We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reliable restaurant near the Met”
Review of Grazie

Grazie
Reserve with OpenTable
Grazie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #774 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Between Madison Avenue and Fifth Avenue
Transit: 4, 5,6 trains to 86th Street/Lexington.
Description: Located just steps from Madison Avenue and one block from the Metropolitan Museum and Central Park, Grazie is the perfect place for lunch, dinner, or a late afternoon snack. Opened in 1993, Grazie continues to charm the neighborhood with delicious Italian food served in a beautiful townhouse setting. Lunch offers a wide variety of omelets, pizzas, sandwiches and salads. The Italian "Bento Box" offers tastings of two savories and a sweet for a quick, satisfying and inexpensive lunch. At dinner, let us tempt you with wonderful and innovative dishes such as our popular veal, encrusted in aged parmesan cheese and served with a lemon-caper sauce and sauteed spinach. Desserts are not to be missed! Try our Italian s'mores with Nutella and toasted marshmallows or our famous zeppole, rolled in cinnamon and brown sugar and served with two dipping sauces. Whatever you're craving a light lunch, dinner with friends, or a cozy place for a cappuccino in the afternoon, we are here to serve you.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good reliable restaurant near the Met”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good Italian food, attentive service, reasonably priced. Neighborhood restaurant that's very convenient for dinner after visiting the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dorothyc_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    104
    21
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a cafe, but a fine ristorante”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Had a group of 7 here for a dinner upstairs and everyone raved about the food and service, and the Italian wine we ordered was sensational. The pasta with seafood is especially good and the zeppole (little Neapolitan donuts) are a perfect dessert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BonnesVivantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CT
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A gem near the Metropolitan Museum of Art”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The perfect restaurant for a ladies or business lunch on the Upper East Side, especially if you are visiting (or have visited) the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Was looking for a spot near the Met to have a quiet (light) bite with an old friend and catch up -- and Caffe Grazie was perfect. Highly recommend the Italian "bento box," where you can have soup or salad, a panini (or similar), and a taste of dessert. Salads are also good. A bit pricey, but totally in keeping with restaurants on the Upper East Side -- and a good value considering the quality of food and service. Will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely neighborhood gem”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We eat here often and it is always enjoyable. Staff are welcoming and friendly. The wines are good and reasonably priced. The food is well prepared and the portions are large--we often take home leftovers. The chef is accommodating and will adapt to special requests. The desserts are excellent but we rarely have room for them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife stumbled upon this gorgeous little place after visiting the Metropolitan Museum. They were very nice to us, taking only 20 minutes to accommodate our party of 7 in their beautiful upstairs dining room. Service was excellent and our waiter was very patient answering all our questions. We all went for the prix fixe, which had plenty of choices. We were all very happy with our orders, ranging from pasta to fish and vegetables and, in my case, a frittata with asparagus and tomatoes with fresh green salad. Nice wine, good deserts in a beautifully appointed place. My kudos to the owner/manager for keeping this little delight running for 20 years!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicardoCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grazie also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Grazie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing