We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for my NYC Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harlem Flophouse
Ranked #17 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay for my NYC Trip”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friends and I were looking for an inexpensive and cozy place in the City to live in during our trip to NYC this Spring Break. Chanced upon The Harlem Flophouse when searching for a B&B and decided to book it. It costs us about $40 per night, per person, for my group of 3. For this rate, it has got to be one of the most affordable inn in city. The room was wonderful, filled with antiques and decorations seemingly from the early 40s 50s era. I was surprised some of the stuff even work at all, (the lamps, radio and stuff.) Overall, it gave a very vintage feel, one that I have never got to experience before, and I totally enjoyed my stay. The room was very welcoming and made a good shelter for our weary legs every night.

The innkeeper even assisted us in printing out our e-tickets and additional documents that we required along the way, for our trip in NYC.

Not to mention, the innkeeper's cat, Phoebe, was such a darling. Often coming up to our room (3rd floor), and looking for some company. We left our room doors slightly ajar at night to allow her access, and there she was almost every single morning we woke up, either sleeping on the comforter on the floor, or watching birds out at the window. As a cat lover and owner myself, Phoebe really made me feel more at home, and made the stay even more memorable.

Thanks Rene, for the wonderful hospitality you offered throughout my stay. Will definitely look to return for my next NYC trip again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Thelonius Monk Room throughout our stay. 3rd level shared bathroom does not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanpingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    51
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
72
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great place. Really feel like you're staying back in the 30s or 40s. Beautiful rooms and bathrooms. Super close to the subway. The bed was so comfortable. Loved it. Harlem is where it's at.
The owner was really nice. It feels really private though since he doesn't hang around. We were never bothered and came and went as we pleased.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirasom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The reason we booked this place, you can't call it a hotel or a b&b, was for it's location (near a subway) and the price. The house is very nice in a quiet street. The rooms are okay, the bed good. The rooms have no private bathroom, but the shared bathrooms are kept spic and span. The first night it was extremly hot, so the owner put a second fan in our room. It helped a bit, so if you are a a/c freak, on hot days this isn't for you. The room is basic but clean, I just wished there was a small fridge in the room so I could have kept my water and beer cool. A walk to the subway takes about 10 min. and harlem is very nice with plenty of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mightygreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I thought I wrote a review for this place but apparently I didn't. My Partner and I stayed here during the Christmas season. I do not remember the names of the owners but remember that the guy was nice but the gal wasn't all that friendly. Maybe because we arrived from Arizona, we felt our room on the 3rd floor was rather cold throughout our stay. Add blankets were provided in the room which helped. The lightning in the bathrooms wasn't the best and water pressure in shower was dismal. On our first morning, we woke up to the sounds of loud music from the owner playing his guitar --- not a happy guest. Overall, I am not shure if would consider this location again if I believed that the service would be better and the mentions above were corrected and improved.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xavierism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallowell, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was my kind of place, but may not be for everyone. I recommend potential guests read the hotel's website and all of the reviews carefully. I made my arrangements and prepaid online and arrived a bit earlier than I had said I would, but was warmly welcomed, shown my room where I was able to leave my bag until it was ready, shown the bathroom, how to use everything (including the door locks--followed by a quiz), and given my keys.

(I haven't seen it mentioned before, but the proprietor requests that you remove your shoes at the stair hallway before going upstairs, so keep your footwear choice in mind if that is an issue for you. I also brought my own toiletries, which turned out to be a good idea, although the hotel did provide plenty of towels.)

Although the place was apparently fully-booked during my stay, I neither saw nor heard anyone else; it was perfectly quiet and like staying in an old home of a relative. It's location on 123rd St. is two blocks from the Apollo, but it's such a quiet residential street I hardly knew I was in the City. I did not even hear the ubiquitous police and ambulance sirens you might expect. The location is perfect; just steps from restaurants, the Apollo, and the ABCD subway lines and various buses (including the convenient M60 to LGA), and a nice stroll to several interesting and historical Harlem sites and neighborhoods.

I stayed in the Chester Himes Room, which faces the street on the second floor, and is closest to the bathroom with the shower in the tub. It was spacious, comfortable, breezy, had everything I needed, was brightly sunlit during the day, and quiet at night. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The second-floor bathroom has the shower in the tub, but you are free to also use the bathroom on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Rene the owner may not remember me but I remember him for what he did for me. I am a singer and I was invited to sing for a WONDERFUL women's memory who passed away (Consuela Lee Moorehead) who I looked up to and loved very much (she taught me a lot about music). A lot of musican's flew from all around the world to honor her....that is how much she was loved and respected.

I had NEVER traveled and stayed anywhere TOTALLY ALONE but I really wanted to go. There were no rooms left and I really wanted to stay there because of things I heard about The FLOP HOUSE (especially all the rooms being named after the JAZZ musicans). I called and spoke to the owner and told him my situation. By the GRACE of GOD there was a room cancellation a couple hours later and he called me. I felt very safe and comfortable there. It was like living in your own apartment really. You felt like you were part of the city.

The month I went it snowed HARD one day only!!! He actually called me to find out if I was ok because he knew my situation and told me if I wanted to stay because of HEAVY SNOW and planes my cancelled....he would not charge me. It may not have been a usual thing he does but.....for that situation....he did it for me and I was very grateful and thankful. It was a great experience and I am sorry it has taking me so long to write about it. I stayed there last year.

Theo Valentin

Room Tip: I don't remember the name of my room :-( but......it was down in the basment part by the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hard to rate this one as it is really is beautiful - if you are into interiors you will thoroughly enjoy staying here. It is wonderfully atmospheric, with music playing downstairs and a resident cat - it feels like being part of old Harlem. And yet... the welcome wasn't great, small thing but a smile would have gone a long way - the owners were, for the brief moments we saw them on arrival, helpful though. There are ample warnings on all the material/website etc. that this isn't a place for the air con dependent and I was totally ready for that (I never use it at home), but in a heatwave we had just one small fan and in the top room it was tough. Our sleep was affected quite a lot. It's definitely right that they don't have air con (it would ruin the look/joy of the place) but a couple of bigger fans really are necessary in the hottest months, and we had them in other b&bs/apartments where we stayed. I wanted to love this place, I certainly loved the look of it - perhaps we just unlucky but I think a bit more in terms of customer service is needed before it's a four star

Room Tip: If it's hot, go for one of the lower rooms (not Theolonius Monk).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanessane2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#237 of 466 in New York City
705 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#305 of 466 in New York City
1,362 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 466 in New York City
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 466 in New York City
3,506 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 466 in New York City
4,840 reviews
Harlem
La Sienna
La Sienna
#19 of 163 in New York City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harlem Flophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harlem Flophouse

Property: The Harlem Flophouse
Address: 242 West 123rd Street, New York City, NY 10027
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Harlem Flophouse Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing