We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If mushrooms and good Italian food is what you like, this is the place”

Montebello Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Montebello Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,137 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $26 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Lexington and Park
Transit: M,R,V,F,E,6,7 trains
Description: Enjoy authentic Italian fine dining in New York. We use authentic Italian recipes & techniques when we prepare your ensalate, carni, pasta & pesci.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If mushrooms and good Italian food is what you like, this is the place”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This long standing delicious Italian restaurant serves wonderful clasic Italian food, during mushroom season, it is a most.
The service is profesional, attentive, well trained and extremely well trained and attentive. The prices are quite reasonable for a top place in such centric area (56 ST B/N Park and Lexintong Aves.) The wine list is reasonable and invariably, the management offers it's visitors something on the house.
A most welcoming lovely place, not fancy, not super elegant, but a great buy and wonderful place for a quiet lunch or dinner

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raoul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The best part of the dining experience is the wonderful service. Friendly staff that make you feel at home. It is a small restaurant tucked away off of Park Ave. It has an older clientele so if you are looking for something young and hip this is not your spot. The food is good however, I could not tell you what I ordered and I have been there twice which says something. My next trip to NYC I am not planning to go back. The atmosphere is nice however, it lacks something (a view) and makes me feel like I am taking a break from an exciting city when I am inside.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melivard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service, and Ambiance”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've eaten at this restaurant on E.56th St., between Park and Lexington Aves. since the 1980s. Large parties are put in a separate room, with closed doors. Tables are far enough apart to have a private conversation. It is never noisy. The food is continental, tasty and well presented, and the service is excellent. I love the selection of desserts, including tiramisu, cheese cake, fresh berries, and creme brulee. I usually have an appetizer and main course, and I often add escarole, as an additional vegetable. The fish is always fresh, and there is a good selection: salmon, red snapper, branzino, sole, and trout. I've eaten here with my husband, other couples, and friends. They, in turn, have brought other friends because they were impressed by the food, service, and ambiance. This restaurant is also excellent for business lunches.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This restaurant was amazing. Staff are so friendly and attentive the food was delicious.
We booked the restaurant to celebrate our wedding and would advise anyone looking for somewhere special to book here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific food, great service”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A wonderful Italian dinner deliver4ed by attentive staff. Noise level was low. Very pleased.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montebello Ristorante Italiano also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Montebello Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing