We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for Buisness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA United Nations

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AKA United Nations
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay for Buisness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you are staying for more than 3 days this is the place to book. The rooms are like apartments and even include a patio. There is also satellite TV in the living room and bed room. The room is also very quite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
9
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I like the lobby of this hotel, small and personal. Breakfast is nothing much but it's New York and foods are everywhere. There was a kitchenette in the room. Within walking distance to Times Square and other NYC attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and big and you found all you need. Breakfast nothing special but close to time square nothing to say against a stay in this place. Not that expensive and stuff was friendly. For a stay in big apple always a recommendation without regret.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ulf2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at AKA UN property in New York. A little off the beaten path - which we were looking for - was the right approach for our couples weekend in the City. The former company I worked for has a relationship with the owner of this property, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. However, from check-in to amenities to location to check-out the place was excellent. I look forward to the next NYC visit so we can re-book at this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been working in NYC the past 6 months and will sadly be departing soon.My job requires a lot of travel, and so many times I have been less then satisfied with my accommodations, but this time I stayed at the AKA UN and it has been so nice and easy. The rooms are great, spacious enough for my wife and I, plus the occasional visitor, a nice kitchen, bed, bath, easy access to anywhere I want to go as it is located a few short blocks from Grand Central. But mostly of all the staff has been amazing! The kind people at the front desk are so helpful, accommodating and lovely. If any thing arose, they were here to deal with it right away with a smile and professionalism. I will always make sure I book a room here as it has been a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Wonderful staff, horrible place. Dingy, filthy, moldy, musty. Every hallway smells, laundry area reeks. Do not stay here if you haven't had a tetanus shot. Outdated furniture. Spend the money somewhere else to get a clean place. What a sham. Shame on them for letting this place go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was working in NYC for 1 year and found this location. I also visited for a couple nights again last year and dropped by to say hello 3 weeks ago.
I stayed here for 1 year and was extremly satisfied with the accomodation, service and security.
All and I mean all of the desk staff, doormen and managers were the nicest folks you could ever meet. It truely felt like home. The apartement was larger than most NYC apts and the applicances including the 42 inch HD TV were new.
I really miss AKA and the staff/management

Room Tip: Go for the newer renovated lower floor without balcony. Note this is a longer term stay place not an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#177 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#135 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Midtown
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
#368 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
No photo provided
Even Hotels New York - Midtown E...
#389 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#327 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Midtown
AKA Sutton Place
AKA Sutton Place
#34 of 192 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA United Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA United Nations

Property: AKA United Nations
Address: 234 E 46th St, btwn 2nd & 3rd Aves, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AKA United Nations 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a cosmopolitan Manhattan neighborhood and specializing in stays of a month or longer, AKA United Nations is superbly situated near both the UN headquarters and vibrant Midtown. Newly reopened after a full renovation, AKA United Nations features one bedroom residences which reflect the neighborhood's global character. The light-filled rooms are well-proportioned, and feature brand new kitchens, hardwood floors and modern furnishings. New amenities include a lobby with a living room-style lounge and adjacent garden, Technogym fitness center and a communal work area. Complimentary WiFi and local phone service with personal voicemail is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your AKA United Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka United Nations Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing