We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back for dinner!”
Review of Hey Mambo - CLOSED

Hey Mambo
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back for dinner!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This attractive and relatively new place caught my eye as I was walking to meet a friend in front of a different restaurant nearby, so I suggested we try the new place. I am a sucker for a rear garden on a lovely afternoon, so we sat outdoors in a charming spot. We each had a salad on the "special" menu--beautifully composed with fresh greens, golden beets, walnuts and warm goat cheese and a citrus-balsamic dressing. Perfection. We shared an apple tarte for dessert, also house-made and lovely. A delightful surprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler2703D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Kind, well situated and very good”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Good table in Upper West Side .
In an hot Summer, the garden is a very pleasant place.
The kitchen is very good and of good quality, and all the staff, including a french girl,
are very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank padpadpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Eat in the Garden, If You Can”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant with attentive staff and a nice variety of choices. We had the Thursday special which was delicious duck served with mashed sweet potatoes & bok choy. The wine list is small but adequate. The wine I selected was unavailable but our server recommended a nice alternative. Each table was given delicious bread with olive oil and very tasty vinegar. We didn't want to leave the garden on such a wonderful summer night, so we ordered cappacinos and shared the chocolate cake. Such a pleasant evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great service and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was a great place to eat - we had to be enticed in at first, with the offer of free drinks, because the restaurant looked quite empty, but we're so glad we went in - so glad that we went back 2 days later as well. The food was good but it was the service and overall friendliness of the place that had us hooked. We ate in the restaurant the first time and in the lovely garden the second time. The staff were interested in where we were from and we were given complementary cappuccinos from the manager.
A great place for our last meal in New York!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mildy disappointed”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Service pleasant. Decor very creative. Didn't have our reservation written down, but agreeably seated us anyway. Waiters kept leaving the door open to the outdoor seating area which kept the entire restaurant fairly cold. Our entrees were overly sweet, but otherwise well prepared and presented.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hey Mambo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing