We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here on your honeymoon last Summer. After arriving at 7 am thinking that our room wouldn't be ready until 3 pm we were delighted to find the hotel had our room ready for us which we felt was a lovely touch after an overnight flight.

The hotel is in a great location with a lovely little diner 4 doors down.

Staff were lovely and the rooms were beautiful.

If back in New York we would definitely stay in the Affinia 50 again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culture_Vulture1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review from your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    461
    117
    41
    25
See reviews for
547
283
44
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Visitors to Manhattan generally need to scale back their expectations on hotel room size or pay super high room rates. Affinia 50 has large (by NYC standard) rooms at reasonable room rates, as I've found in other Affinia's in NYC. Affinia 50 was recently remodeled, so the rooms are very clean and modern. We booked in the lowest category and there was still a bathtub and small refrigerator - luxuries for New York hotels!

We requested a quiet room and there was still some street noise, but I think that is unavoidable due to the hotel location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Fully completed renovation - never had a chance to see the second floor club suite until this trip and it was really well executed. The hotel has a wine hour (or two) each evening and the space provides a nice little spot to hang out.

The rooms are nice and well done - such a dramatic change post renovation, I like the little guest kitchen next to the registration desk - good sot for a late night snack or drink without the trek to Duane reade or cvs.

The only negative is I like a cold room and I just couldn't get the temperature low enough.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms facing the street (for light) but high up so I can avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdcarcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The delight begins at checkin --- warm smiles, bell staff that genuinely welcomes you, big smiles all around. I felt special from the moment I walked in.

I had booked a king studio, and it was a lovely room .. big kitchen, above average size bathroom (not small like many NYC hotels), and a large spacious bedroom with plenty of room to move around. There is a large work desk for setting up a laptop, and plenty of light and plugs easily accessible. The bed was firm and comfortable, with fine linens. The room had plenty of place to unpack clothes for a week, and a large in-room safe. In-room robes are not provided.

The bathroom was spacious, well provided with towels and amenities. THe shower had good water pressure, and the bathtub was spacious. My only minor complaint was there was black mold starting to grow on the caulking, and the ceiling above the shower/tub. Other than that, the suite was kept scrupulously clean.

One of the best parts is the club on the 2nd floor, where coffee and tea is available 24 hours a day (a nice touch...no need to find a starbucks early in the morning), and a social hour with wine is free for all guests from 5 to 6 pm. Free internet is also available in the club, so it was a nice scene with many guests around. Newspapers are here every day, and plentiful. ANd there's a healthclub with new equipment, bottled water (free), and towels.

I would come back here in a moment! Warm and gracious service, large spacious rooms, and great amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricNilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
EricNilson, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you found our team to be attentive, genuine, and engaging. Thank you for your descriptive comments about our newly renovated rooms, fitness center as well as our wonderful and vibrant Wine Hour. We are humbled by your commitment to return to the Affinia 50 and look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!

Sincerely,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

First time to NY, Stayed for 4 nights over the weekend in May. Great hotel, perfected located in midtown. Hotel is bright, clean and homey. All we needed : )
Staff are professional and helpful, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelshell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our family of four, 2 adults and 2 kids, just came back from a wonderful stay at the Affinia 50. The doormen, front desk and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed (recent renovation), and the beds were very comfortable. Hotel was a great value. We also enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi Internet (from booking online on the hotel website). We did not come back early enough to try the 5pm-6pm complimentary wine/snack hour.

We loved that the train stop was so close by, that the E express train to/from LaGuardia Airport (via the Q70 limited bus) stopped minutes from the hotel as well, and that the M-50 crosstown bus was also just a block away. We also enjoyed the food in the area, great for four somewhat fussy but not fancy eaters, with an appreciative nod to the Treehaus around the corner.

There are the occasional sirens at night, which the windows could not keep out entirely (there is a police precinct across the street (51st)), but the sirens were fairly infrequent and did not generally sound in the late-night/early morning hours. If you're a super light sleeper, this may be a problem but after long days of sight-seeing/shopping, we weren't bothered by this at all.

Some visitors may find this location to be a bit dull (it's definitely not Times Square) but we found it safe and convenient and most importantly - for the kids - we were very close to the Rockefeller Plaza (home to the Lego store and Nintendo World), the FAO Schwarz toy store as well as Central Park and Sony's Wonder Technology Lab. We were also not far from the Times Square Toys r' Us, although a wee bit farther from The Forbidden Planet collectibles store.

We were here a few years ago, before the recent renovations, and we liked the big rooms and location then. Post-renovations, the place is even better. Note that there are several hotels on the same side of the street as Affinia 50, pretty much side by side, and there are renovations continuing (lots of scaffolding still).

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bell-lap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review! I couldn’t be happier to hear that our spacious rooms were the perfect accommodations for you and your family. We also love our great location as we are right in the middle of everything that New York has to offer.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Affina 50 for a short trip in early June. The front desk service was amazing, allowing us both an early check-in and a late check-out due to some special needs. The hotel was updated, clean and offered very nice sized room. A nice peak is the fun, friendly doormen ... always offering a big smile when coming and going. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
I wanted to personally thank you for the kind review. It so gratifying to hear you had such positive experience at the Fifty. Our fantastic team really exemplifies hospitality and they will be thrilled to read your comments. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge them on your posting.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Until your next stay.

Warm regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#93 of 467 in New York City
2,652 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4,789 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 467 in New York City
1,393 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
1,693 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly redesigned Fifty NYC just completed a comprehensive redesign of all guest rooms and suites as well as its public spaces (corridors, lobby and second floor club room). Fifty NYC hotel has 251 beautifully redesigned rooms including 100 with kitchens and 19 with terraces. All with eclectic furnishings that look hand-selected; curated details at every corner and well-considered design down to the last, elegant component. New to the lobby is a grab-and-go retail space featuring food, beverages, sundries and fun, curated merchandise for spur-of-the-moment splurges. The redesign connects the lobby and the Club Room via a sweeping, stainless steel-and-stone staircase to an updated oasis. The design of the second floor Club Room inspires guests to get out of their rooms with an inviting, eclectic mix of modern furniture and stylish accent pieces where they can relax, work and take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi. Each evening the hotel hosts a complimentary wine hour held in the Club Room and breakfast is served here daily. Set in the dynamic center of Midtown Manhattan - Fifty NYC provides a modern, artfully designed setting with a residential feel. Close proximity to Rockefeller Center - Fifth Avenue shopping and corporate headquarters makes Fifty NYC an appealing choice for a wide range of business travelers, couples, and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia 50 Hotel New York City
Affinia 50 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing