We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High energy, high prices”

Otto Enoteca & Pizzeria
Reserve with OpenTable
Otto Enoteca & Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #812 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: 8th Street
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R, Q, & W trains to 14th Street/Union Square, and the B, D, F, V, A, C, & E trains to West 4th Street.
Description: Modeled after an Italian train station, Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich's OTTO is located on 8th Street, in the historic One Fifth Avenue building. Serving classic Italian pizzas and pastas, a large selection of house-cured meats, Italian and local cheeses, Artisanal Gelato, and boasting a 750+ all-Italian wine list, OTTO has become a destination for New York diners as well as a neighborhood hot spot.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“High energy, high prices”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have been here a few times for dinner and each time am struck at how they have such a booming business with such high prices. $12-20 for a glass of wine? I know it's NYC but it is a bit over the top. As for the food and service it's pretty good but certainly in a town with so many Italian joints there are other, smaller places that pack a bigger punch. I think this will be the last visit for a while as we enjoy other options much more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    370
    172
    92
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“overrated”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

After reading a lot about this restaurant in guide books and online we made a reservation for 9pm, we were eventually seated at 9.58 after standing in the overly crowded noisy bar. The menu was trying to be too alternative and ended up not tasting right. The pizza tasted burnt so overall i did not have a good experience with this restaurant however the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurenlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“High energy vibe, Italian Grandma's food done to simple perfection with a little twist.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The pizza is simple yet better, the pasta done al-dente just right. Mario Batali knows how to make homey Italian food be gourmet in a simple way. Just a little something different, not complicated.
Go there for a date, a friends meeting, sometime when you want to buzz around you to add a little excitement.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boazny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

attentive staff, good food although some of the dishes were a little too salty for my taste, good ambience. The gelato is amazing

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsHolidayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The best pizza of New York”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After having read so much about "Otto" on the web, we had great expectations. And yes, the experience was very good indeed. Friendly, quick and attentive service. Good food and all this for a fair price. The starters are a kind of "tapas"-style and offer a good sellection of meat, fish and vegetables. There is a good choice of main courses and specials. We had a very attentive waiter (Craig) who took good care of me and my friend. Helpful, friendly with lots of flair. When you enter the restaurant there is some kind of bar - restaurant part where you can eat at party tables (sitting down or standing up). We had made a reservation (trhough their website) and had a table for 2.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goalgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto Enoteca & Pizzeria also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Otto Enoteca & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing