We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed bar full of character”
Review of Old Town Bar

Old Town Bar
Ranked #863 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxed bar full of character”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

On a recent trip to NYC my group and I were wandering the streets looking for a watering hole and stumbled upon Old Town Bar. We sat in the bar area and ordered drinks. The whole place has a unique and historic feel to it. The service was prompt and friendly and the drinks were cold and delicious. Definitely a cool place to hang out for awhile.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    66
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bar where people still talk”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It has no TV's and I hear they don't appreciate people talking on their cell phones inside. We just stumbled into it and had a couple of beers in a cosy environment. Later I found out it has the oldest bar and urinals in New York. More importantly it still has the old-school charm I miss in so many other bars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luka_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and Comfortable”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stopped in for a burger and a beer. Just before the late afternoon rush. Server was friendly. Burger was adequate. Beer was cold. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrBillinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
303 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“No cell phones”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

They have a policy - no talking on your cell phone while in the restaurant. I got a turkey burger with slaw (coleslaw) for lunch. It has an old fashioned saloon atmosphere. Their credit card machine was down the day I was there so it was cash only. It has a good location, near Union Square, N/Q/R trains. I'm glad I tried it at least once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenoftheHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A real piece of New York History.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Old Town Bar was established in 1892. It has the oldest urinals in NYC! But don't let that stop you from going there! Great burgers, great beer. You can have a party upstairs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaR5104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Old Town Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing