We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute as a button”
Review of The Broome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Broome
Ranked #8 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My daughter and I just spent six nights here - we had planned on five but the sixth night was free in an online deal - and didn't want to leave. It's very small, quiet (you'll get a good night's sleep), and pretty, hip and homey at the same time. There is cool artwork all around and a central courtyard filled with fresh flowers and greenery. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable, clean and modern and had everything we needed, lovely products in the bathroom, and the location is brilliant, in Soho, close to subway stops and great shopping. Apparently it's only been open for three months. We tried to extend our stay but it was booked full, so it seems words is getting around about how nice it is. I would definitely come here again. The Broome has taken over from Sixty Soho and The Mercer as my new favourite.

Room Tip: We had room 34, at the back of the hotel, facing the central courtyard, so it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 480 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at The Broome on a recent trip that was a combination of business and pleasure. This hotel is truly a find in the heart of the best part of Soho (easy walk to Nolita, Tribeca, downtown, Little Italy and Chinatown) with great shops and restaurants at your doorstep. It's impeccably clean, completely quiet, very stylish and well decorated, with a helpful and friendly staff, VERY comfortable beds, in the perfect location. On top of all of this- a European style breakfast and wireless are included free of charge- which makes this not only a relaxing and fun place to stay but a great value for both the business and pleasure traveler. The rooms are built on multiple floors all surrounding an open courtyard lined with beautiful flowers. This means that you don't have any of the NYC street noise (however the street on which the hotel is located is a quiet street) and at the same time you have the fresh air and tranquility of facing open space. The ground floor is decorated beautifully with a lovely tiled floor and beautiful breakfast room. I would also add that they spared no expense in building this hotel from the quality of the mattresses, light and plumbing fixtures to the weight of the doors- you feel like you are being pampered and experiencing luxury yet in a hip and trendy location. We will most definitely be back and would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I've stayed at an array of NY hotels. Broome was hands down the best. Just as clean and polished as the W, etc, but more quaint, quiet, and hip. The location is so convenient and close to shopping and sights. Great restaurants, and pubs. Will definitely be back.. it was just spot on!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdociu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha S, General Manager at The Broome, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

sdociu,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience!

Cheers,
Sasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at The Broome when they first opened and we were beyond impressed! The staff was so friendly and helpful, the rooms were gorgeous and very comfortable, and the location is perfect! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jendill17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha S, General Manager at The Broome, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Jen Dillard,

It was such a pleasure hosting you, your husband and your friends during our opening months! Thanks for coming to visit and we hope to see you soon (+1)!

Sasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at The Broome this weekend and there is not 1 thing that I could say that would need to be improved. The room was fabulous - great bed, very nice decor, all amenities; great location in the heart of Soho, close to everything; wonderful complementary breakfast of croissants, fruit, fritatta and cafe au lait; very quiet and peaceful. The nicest parts were the people - extremely nice, helpful, down-to-earth - and the intimate setting of the hotel. It is small with few rooms but laid out like a hotel in Paris around a lovely courtyard where you can enjoy breakfast. Loved it - all of it!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms - they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liveinarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha S, General Manager at The Broome, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

liveinarlington

We're so glad you had a chance to experience The Broome just as we intended - charming & quiet, while right in the middle of all the excitement of Soho. As a seasoned traveler, we really value your feedback and comments. Thanks so much for sharing your experience.

Sasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I loved the Broome, it's a quiet private haven in the heart of Soho!
The Broome only has 14 rooms, from our courtyard room (no. 34) we did not hear anything! The room was small (but enough storage room!), but fully furnished, Wifi was free. The in-room minibar (really nice fridge) and snacks are of high quality-very much appreciated. The beds and linen are of high quality, down pillows (we felt like at home) - we slept very well here.

Breakfast is served in the cafeteria, and part of the room fee.
Minimalistic but gorgeous in quality - excellent granola and salmon, very nice, friendly and forwarding service,
You are within walking distance of many great restaurants (Balthazar, etc.) and countless boutiques (Prada, Burberry, Miu Miu, Michael Kors, Bloomingdale's Soho around the Corner ......)
this is a place that I would love to recommend to really good friends and people that appreciate this kind of staying - not for "hotel bunker lovers". Enjoy!

Room Tip: 34 courtyard room the penthouse loft/suite must be very nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saskiaF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha S, General Manager at The Broome, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

saskiaF1973,

Thank you so much for your kind works. It was wonderful to read that you felt like you were home at The Broome. It was pleasure having you and your husband here to celebrate a special occasion. We hope to welcome you both back home soon!

Cheers,
Sasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed for two nights on a "staycation" and can't say enough wonderful things about this gem.

The location is deep into SoHo - if you're looking for a Times Square experience don't stay here - but it's on a great street. The hotel itself is glorious: Fantastic beds, unbelievably quiet, great staff. The included breakfast is wonderful and an unusual rarity in NYC.

This is a French B&B nestled in SoHo. If you have the chance to take a weekend away at the Broome, don't pass it up.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelliclecat96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha S, General Manager at The Broome, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Jelliclecat96,

Thanks for sharing (even though you didn't want to!). I sense its almost time for another staycation...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
440 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#21 of 469 in New York City
537 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 469 in New York City
702 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 469 in New York City
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broome

Address: 431 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-5920
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $285 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Broome 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of New York City’s downtown is a one-of-a-kind hotel. Just turn the corner from SOHO’s celebrated shops and cafes, enter the doors where the staff greets you by name, and find yourself on our peaceful, secluded patio for refreshments and a heavenly view to the sky above. This architectural gem offers guests a rare pause in this exciting city. Welcome to The Broome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing