light, informal meal. They have a ton of tasty options and some good wines to select from.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TonyC_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“TAPAS + Spanish Wine = Happy”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We made early reservations at 6:00PM for 2 (a must if you want a table in the quieter back room) and were promptly seated. Our server Julie was gracious, helpful and patient in suggesting several Spanish white wines that were in our description of what we enjoy. We started with the deep fried chick peas and the assorted olives. The olives were awesome -- the chick peas OK. We then ordered several Tapas to share including the Patatas Bravas (potatoes), Squid in Ink with Rice, Shrimp with garlic in olive oil and chile and the special scallops of the day. Service was attentive and the food was excellent, served piping hot right from the kitchen.

The front area is a crowded, cozy bar with louder music so if you enjoy that vibe, sit there. The back room was relaxed and enjoyable. We left full and happy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kentkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia Pol also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tia Pol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing