We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service - 6th Avenue Location”
Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
Ranked #1,614 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: SoHo
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Bad Service - 6th Avenue Location”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Food was OK, but oy the wait! The server was so slow! Other tables were fine, but ours ...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    69
    32
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Muffins, Skones, and Oatmeal with Berries”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed at the Vanderbuilt YMCA and found a very nice French restaurant and bakery for breakfast. It has a wide variety of excellent baked goods and delicious oatmeal with berries. Called Le Pain Quotidien, it is around the corner and a few blocks from the "Y" at 937 2nd Avenue. Coffee is served in a bowl and at first I thought I was being served soup. It has outdoor seating; I went there for breakfast every morning and one night I stopped for a glass of wine that was $5--very good for NY prices. It was interesting to sit there and watch the parade of New Yorkers go by. It seemed to me it was a place frequented by "locals," and the waiter confirmed this. When you exit the "Y," turn right, then make the first left and the restaurant is on the left about two blocks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msaurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great menu, family style seating”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

As a solo traveller, I appreciated the large tables with family style seating. I've been to several Le Pains and enjoyed all of them.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank California26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“O-la-la, French it is”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

A perfect place if you like it casual, fresh, healthy, a little unusual. There is a choice of small tables for a few people or a long communal-like sitting. We had curry chicken salad sandwich, smoked salmon sandwich and quinoa tabouleh salad. Good size portions for a lunch, wonderful breads, all greens and herbs look and taste straight from the garden. Everything is interesting, even the sweetener is Agave syrup - terrific flavor. Unfortunately, we did not have time to have deserts - they looked really irresistible.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comfytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Really nice place, very cozy! Had the breakfast basket with organic spreads and it was really good. Great, friendly service, would go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing