We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite Affinia Hotel, but very nice and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #136 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not my favorite Affinia Hotel, but very nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have stayed at several of the Affinia Hotels in New York, and booked this one when I needed to be in mid town Manhatten. When I checked in I was given a tiny room and, as usual, the staff at the desk were very helpful and I ended up one floor lower, without a view, but in a wonderfully spacious and comfortable room. I love the amenities at these hotels and the kitchen is always a joy on any stay of more than a day. If you need to be in mid town and especially if you are traveling with a family this hotel easily converts to a home away from home. I didn’t take advantage of the wine and cheese gathering in the club room on the second floor each afternoon, but I did pass by and it looked like a very pleasant and gregarious group enjoying.

Room Tip: If you are not happy, speak up. I had requested a room far from the elevator and with a view. I en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    430
    106
    32
    24
See reviews for
502
270
40
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

First time at this hotel in New York and had a great experience. Close to major tourist spots. The staff was very helpful, friendly and genuine. We all felt very comfortable and like being at home. Room was large by NY standards and well furnished and in great condition

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dosami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have been to New York City many times over the years and recently stayed at the Affinia 50 with my 2 daughters. I can honestly say that this was the best New York Hotel experience to date. The location couldn't be more perfect. There are several reasons for this being a top quality hotel. With relation to all the other hotel choices in Manhatten, Affinia 50 is much smaller with alot less tourist chaos, especially in the entrance/lobby area. This allows the staff to give more personalized service to its guests. Feel that the staff goes out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. Given the excellent midtown location and quality of the hotel, the room rates offer very good value.

Carolyn Neill

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cneill4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed here because it's within walking distance of the Iridium jazz club up at Broadway and it's a good quality hotel. I loved the room & fantastic bed. Staff were excellent and the room service breakfast bag at weekends is superb quality and value.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_kaliyuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

With two teenage boys, it can be a struggle to find a good value for a hotel in midtown Manhattan. Booking two rooms is expensive and doesn't offer amenities like a kitchenette. The suites at the luxury hotels are also very expensive.

The one bedroom suite at the Affinia is perfect. It comes with a full kitchenette, including dishwasher and stove, in addition to the normal fridge and microwave. The suite was gigantic, especially for New York, at perhaps three to four times the size of a standard New York room, but at a lower cost than two standard rooms. The staff were helpful and courteous. We had one minor maintenance issue, and it was fixed promptly.

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of Central Park and the Theater district, and one block from the Metro.

Highly recommended. And here's a tip: book on the hotel web-site to get free wi-fi in the room, essential for traveling with teenagers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zk4575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for this wonderful review. You pointed out two great features about the Affinia 50 Hotel that make it a very special place to stay: spacious and comfortable suites that can accommodate a whole family with fully equipped kitchens and consistent top- notch service provided by a team that genuinely care about guests and work hard to make their stays memorable. Complimentary Wi-Fi is always a nice added bonus!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Until your next stay.

Warm regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed in the Affinia 50 for a week with my partner in the middle of June and the only complaint I have is that the hotel towels are on the small side but I have a theory that this may be to put off people taking them. Apart from that little quibble, I have nothing bad to say at all. The staff are attentive and friendly. The hotel itself is clean, up to date and rooms are a decent size. Free wifi in the lounge on level 2, you have to pay for in room wifi. They also do a free wine hour in the lounge but we were always out when this was on in the evenings. There was also a fitness room on floor 2 but we never used this either.

The bed was huge (was much bigger than my king size bed at home) and the pillows were just right. The room was cleaned and the bed made every day to a high standard. The air con worked to bring the room temp down to 19/20 degrees and whilst it was needed overnight it certainly drowned out the noise on the streets so we both slept well every night. The shower was adequate and had three different jet settings. The main thing was that the temperature of the water was constant whatever time it was used plus there was a temp guide on the shower tap which was useful. There were ear plugs, desk area and desk chair, sitting chair and foot stool, flat screen TV, wardrobe space, a case stand, safe, room service menu, phone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge in the queen room we had. In the bathroom there was soap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. I was surprised to see that the hairdryer was powerful in comparison to other hotel ones I have used.

The subway was nearby, Times Square was within walking distance, close to Rockerfeller Centre and Top of the Rock plus St Patricks Cathedral, Grand Central station and the Chrysler building were all nearby. We walked nearly everywhere and anything downtown we caught the subway which is easy enough to navigate.

There was a breakfast place called New York Luncheonette about three doors down that we had breakfast in once for convenience and Morning Star cafe was about 5/10 min walk away. We mostly ate at Juniors in the dining concourse of Grand Central Station. There is a little shop next door to the Luncheonette that sells sweets, drinks and has an ATM. We had planned on going to next doors hotel (Kimberley Hotel) to drink in their rooftop bar but were too shattered to go.

Check out was easy and the hotel gave us different options in which to do this on the morning of check out. No complaints from us and we are happy to recommend this hotel as a great base with which to explore such an amazing city.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor so not good for views but the wifi from the 2nd floor lounge worked in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFlibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Well located! Courteous staff. Nice clean rooms, recently renovated. Good value for your money.
But very, very "touristy". Sometimes, elevators can't handle the crowd!. Nice breakfast bars just around the corner.

Room Tip: Rooms with small kitchens available. Very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Thank you very much for thoughtful review!

I am delighted that your family had a great time in our hotel and enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,766 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Green Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly redesigned Fifty NYC just completed a comprehensive redesign of all guest rooms and suites as well as its public spaces (corridors, lobby and second floor club room). Fifty NYC hotel has 251 beautifully redesigned rooms including 100 with kitchens and 19 with terraces. All with eclectic furnishings that look hand-selected; curated details at every corner and well-considered design down to the last, elegant component. New to the lobby is a grab-and-go retail space featuring food, beverages, sundries and fun, curated merchandise for spur-of-the-moment splurges. The redesign connects the lobby and the Club Room via a sweeping, stainless steel-and-stone staircase to an updated oasis. The design of the second floor Club Room inspires guests to get out of their rooms with an inviting, eclectic mix of modern furniture and stylish accent pieces where they can relax, work and take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi. Each evening the hotel hosts a complimentary wine hour held in the Club Room and breakfast is served here daily. Set in the dynamic center of Midtown Manhattan - Fifty NYC provides a modern, artfully designed setting with a residential feel. Close proximity to Rockefeller Center - Fifth Avenue shopping and corporate headquarters makes Fifty NYC an appealing choice for a wide range of business travelers, couples, and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia 50 Hotel New York City
Affinia 50 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing