We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Addicting Treat”
Review of Bantam Bagels

Bantam Bagels
Ranked #132 of 388 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West Village
Description: Mini bagel balls that are filled instead of topped...amazing right!? The perfect bite for a quick snack on the go, or for your next office meeting, event or party! Change the way you bagel.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique & Addicting Treat”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We found this place on a food tour and they are wonderful! They are round bagel bites stuffed with various flavors of cream cheeses - all gourmet though, but familiar enough like "French Toast" and a pesto flavor. If you have a nut allergy, just look carefully because several varieties do have some type of nut product in them. A really unique idea that is delicious and will have you craving them!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlycatB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Balls Of Bagels!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I checked out Bantam Bagels in the West Village. This little shop houses a wide variety of bagel balls? Bagel holes? Let's just go with Bantams. 

Started by a couple of former Wall Streeters, the idea of Bantam came in a dream...seriously. So, the idea of creating a bite sized bagel, complete with cream cheese, butter, or unique spread inside, came to fruition. They're small enough (about the same size as a donut hole), so you can try lots of different ones. And at just over $1 per Bantam, you can try a whole lot.

You can read the rest of my review with photos here:
http://sprungonfood.com/2013/11/07/bantam-bagels

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sprungonfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Bank, N.S.
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Very tasty bite size bagel pops filled with many different fillings. Very friendly staff. Will stop in again.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale az
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Bites of Flavor”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you find yourself walking in the West Village (and why wouldn't you on a trip to NYC?) stop by the tiny storefront that houses Bantam Bagels and try these bagel bites. They are small (the size of a donut hole) and a little pricey but oh so good Depending on the day there are around 15 varieties and I tried 6 (about $1 each). Without a doubt, my favorite was the decadent Hangover...a cheese egg bagel filled with bacon/cheddar cream cheese. Close 2nd was the Bleecker Street, pizza dough hole with marinara mozzarella cream cheese, topped with a crispy pepperoni slice! They have sweet and savory flavors and I recommend getting them heated. I ate a couple hot out of the oven, sitting on the little bench outside the door, and took a couple back to the hotel. Those were a bit chewy and not as good by that time...the sweet flavors might fair better cold. I think these would also be good for a late night snack (they are open until 2am on the weekends). Looking forward to going back and trying a few more flavors...hope this idea catches on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant idea!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Being from the UK I fell in love with Bagels on one of my first trips to the USA 13 years ago - so on this trip i was very excited that as part of my Manhattan Walking( an eating!) Tour i got introduced to Bantam Bagels ! We simply would not have found this on our own with the masses of food on offer in Greenwich Village but so glad we did !
Real thought has gone into the flavours - my favourites being Grandma Jo Jo and the Jack ( pumpkin bagel with sweet cream cheese filling )
Make sure you try and I will expect to see this becoming a chain very soon its such a fab concept ....just wish they's come to Ireland ( hint hint ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TanyaTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bantam Bagels also viewed

 

Been to Bantam Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing