We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ok for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of American Dream Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Dream Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cagliari
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ok for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The place is a hostel, so after booking a single room I actually got a room with bunk beds all for me, which of course didn't make any difference to me. I must have been unlucky, though, considering all the reviews here on TA that praise the cleanliness of this hostel, for the shared bathrooms and the room's floor were fairly clean, but the sheets on the bed left a lot to be desired: they were crumpled and definitely didn't smell as if freshly laundered. My fault I didn't speak up about that immediately, but I was too tired after travelling for 12 hours and didn't feel like arguing.
Apart from that, this hostel is good value for money: the price is unbeatable in Manhattan; location is excellent, on the East Side near Madison Square Park and the Flatiron Building; breakfast is good, with coffee, milk, waffles, fresh fruit, cereals (though, maybe because I would have breakfast at 7, I never saw things other reviewers mentioned, like pancakes, eggs and pretzels), and my room was even provided with an air-conditioner (small, a bit noisy and rudimentary yet effective). All in all, I would recommend this place to non-fussy travellers (provided you check your room and speak up if something should be wrong :-).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    103
    28
    13
    14
See reviews for
22
33
76
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a couple who are normally accustomed to staying in hotels, we found this hostel to be excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were on the smaller side but spotless and anyway, who needs a big room in NYC? The bathroom was always clean and we never had to wait and the kitchen provided a great simple breakfast and the ability to feed oneself during the day. However, the best thing about this hostel was the location. Two blocks from the subway that then took you to 14th Street Union Square (one stop) or to Grand Central (two stops), allowing you to travel pretty much anywhere in the city. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone. I have even persuaded my parents that it would be a viable option for them when looking to stay cheaply in NYC. The only negative I can say, and it really does pain me to do this, is that there was some noise from the traffic outside but this is Manhattan and you visit because it is the city that never sleeps.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed over a year ago with two girlfriends. Very tight squeeze in the rooms, but I guess it's what is to be expected in New York. Good neighbourhood, and easy to navigate NY from. Generous breakfast with lots of variety, nice communal areas, although again they were small.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShayXZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Breakfast-freshly made waffles, boiled eggs, cereals, toast and pastries, fresh coffee, fruit-bananas/peaches. Peanut butter, Nuttella, maple serup and honey.
Snacks -biscuits/cookies,twizzlers, pretzels all day/night long.
Small Kitchen. Only common area to meet other people.

Close to Madison Square Park & an easy walk to the Empire State Building. Great location. Great base for exploring Manhattan. Safe. A block from the supermarket and the subway.

Narrow staircase, to get to reception and another to get to your room. Rooms are small. Comfy beds. Good lockers. Good bathrooms, but abit smelly.

Free WIFI in rooms and also 3 computers to use-very cheap.

Reasonably priced at $59 weekdays/$69 weekends for the dorms. Compared to other hostels.

Liked the little extras this hostel provided, like the handsoap, earcleaners , cotton balls. Nicely decorated. Air conditioned. Safe.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rapariga_madeirense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Found this to be a very nice base for both sightseeing and shopping in Manhattan. Good neighborhood, close to good eateries like the Snack Shack and all the Indians a few streets up.

Male dorm was ok, pretty small and just a small window, aircon rather loud, beds extremely squeaky, bring earplugs! Shares bathroom just with next door (female dorm I think) and there are plenty other options across the hall. Good washing ($5) with detergent/softener provided. Internet speed is ok, wifi free and computers $1/half hour. Staff is variable, Fabi extremely friendly, Sebastian really nice, Perry a bit dejected and only sometimes helpful, and there was also a girl I did not even dare ask for her name as she was looking so mean at me all the time ;). Very good breakfast, 7-11. Very clean.

Big thing that is missing is a common room. My advice, take that bathroom out, break down the walls and connect internet room to kitchen. Such a shame there is no place but the small cramped dorm room to meet the fellow travellers. The kitchen is too small and you won't see if someone is in there when walking past, same as internet room, so that's not working at all.

Too expensive. Really, $59/$69 (weekends) for a dorm bed? Sigh, I guess it's what you pay in Manhattan. Think about going to Queens (Q4 and Westway Hotels were recommended to me by others that stayed there), if it's too expensive for you.

All in all, Manhattan makes you put up with a few downsides, and if you dont want to stay in the huge HI uptown (with lots of 20year old party crowd I'm sure), probably your best bet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

American Dream Hostel is a very good choice for people who are visiting NYC the first time. Reasonable priced in an awesome location. Just two blocks away from 23rd street.
Many attractions are reachable by foot. Loads of bars, restaurants, supermarkets and whatever you need close by.
Facilities get cleaned many times each day, never saw em filthy at all.

Rooms are kind of small (well.. for this price in NYC it's more than enough, as well as you are only there to sleep) and if you get a room to the street go get some ear plugs, it's really a city which never sleeps (or let you sleep).

100% recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhlerKlambes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a fantastic place. This hostel is EXTREMELY CLEAN! Spotless bathrooms, fresh-smelling sheets and blankets, high quality towels, and clean rooms. I have actually never stayed in a hostel as clean as this. Although the bathrooms are shared, I never once waited for either the toilet or the shower, and there are multiple bathrooms per floor. (I never even saw anyone coming in or out of the bathrooms). The rooms come with a sink / soap / hand towel, a flat screen TV, shelving unit for storage, and hangers. Overall it's a pretty charming hostel, it feels cozy and comfortable. The front desk people were nice but not over bearing. We borrowed a hairdryer from them and were allowed to keep it in our room for our stay. I really thought the location was great - close to a subway to explore all areas of Manhattan or Brooklyn. It's super close to many coffee shops, restaurants, and a Walgreens. It's also on a quiet street so we never were bothered by any traffic noises. We absolutely looked forward to coming home to our room at night after exhausting days of exploring. I would highly recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Ask for room 33 - it's in the corner and much bigger than the other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staycray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,333 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#270 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
New York Budget Inn
New York Budget Inn
#5 of 194 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#16 of 194 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Dream Hostel

Property: American Dream Hostel
Address: 168 E 24th St, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010-3703
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 194 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned business, American Dream Hostel welcomes you to New York City. Our prices include breakfast in the morning and WiFi. You will be in Manhattan, Flatiron District/Gramercy Park, close to the most exciting locations and events; most main points of interest including restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and stores are studded around the neighborhood and all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Dream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dream Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing