We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ideal NY Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Dream Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Dream Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal NY Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hostel is ideal for tourists looking to explore the city. It has everything you need from a hostel experience including extremely clean rooms and breakfast included.

In Manhattan there is no particularly cheap accommodation options however the American Dream was of the more reasonably priced. I stayed for 3 nights in a 4 bed female dorm. Both the rooms and the shared bathroom (only shared between 2 dorms) were clean which was my number one priority.

The hostel is located in the Flatiron district so it's a nicer neighborhood, coming back late at night I felt quite safe. Also only 2 blocks to the number 6 train which connects to Grand Central Terminal. There is a key to the building as well as each of the rooms, plus there is no curfew to come back at night so there was always a staff member on reception at nights.

Lou is the father of the owner - a really friendly guy who also works here. I saw him around a few times and he was always keen to have a chat and make everyone feel welcome. Actually if you get one of their business cards, the picture is actually of Lou as a younger man.

Next time I'm in NY I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    103
    28
    13
    14
See reviews for
22
33
76
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and location of The American Dream Hostel. I stayed for 12 nights and was impressed with the quality, service and location for the price.
Arriving at 11pm at night, I was greeted by a lovely lady on the front desk (someone is manning the desk 24/7) and throughout my stay was greeted by many of the staff that were on the front desk.
The hostel has been recently renovated/ had a facelift and it feels new and clean. Breakfast is served daily in the communal kitchen and was always filling and delicious.
I stayed in a 4 bed dorm room which was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was clean.
The location was brilliant, 2 blocks to the Flatiron District and a good 10-15 minute walk to Times Square.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night but it was awesome. Good beds, clean bathrooms. Great location, check out rodeo bar down 3rd avenue it's great. Breakfast was amazing, boiled eggs, cereals, bread, fruit, waffles, twislers and much much more. Highly recommend. Great service and area knowledge also. Wish we were staying longer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

2 couples who drove up 4 New Years and wanted an inexpensive, convenient place 2 sleep. By far American Dream Hostel was better than our hopes! Have stayed in hostels worldwide and this place is great. Breakfast was btr than some very nice hotels we've stayed in... hot coffee, cereals, juices, waffles, eggs, & more. Clean rooms, towels, & BR/shower. Met a lot of fun & friendly ppl. We'll b back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What defines something as being excellent is when it meets your expectations.

I arrived in New York the week of the passage of Hurricane Sandy and was very well attended. Even that did not charge the fines were right for my absence in the first two days. I contacted them and my reservation was still valid.

I was in a private room with a bunk bed. The room was small but had TV, which is not common in hostels, and sink, which resulted even more comfort.

I recommend! It is a good and cheap option! Besides very well located

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodrigo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hostel is clean and recently renovated. Location is great! Rooms are quite small but you have TV and sink inside. And there is free Wi-Fi. Staff is ok, kind and helpful. Breakfast was average.
I stayed for 5 nights in November 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Location: good enough. From the hostel you can go everywhere walking. I prefer this location rather than one near the Central Park where everything is more quiet.
People: except for one of the ladies that is not so friendly, every person working there is kind and helpful.
Rooms&Beds: Rooms are quite small, but, what are you waiting for? Beds are perfect and comfortable. With AC in them.
Bathrooms: Perfectly cleaned, nice. It was a pleasure to take a shower there.
Cleaning: It was perfectly cleaned, you can see people working the whole day.
Breakfast: amazing. Even though you have a fixed time to have breakfast, you can serve yourself all the things you have there at any time. And they have really tasteful things.
Lunch/Dinner: this is the wrong part. You can have lunch/dinner there, but you cannot cook!!!!!!!!
Others: It has laundry. The hostel looks like a hotel, nice and silent rooms. And I love the design they have in the entire place!!!
Maybe it is a little expensive, but you won't regret going there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EugeniaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,281 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#14 of 192 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Dream Hostel

Property: American Dream Hostel
Address: 168 East 24th Street, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned business, American Dream Hostel welcomes you to New York City. Our prices include breakfast in the morning and WiFi. You will be in Manhattan, Flatiron District/Gramercy Park, close to the most exciting locations and events; most main points of interest including restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and stores are studded around the neighborhood and all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Dream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dream Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing