We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for budget traveler!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Dream Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for budget traveler!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hostel is clean and recently renovated. Location is great! Rooms are quite small but you have TV and sink inside. And there is free Wi-Fi. Staff is ok, kind and helpful. Breakfast was average.
I stayed for 5 nights in November 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    111
    29
    13
    15
See reviews for
24
42
81
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Location: good enough. From the hostel you can go everywhere walking. I prefer this location rather than one near the Central Park where everything is more quiet.
People: except for one of the ladies that is not so friendly, every person working there is kind and helpful.
Rooms&Beds: Rooms are quite small, but, what are you waiting for? Beds are perfect and comfortable. With AC in them.
Bathrooms: Perfectly cleaned, nice. It was a pleasure to take a shower there.
Cleaning: It was perfectly cleaned, you can see people working the whole day.
Breakfast: amazing. Even though you have a fixed time to have breakfast, you can serve yourself all the things you have there at any time. And they have really tasteful things.
Lunch/Dinner: this is the wrong part. You can have lunch/dinner there, but you cannot cook!!!!!!!!
Others: It has laundry. The hostel looks like a hotel, nice and silent rooms. And I love the design they have in the entire place!!!
Maybe it is a little expensive, but you won't regret going there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EugeniaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Not a big review, the location is brilliant, right in the heart of everything, people who ran it were friendly enough, although travellers aren't encouraged to interact much there, which didn't bother me as I'm not one to be particularly social. They put on a nice breakfast spread and provided you with fresh towels and blankets, bathrooms always seemed to be clean, perhaps not enough toilets per floor, but you get what you pay for! They had a cute cat which scared me jumping out of the toilet in the middle of the night, it was a big fuss pot though! :) oh and take ear plugs and eye mask if your a light sleeper, as I said its in the heart of manhattan!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickychris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We got there at 2pm,Staff was friendly,couldn't wait to accept our cash ,we paid a 2 bed,room,shared bathroom was quite clean,but the towel were really dirty, thankfully we brought are own.One thing,the room was smellying a weird odor,mix of transpiration and humidity,and we couldn't open the window.
Breakfast is cool,very cosy,a wide variety of fruits,juices,an cereals
24/7 no curfew,staff is ok.
15min away from the metro,could be closer.
There is a storage room for your baggage.
The cheapest you can have in new york.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanmarc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights & got bed bug bites every night in the 4 bed mixed dorm. Management were extremelpy rude to deal with. When I asked for a new towel I was given a used towel that was dirty. At $60-$70 / night this hostel is way overpriced for it's quality - stay clear of it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcFromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The overall atmosphere of this hostel was great! The staff were all really outgoing and eager to take us out to the local bar. If we needed directions or recommendations, everyone was more than willing to give their two cents. The facilities were really clean and I loved that you had internet access 24/7. I would highly recommend this hostel to any backpacker looking to stay in nyc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertson s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I'm Brazilian, travelled alone to NYC in oct 2011 and stayed at this hostel. I only had recommendations of reviews from TripAdvisor and it ended up being a great choice! Sth i'm always worried about when I stay at hostels is the bathroom and I was quiet lucky with this hostel, there were 4 other girls in the room I was in and we shared the bath with another room on the other side of the wall, which seemed odd at first, but didn't compromise my staying and my comfort at all. The beds were great, I could sleep very weel. The climate was cool in the weeks I was there, so I didn't hv problems like getting too hot or too cold inside the room. What I most liked about this place is the location which is excellent! Wonderfull neighbourhood, subway stations two blocks from the hostel, lots of restaurants and pubs around, quiet away from the tourist mess of times square, near the cool low east side of Manhattan, it is an amazing location!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 467 in New York City
1,550 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,879 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 467 in New York City
669 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#148 of 467 in New York City
3,054 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Dream Hostel

Property: American Dream Hostel
Address: 168 E 24th St, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010-3703
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 164 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned business, American Dream Hostel welcomes you to New York City. Our prices include breakfast in the morning and WiFi. You will be in Manhattan, Flatiron District/Gramercy Park, close to the most exciting locations and events; most main points of interest including restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and stores are studded around the neighborhood and all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
American Dream Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing