We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #143 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quiet comfort”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our family of four (parents and two teenagers) stayed here for 5 nights and we were very happy with our stay. The room was very large, beds were very comfortable and not a sound from neighbouring rooms, elevators or the street and our room was facing 50th. Hard to believe but true! The staff were friendly with a very effervescent doorman (Samuel? With the fidora) who warmly welcomed us "back home" on our daily return to the hotel. 5-6pm complimentary wine on 2nd was lovely and we enjoyed watching the world cup with other guests from around the world. I would stay here again for sure for all those reasons and its great location in midtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found your room to be comfortable and quiet and that our staff members provided excellent service; they are our greatest asset so thank you for acknowledging their hard work.

I am so happy you mentioned our wonderful Wine Hour held nightly in our Club Room and that you were able to experience the World Cup (hopefully you were able to try our tasty Passion Fruit Caipirinha cocktail) with some of our international guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    453
    114
    38
    25
See reviews for
534
280
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights with two teen boys. The location is great, walkable to the Rock, Radio City and even Times Square. We were also able to walk to a small grocery store. Also near the subway. Small lobby, not touristy, more like staying in your own apartment as there is no restaurant or bar. They do provide free wine from 5-7 which is nice. The room was huge for New York with two very comfortable queens and a small kitchen. The only issue was that there was nowhere to sit when eating our one dinner of leftovers or our breakfasts. A small table and a couple of chairs would have been nice.
Bellman were super helpful and friendly. We think this is a gem for a family in NYC!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have stayed at several of the Affinia Hotels in New York, and booked this one when I needed to be in mid town Manhatten. When I checked in I was given a tiny room and, as usual, the staff at the desk were very helpful and I ended up one floor lower, without a view, but in a wonderfully spacious and comfortable room. I love the amenities at these hotels and the kitchen is always a joy on any stay of more than a day. If you need to be in mid town and especially if you are traveling with a family this hotel easily converts to a home away from home. I didn’t take advantage of the wine and cheese gathering in the club room on the second floor each afternoon, but I did pass by and it looked like a very pleasant and gregarious group enjoying.

Room Tip: If you are not happy, speak up. I had requested a room far from the elevator and with a view. I en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014

First time at this hotel in New York and had a great experience. Close to major tourist spots. The staff was very helpful, friendly and genuine. We all felt very comfortable and like being at home. Room was large by NY standards and well furnished and in great condition

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dosami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have been to New York City many times over the years and recently stayed at the Affinia 50 with my 2 daughters. I can honestly say that this was the best New York Hotel experience to date. The location couldn't be more perfect. There are several reasons for this being a top quality hotel. With relation to all the other hotel choices in Manhatten, Affinia 50 is much smaller with alot less tourist chaos, especially in the entrance/lobby area. This allows the staff to give more personalized service to its guests. Feel that the staff goes out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. Given the excellent midtown location and quality of the hotel, the room rates offer very good value.

Carolyn Neill

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cneill4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed here because it's within walking distance of the Iridium jazz club up at Broadway and it's a good quality hotel. I loved the room & fantastic bed. Staff were excellent and the room service breakfast bag at weekends is superb quality and value.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_kaliyuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

With two teenage boys, it can be a struggle to find a good value for a hotel in midtown Manhattan. Booking two rooms is expensive and doesn't offer amenities like a kitchenette. The suites at the luxury hotels are also very expensive.

The one bedroom suite at the Affinia is perfect. It comes with a full kitchenette, including dishwasher and stove, in addition to the normal fridge and microwave. The suite was gigantic, especially for New York, at perhaps three to four times the size of a standard New York room, but at a lower cost than two standard rooms. The staff were helpful and courteous. We had one minor maintenance issue, and it was fixed promptly.

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of Central Park and the Theater district, and one block from the Metro.

Highly recommended. And here's a tip: book on the hotel web-site to get free wi-fi in the room, essential for traveling with teenagers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zk4575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for this wonderful review. You pointed out two great features about the Affinia 50 Hotel that make it a very special place to stay: spacious and comfortable suites that can accommodate a whole family with fully equipped kitchens and consistent top- notch service provided by a team that genuinely care about guests and work hard to make their stays memorable. Complimentary Wi-Fi is always a nice added bonus!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Until your next stay.

Warm regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,608 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
4,750 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,378 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#70 of 468 in New York City
1,819 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 468 in New York City
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Green Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly redesigned Fifty NYC just completed a comprehensive redesign of all guest rooms and suites as well as its public spaces (corridors, lobby and second floor club room). Fifty NYC hotel has 251 beautifully redesigned rooms including 100 with kitchens and 19 with terraces. All with eclectic furnishings that look hand-selected; curated details at every corner and well-considered design down to the last, elegant component. New to the lobby is a grab-and-go retail space featuring food, beverages, sundries and fun, curated merchandise for spur-of-the-moment splurges. The redesign connects the lobby and the Club Room via a sweeping, stainless steel-and-stone staircase to an updated oasis. The design of the second floor Club Room inspires guests to get out of their rooms with an inviting, eclectic mix of modern furniture and stylish accent pieces where they can relax, work and take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi. Each evening the hotel hosts a complimentary wine hour held in the Club Room and breakfast is served here daily. Set in the dynamic center of Midtown Manhattan - Fifty NYC provides a modern, artfully designed setting with a residential feel. Close proximity to Rockefeller Center - Fifth Avenue shopping and corporate headquarters makes Fifty NYC an appealing choice for a wide range of business travelers, couples, and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia 50 Hotel New York City
Affinia 50 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing