We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little Belgium cafes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
Ranked #387 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
vienna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cute little Belgium cafes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were in New York for 6 days, and I think we went this little Cafe 3 times, the muesli breakfast , the quiches, coffees are just like Le Bol in Vienna. The atmosphere is very relaxing, would definately always go back when I visit New York again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    385
    96
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good coffee, great food, relaxed service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for breakfast while on a visit to New York with friends. While other reviewers have said the service was slow we thought it was just relaxed. They let us take our time and we didn't feel rushed at any time. That being said, when it was time to go, we did have to catch someone's eye to get our check. The cold brew coffee was amazing and had a great latte as well. My husband said the waffle was the best he's ever had and my quiche was excellent. The fresh baked bread and jams were also amazing. Filled us up for a day of exploring around the UES.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went to the Montague street Brooklyn Heights cafe for a light lunch mid week. It took 10 minutes to get e menu and a further 10 minutes to attract a waitress to place our order. It wasn't busy at the time.

The food was very good and the price was OK the caffe latte was slightly bitter. Thinking we could not possibly get a repeat performance we went back 2 days later. Again it took 10 mins to attract the attention of the waiter, an experience echoed by other patrons. The waiter for some strange reason couldn't bring himself to utter a complete sentence but rather honked like a goose.

Never again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy Pastries, Slow Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Wandering through Central Park we found this little treat of a cafe/restaurant, pastries were yummy and fresh and coffee drinkable (but I am fussy with my coffee). However their service was extremely slow and their "flow" of delivery was amusing, but as it was a lovely sunny sunday morning, we had nowhere else to go we were happy chatting to all the local dogs owners. If you have have left your puppy at home and need a dog fix, this is place to visit in the mornings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zannaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great fresh bread, nice selection of spreads (especially the one with dark Belgian chocolate), great for long weekend breakfasts

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KrisVerbruggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing