We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location, New Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #118 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location, New Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights. Stay was comfortable. As we used the hotel mainly as a base to explore Manhattan, we did not make much use of the hotel amenities. The hotel itself is clean and new, and the lobby is airy and modern.

Pros
• Location is good – it is at West 30th Street near 7th Avenue. Nearby are restaurants, fast food joints, cafes, mini-marts. The road tend to be quiet at night, but it is not a problem, as the New York Police (NYPD) is just across the hotel.
• If you are taking the airport bus, the boarding area is just 5 minutes walk away (along 7th Avenue near W 31st or 32nd).
• Penn Station and the Madison Square Garden subway is also 5 minutes walk away. Go to the basement, and there are loads of restaurants (TGIF, KFC, Subway, etc) and convenience store (Duane Reed) there.
• The hotel room itself – provides a comfortable stay. Everything is new and works. There’s a large 42-inch LCD TV, coffee maker, fridge, iron with board, hair dryer, etc. Room is not very big, but this is Manhanttan.
• The toilet is clean and bright. The shower is strong, though there is no bath tub.
• There is a fitness centre at the basement.
• Complimentary wifi is provided. Visitors can also use the complimentary wifi at the lobby.
• Next to the reception at the main lobby, there is a small area for you to buy drinks, munchies – there is even a microwave oven there to heat up food if you don’t feel like going out.


Cons
• Our rate did not come with breakfast, so I cannot comment on this.
• Really, there isn’t much problem staying here. The only con is that on a few days, the amenities like soap and shampoo were not replenished.

The rates we got is not exactly rock bottom, but I think reasonable given the location and state and service of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor in you can, as they tend to be brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ricky_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    281
    57
    11
    6
See reviews for
213
209
38
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Checked in on a Thursday with two others. Our room on the 15th floor and bathroom were bigger than most other hotels we've stayed in while in NYC, especially with three girls and 6 suitcases! Location was ideal for those wanting to be away but still kinda close to the hustle and bustle near Times Square. The hotel is right across the street from the NYPD traffic control center and taxis were easy to get as they came down the one way street out front. The beds/pillows were very comfortable, room had a mini fridge which was nice to put drinks and leftovers. Any extra items you needed they would send up- towels, hangers, etc. The bellmen were very friendly and offered to hail a cab for us on our last day (it was 25 degrees outside) There was a small cafe downstairs behind the lobby we never used but it seemed nice. Outside noise was never a problem and our room overlooked 30th street.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DillyDally84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The front staff is awesome, adorable and accommodating. We were interviewing and they were incredibly helpful. The rooms are nice and comfy. Great location right next to Penn Station and Madison Square Garden for interviewing. If our room was missing anything the staff brought stuff up immediately and they were friendly efficient and apologetic. Special props to front desk lady Jeannie, who was adorable, patient funny and super helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredabita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the great "Associate Guest Service Comments" about our team. The team works very hard to insure our guests enjoy the stay with us, and get very excited when they are mentioned in our reviews. As the General Manager of this hotel, I am very proud of our team and the service they provide to all of our guests. The Team and I look forward to your next visit to NYC and are glad the interviews went well for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

As in other reviews, this is a great hotel to stay in. The staff is just great. They are always there to say hi and what can I do for you. The hotel and everything is new. The rooms are a good size for New York. It is a 3 min. walk to Penn Station and very close to a lot of shops and restaurants. Best of all it's right across the street from the police station. I will stay here the next time I am in New York City. My new hotel to stay at.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Antinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you or taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. The hotel is located within a short walk of Penn Station, Herald Square and the Empire State Building. You can also catch trains to other NYC areas very easy which makes the hotel a great place to stay while your travels bring you to NYC. The staff and I look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

new property with a fantastic shower and bathroom. Well designed to make the most of the space. Clever storage in the room. lobby was small but well laid out. Surprisingly quiet for NYC! Safe neighborhood with a police station immediately across the street.

Room Tip: very convenient to penn station
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kildonan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The staff is very happy that you had a great time and we will look forward to a return trip to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

My friend and I decided to stay overnight in the city and enjoy dinner and a show. This is a great location, welcoming staff, clean and updated room! Can't ask for more! Plus, a reasonable price by NYC standards! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrinmollysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It was great to hear about your recent stay with us. Thanks for sharing and we look forward to seeing you on a future trip back to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Having been to New York several times before , this is by far the best experience!

Room is very clean , shower is great , large plasma panel and an interesting view.

Oh and free wifi , do handy , staff are great as well.

It's just what you want on a city break.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaker1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I was glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next stay with us! Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#122 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#147 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#100 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#59 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#175 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#60 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Address: 135 W 30th St, New York City, NY 10001-4012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott - Manhattan Chelsea is located within walking distance to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and Herald Square. The hotel is Silver Leed Certified and is proud of the efforts to reduce it's carbon footprint. The hotel opened in December of 2013, and is unique in design. It features 273 guestrooms that include 17 suites. It features the Table 135 Restaurant for Breakfast and has a Fitness Center onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing