We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$223
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Courtyard
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$223
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$223
Hotels.com$223
FindHotel$219
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveler rating
569
407
103
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
569
407
103
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penn station great location new york herald square times square the high line front desk staff would stay here again the staff was friendly and helpful two blocks central location nyc hotel bed was very comfortable early check king room marriott manhattan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2019

Great hotel in a great location. The location is across the street from a police station so you always felt safe at night. You’re close to the underground for several routes and Madison Square Garden is just around the corner. There are a large number of excellent eateries for all price ranges nearby.

As for the room it was a nice size for New York. It had a nice comfortable bed. We found the elevators to be reasonably fast and efficient. The staff were always friendly and courteous.

And then there was the showers that only be described as terrible and/or horrific. There was practically no water pressure. I’m pretty sure the water started coming out and then began clawing it’s way back. The water I got on my last shower on day 6 was the water that started coming out when my wife turned the shower on on day 1.

Anyway, outside of the showers, there was very little to worry about. Great stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BagmanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Dear BagmanNZ,

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to ear you enjoyed your stay and found that our hotel provided all the amenities a guest would need when visiting the city. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019

We recently stayed at this Manhattan/Chelsea Courtyard and were, for the most part, very pleased with the stay. We arrived very late at night following a transatlantic flight and were eager to get to sleep. Front desk staff were welcoming and checked us in quickly. Unfortunately, when we got to the room, it had not been made up. Staff on the floor quickly came to our aid and contacted the front desk and also assisted with getting our luggage to a ready room. Our room was comfortable, clean and, as always, the bed was very comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and helpful during our short stay. We appreciated the quick recovery (things like this can happen anywhere) and will continue to rely on Marriott for our vacation lodging.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Levannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Dear Levannah,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent this incident from occurring in the future. We understand that after a long day of travel, the only thing you want is a clean and cozy place to sleep. Again, we apologize for this inconvenience and hope to prevent this from happening in the future.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to New York.

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

We blew into town for weekend concert in Brooklyn. Price was incredibly reasonable. (member rate $161 for a Sat. night....wow). Perfect location in Midtown on 30th btw 6th and 7th skirting Chelsea. 10 minute walk to Highline. Service was exceptional especially door/bellmen ! Rooms (King) were quiet, large enough, very clean and modern. Terrific shower. $70 for Valet or $55 for self-park nearby. Starbucks in lobby. This is a great hotel for a weekend quick hit in NYC. Nothing nostalgic or romantic about it but another solid Marriott !

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear Mark D,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea for your recent travels to New York.

Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is a main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel team takes in providing exceptional customer service to our valued guests speaks strongly to our company’s core values, “good service at a fair price.”

Your review highlighted all of our key features and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

On checkout the receptionist was the most arrogant lady I meet in a while. She was schilling me for making a valid complain.
The rooms are small and clean howver the location is in one of the most crazy traffic areas in manhatan.
The hotel is clean howver as said the Sevice is really bad and unprofessional.
I hope the management could invest in training at least the front desk workers

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear DANIELRO76,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea.

We apologize that our staff was unable to provide you with a warm departure, we understand how important a personal touch is and again apologize for this shortcoming.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to improve and deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to New York.

Sincerely,
James Umana
Operations Manager
Courtyard Marriott Chelsea Manhattan
james.umana@marriott.com
212.967-6000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

I waked over from Penn Station when my train arrived just after 3 PM. The front desk reminded me that check in is at 4pm, which I was aware of. I was not offered a phone call if my room would was ready before 4pm. I admit that I’m not conditioned to New York City manners. However, a good welcome. can make a customer feel like a guest rather than a transaction.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Roland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear Roland A,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea.

We apologize that our staff was unable to provide you with a warm welcome, we understand how important a personal touch is and again apologize for this shortcoming.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to improve and deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to New York.

Sincerely,
James Umana
Operations Manager
Courtyard Marriott Chelsea Manhattan
james.umana@marriott.com
212.967-6000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews