We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite breakfast in NYC”
Review of Good Enough to Eat

Good Enough to Eat
Reserve with OpenTable
Good Enough to Eat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #803 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 85th
Transit: Trains B & C (86 Street Stop) are a block away
Description: Today, visitors from all over the world—English, German, French, Japanese—still come to Good Enough to Eat to enjoy classic American food. They sit side by side with Upper West Side “regulars,” enjoying wholesome, mouth-watering (and ample) plates such as Macaroni and Cheese, Lemon Parmesan Chicken, Pecan Trout, Caesar Salad, Sweet Potato Fries, the now legendary Meatloaf and Turkey Dinners, and Peach Pie with homemade Vanilla Ice Cream. The appetite for wholesome, authentic, traditional American food only seems to be growing – both here and in cultures across the globe. And we at The Restaurant Group still carry out Carrie Levin’s mission to satisfy that hunger at Good Enough to Eat.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favorite breakfast in NYC”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Food that is worth the trip from anywhere in Manhattan. This has been our favorite breakfast place in the city for many years and it never disappoints. The new location is slightly larger so the waits should be shorter. Our waiter was busy but attentive and informative. Everything on the menu is good but don't miss the bacon - it is memorable. The breakfast hash is calling my name from 600 miles away. Truly a treat - worth planning your morning around.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCsoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    229
    75
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Long lines...not worth the wait”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

While the food is not bad, it is not that exceptional to warrant waiting in line outside for
hours, sometimes in the cold and rain. I live in the neighborhood and have tried to figure
out the draw but my experiences have been all right but not great. A glorified IHOP with
prices to match. Many other better choices but if you want trendy and to say you ate here,
go for it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCHotelManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Been here several times in the last 12 yrs. Every time we are in NYC my wife and I eat breakfast here. Food is always good. Pancakes, scramble eggs, waffles, etc. They moved to a larger location, more seating, and a bar. Great service.

Helpful?
Thank RColonB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Goulburn, NSW
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful home style cooking”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a great dinner here - real American home style cooking. I had meatloaf and my friend had a pork chop with collards. The atmosphere is very homely and the service is great, very welcoming. We also had brunch another day and it was really busy. It's very popular and there are outdoor tables if the weather is nice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSWChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Service so bad it ruined the food”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Sunday brunch with family was beyond disappointing. After waiting 40 minutes to get in for tight seating, server was horrible. When ordering, one of 5 people at table ordered food that cost less than $10, and even though table well over $10 per head we were told she had to order more to get minimum. Two of us ordered tea, and they brought enough hot water for one person. Coffee requested twice and refills requested 4 times before brought. Had servers literally reaching in to take plates that we were holding onto while people still eating. The eggs are good, but not good enough to ever go back. Used to be one of our favorite locations in city for Sunday brunch. Never again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Enough to Eat also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Good Enough to Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing