We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will stay here agn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Dream Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Dream Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“will stay here agn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

2 couples who drove up 4 New Years and wanted an inexpensive, convenient place 2 sleep. By far American Dream Hostel was better than our hopes! Have stayed in hostels worldwide and this place is great. Breakfast was btr than some very nice hotels we've stayed in... hot coffee, cereals, juices, waffles, eggs, & more. Clean rooms, towels, & BR/shower. Met a lot of fun & friendly ppl. We'll b back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    103
    28
    13
    14
See reviews for
22
33
76
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What defines something as being excellent is when it meets your expectations.

I arrived in New York the week of the passage of Hurricane Sandy and was very well attended. Even that did not charge the fines were right for my absence in the first two days. I contacted them and my reservation was still valid.

I was in a private room with a bunk bed. The room was small but had TV, which is not common in hostels, and sink, which resulted even more comfort.

I recommend! It is a good and cheap option! Besides very well located

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodrigo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hostel is clean and recently renovated. Location is great! Rooms are quite small but you have TV and sink inside. And there is free Wi-Fi. Staff is ok, kind and helpful. Breakfast was average.
I stayed for 5 nights in November 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Location: good enough. From the hostel you can go everywhere walking. I prefer this location rather than one near the Central Park where everything is more quiet.
People: except for one of the ladies that is not so friendly, every person working there is kind and helpful.
Rooms&Beds: Rooms are quite small, but, what are you waiting for? Beds are perfect and comfortable. With AC in them.
Bathrooms: Perfectly cleaned, nice. It was a pleasure to take a shower there.
Cleaning: It was perfectly cleaned, you can see people working the whole day.
Breakfast: amazing. Even though you have a fixed time to have breakfast, you can serve yourself all the things you have there at any time. And they have really tasteful things.
Lunch/Dinner: this is the wrong part. You can have lunch/dinner there, but you cannot cook!!!!!!!!
Others: It has laundry. The hostel looks like a hotel, nice and silent rooms. And I love the design they have in the entire place!!!
Maybe it is a little expensive, but you won't regret going there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EugeniaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Not a big review, the location is brilliant, right in the heart of everything, people who ran it were friendly enough, although travellers aren't encouraged to interact much there, which didn't bother me as I'm not one to be particularly social. They put on a nice breakfast spread and provided you with fresh towels and blankets, bathrooms always seemed to be clean, perhaps not enough toilets per floor, but you get what you pay for! They had a cute cat which scared me jumping out of the toilet in the middle of the night, it was a big fuss pot though! :) oh and take ear plugs and eye mask if your a light sleeper, as I said its in the heart of manhattan!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickychris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We got there at 2pm,Staff was friendly,couldn't wait to accept our cash ,we paid a 2 bed,room,shared bathroom was quite clean,but the towel were really dirty, thankfully we brought are own.One thing,the room was smellying a weird odor,mix of transpiration and humidity,and we couldn't open the window.
Breakfast is cool,very cosy,a wide variety of fruits,juices,an cereals
24/7 no curfew,staff is ok.
15min away from the metro,could be closer.
There is a storage room for your baggage.
The cheapest you can have in new york.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanmarc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights & got bed bug bites every night in the 4 bed mixed dorm. Management were extremelpy rude to deal with. When I asked for a new towel I was given a used towel that was dirty. At $60-$70 / night this hostel is way overpriced for it's quality - stay clear of it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcFromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,290 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#379 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#14 of 192 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Dream Hostel

Property: American Dream Hostel
Address: 168 E 24th St, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010-3703
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned business, American Dream Hostel welcomes you to New York City. Our prices include breakfast in the morning and WiFi. You will be in Manhattan, Flatiron District/Gramercy Park, close to the most exciting locations and events; most main points of interest including restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and stores are studded around the neighborhood and all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Dream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dream Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing