We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uneven -- take your chances”

Heartland Brewery Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Heartland Brewery Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #589 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th Avenue and Broadway
Transit: N,R, 1,2,3,C,E,F,A trains to 42nd street and Broadway
Description: One of the few casual chophouses in the Times Square area, this Heartland Brewery combines the rich character of a steakhouse from yesteryear with a modern restaurant sensibility. In addition to a beer-friendly menu specializing in Black Angus beef, you'll find a museum quality collection of pre-Prohibition beer artifacts, including back-bar sculptures, trays, and photographs. Three spacious private dining rooms, all of which have their own separate bars, are available for parties.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“uneven -- take your chances”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Have eaten dinner here on several occasions, repeating visits since past meals there had revealed little to grouse about -- service, pricing, and quality all on target. Last night's dinner would have been our one-and-only visit, however, had it been the first. The Caesar salads were composed of flaccid Romain with a near tasteless dressing, and both the fish and chips, and the breaded, fried shrimp special were unpleasantly greasy and limp. This was surprising since that had not been the case in previous visits. It would have been reasonable to send both main courses back, but this was a pre-theater (7:00) visit, not leaving the time to do that. This mess might have been because this was a slow, early Monday evening (2d string in the kitchen? Other visits were all Saturday nights). Might have simply been an off night, no one noticing that the frying oil wasn't hot enough to produce the crispness one would expect. Yesterday's meal deserved a two-spot "poor" rating, at most. I've given the restaurant a three-spot "average", though, because this was the first bad meal. Obviously, with this inconsistency, you take your chances. The high points of the meal were the good, house IPA, the key-lime pie, and the attractive, tattoo'd, friendly waitstaff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toreadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    350
    150
    51
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked a meal at the heartland brewery as we wanted somewhere close to Times Square that specialised in steak. We arrived and were seated very quickly and had our order taken quickly too.

But strangely the waitress who takes your order does not also bring your food like in most restaurants. Our plates were thrown down in front of us with a grunt and off the waiter went. As we ate we observed the behaviour by all of the waiters on the tables around us.

We both ordered a New York strip steak and fries. And the best way to describe the food was bland. The steak had very little taste and the fries look and tasted like oven fries you get in the supermarket.

If you want something quick and cheap and there is a long wait at other nearby places then the Heartland would do at a push, but there are plenty of better places to get a steak for around the same price in NYC

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I saw the chophouse sign advertising fish and chips and I was excited. The wait for a table wasn't so bad. I had to wait 15 mins, not bad for a NYC spot during the holiday season. I thought great beer that 's made right here and fish and chips. The wait for our waitress was forever, our order consisted of spinach artichoke dip(not so bad, not so good, won't order again) fish and chips(totally horrible. fish was bland, soggy and just plain not good. the chips wasn't so bad) , cheeseburger(per my daughter it was juicy and very good) beer (not bad) wait for the spinach dip took 20 mins. The table next to me ordered onion rings after me and got their order before me, when I asked about my order after the table got theirs I was told that there was a lot of tables but somehow my order appeared within 5 mins.

I do not reccommend this spot at all. The food was a let down, the service was a total let down, the only highlight was the beer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't order fish and chips”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Ok atmosphere. Friendly staff. Good beer. Terrible food. Ordered fish and chips. Cold fries. Soggy batter on fish. They did offer a new entree and didn't charge us for it. Also brought us a comp beer. So they did make an effort. Would not recommend the pot stickers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Late Review”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We came across this establishment while walking New York. Not disappointed at the least. Great service from Christian behind the bar never left us waiting.
The American Buffalo wings were terrific so much so I had a second serve. The boutique beers were also worth the try. Try the serving platter of tasting glasses.
Overall a good establishment for the food and style it portraits.
Probably be back the next trip to NY.
Scott. Canberra, Australia.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonython-Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heartland Brewery Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Heartland Brewery Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing