We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #114 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Beautiful, new, friendly staff, nice lobby accommodations. Felt so safe walking around considering it's across the street from a Precinct house with six officers for every other person on the street. It's so convenient to the Garden and Penn Station. The people who checked me in were very knowledgable about the city and my options.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent post on TripAdvisor about our hotel and your stay. One of the unique traits of our hotel is the location history. We are across the street from the police station as you mentioned. The building is one of the highlights of the area once called the Tenderloin District. This building was built in the early 1900's. Look forward to your next trip to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    320
    63
    14
    8
See reviews for
260
234
41
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This relatively new hotel is conveniently located around the corner from Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. I was in town for the night to attend Howard Stern's birthday party at the Hammerstein Ballroom and needed a hotel that was clean, quiet and could accommodate a slightly early check-in. Well, this hotel didn't disappoint! The room was spotless and very quiet (my room was on the 10th floor overlooking 30th Street). It was a small room, but by NYC standards, it was OK.

What *really* made this hotel stay so remarkable was the personal service by the hotel GM, Mr. Hinks. Mr. Hinks not only was able to accommodate my request for an early check-in (on Super Bowl weekend!), but he followed up with me once I had checked-in to make sure that there was nothing else I needed to make it a perfect stay at his hotel. Mr. Hinks is the defintion of first class hospitality. I have travelled extensively throughout the world over the years on business and for pleasure and the service that this hotel provides to its guests coupled with a very clean and quiet room, sets this hotel above and beyond expectations. Stay at this hotel the next time you're in the need on a place mid-town. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonDan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for you recent post about our hotel and your stay with us. We are very close to both Penn and MSG, so if you are coming to the city, we are a great location. I was happy to hear you had a great evening at your event. Look forward to your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hozkhar
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Me and my wife visited Manhattan during 5 days and after looking for a place to stay we selected this hotel based on the reviews and the location.
Our decision was right according to the time we spent in the hotel. The location is great, just a few steps away of Penn Station and walking distant to midtown ( Time Square).

The hotel is new and you can see it everywhere. The room is nice and with a good NY size.
The quality of sleep is good even that we can hear some noise from outside, police cars specially. Also you can hear some beep from the elevator so if you have a weak sleep ask for a room as far a possible to the elevator.

We did not try any food even that there is a coffee shop in the lobby serving breakfast and some other meals.

The price for this place is awesome compare to what you can pay in Manhattan.

The service could be better and that is the only issue we faced. The people in the reception seems to be more worried about talking to each other than pay attention to the guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible of the elevators if you have a weak sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hozkhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent post and the feedback on our hotel. I am glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay and time in NYC. I also wanted to let you know that we are working on the Elevator beep that you heard and will have it fixed. It is through feedback like yours that allows Marriott to be the leader in the hotel industry. Looking forward to a return to our hotel during your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was just what we needed. My daughter and I shared a king bed (Marriott comfy bed) in a small room with very nice, contemporary decor. The room was perfectly clean. We were just off the elevator, which meant we had some noise from guests coming and going, but no actual machinery noise. Otherwise, the room was quiet as a church. And there was a beautiful church outside our window, by the way. The front desk staff was friendly, but stressed, when we arrived Saturday night. The daytime staff was as pleasant and helpful as could be. Kudos to the nighttime valet, who was quick, friendly, and eager to help in any way. The hotel is directly across the street from a police station. We didn't see any activity, but felt safe just the same. There is a large, very comfortable lounge area behind the lobby, and plenty of quick food choices at the corner of the street. It's a quick walk up to Madison Square Garden or to a number of subway stations.

Room Tip: room 1109 was next to the elevator on the back side of the hotel - nice view of church and some lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dszym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor. I was glad to hear that both you and your daughter enjoyed your stay at the hotel. The church you are refering to is St. Francis of Assisi and was established in 1844 by the Reverend Father Zachary Kunze. This is one of the unique buildings that are an interesting place to visit during your stay at the hotel if you like to explore the local area surrounding the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My son and I had a man's weekend in New York. The hotel was more than we expected. Warm, friendly with personal attention to us from check in and check out. We were able to walk to MSG, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, all points we wanted to see. Easy access into and out of the city from the Lincoln Tunnel. Would stay again without question. Sorry, I checked pool but does not apply. Consider it exercise room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljroth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, it's staff and features. It sounds like you enjoyed many of the great sites NYC has to offer. The staff and I look forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan Chelsea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is brand new and its about a block and a half walk from the New York Penn station across the street from the NYPD. So perfect location for us since we took the Amtrak to NY. We were easily able to walk to the station to catch an early morning train back with a grandma and 6 year old in a bout 5 min. Also we had fun trying to see into the NYPD from our hotel room.

The service at this hotel was excellent. All the staff are very friendly and willing to meet your needs in any way possible. The rooms are very clean. The only downside is they don't have rooms with 2 queen beds..only doubles. The rooms are small, but this is usually the norm for NY hotels so I still give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arunie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor about our hotel. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to see some of the local building history. The Police Station you are referring to is a part of the neighborhood history of NYC. Police Commissioner William McAdoo in 1905 actually labeled it as the new Tenderloin Police Station. I hope you found these facts interesting and hope you will return to our hotel if you have any future trips to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here overnight for a company function over the weekend, and wanted a hotel close to Penn Station. I found this property, and was able to get a Saturday night rate of $150! Considering that the property just opened the first week of December, and it was only open about 6 weeks, I was amazed.
The hotel is in a great location, 4 blocks from Macy's, 1 block from Penn Station, and about 4 blocks from the Empire State building. It's in a pretty quiet area, right across the street from an NYPD precinct.
The rooms are small, as are most rooms in any NYC hotel. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was a nice size, and everything looked brand new. I was impressed. I would stay here again if given the opportunity. Oh, and the front desk staff were very friendly! The bellman even hailed a cab for me while I waited inside for it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readytograbasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you or taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff, were happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 466 in New York City
737 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#54 of 466 in New York City
802 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#116 of 466 in New York City
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#163 of 466 in New York City
1,910 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#84 of 466 in New York City
1,642 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#65 of 466 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Address: 135 W 30th St, New York City, NY 10001-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott - Manhattan Chelsea is located within walking distance to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and Herald Square. The hotel is Silver Leed Certified and is proud of the efforts to reduce it's carbon footprint. The hotel opened in December of 2013, and is unique in design. It features 273 guestrooms that include 17 suites. It features the Table 135 Restaurant for Breakfast and has a Fitness Center onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing