We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you only get to NY once, don't miss Pershing's!”
Review of Pershing Square

Pershing Square
Ranked #235 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Pershing Square is a full-service restaurant located under the landmarked Park Avenue Viaduct. Serving American Cuisine, Pershing Square is a bustling and iconic New York City experience which attracts a mix of locals and tourists. While most famous for our breakfast, Pershing Square is open for lunch, dinner, happy hour and we serve high-end comfort food until 10:30 PM. ***Please be advised that at Pershing Square we do have a dress code policy. Men are not permitted to wear tank tops in the restaurant.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you only get to NY once, don't miss Pershing's!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Been to NYC hundreds of times, how did I miss this place!? What a find - I second & third all the excellent breakfast reviews, awesome food and great friendly atmosphere. Not a bad value either considering its NY, will definitely come here again next trip!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank parklover394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    811
    767
    209
    52
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purley
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable evening meal”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoyed a delightful dinner here during our recent stay in NY. We found the restaurant by chance, our original intention being to dine in one of the restaurants in Grand Central. We were so glad we didn't.( Grand Central, however, is definitely worth a visit) We received a warm welcome and the atmosphere and decor were charming. The food was excellent and the service impeccable. We would certainly go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DottyP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in New York”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We eat here for breakfast every time we are in the area. It is the busiest but best breakfast in New York. My favorite breakfast is the poached eggs with lentils and quinoa - healthy and fabulously delicious. Any of the egg dishes are superior as are the pancakes. I am not a fan of corned beef hash but one of my friends swears this is the best and he eats it every time we come. You are in and out quickly and don't let the line scare you - it moves fast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super breakfast in America, no tramp!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had selected this place from trip adviser based on the location (next to our hotel - Grand Hyatt) and reviews. We were not disappointed. If you go in holiday season (July - August) I recommend you either book or get there before 8.00am (gets very busy after that time) Excellent service and lovely traditional American food. Although we were starting early (for a holiday!) this gave us the best start to the day, if you are staying near E42nd St, a must place for breakfast

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank riggy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pershingly Delicious”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful service, wonderful breakfast and great atmosphere. Works out about $20 per head for breakfast. Well worth it.
It does get busy and you may have to queue but its not long.
Weve been three times and i dont go anywhere again if its rubbish!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cannella2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pershing Square also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pershing Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing