We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A statue of my Presidential relation”

Madison Square Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.99*
and up
New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Flatiron Food, Architecture and History Tour
More Info
$299.00*
and up
New York Tour by Subway and Bus with Private Guide
Ranked #92 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally a residential area, this square has become one of the more important in New York history. It has become a prime location for many businesses and major buildings.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
826 reviews
495 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
“A statue of my Presidential relation”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were walking through Madison Square when suddenly, and totally unexpectedly, we came across a statue of a President of the United States that I am distantly related to. This is President Chester Alan Arthur, the 21st President, who assumed office on the death of his predecessor, President Garfield, who died of wounds following having been shot a few months earlier. If I have got it right President Arthur's paternal grandmother was my several times great grandmothers sister. As least this is what my aunt, who is now 102 years young, has told me in the past. She still lives in Northern Ireland and researched the family's ancestry many years ago.

The park itself was a quite haven within a busy part of New York and provided some welcome shade from the heart of the afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brucestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    212
    49
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
807 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Fun Oasis”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Madison Square park is a great little oasis from the hustle and noise of the city. There is always some interesting art being showcased and the landscaping is beautiful. There are plenty of places to sit and relax. Head over to shake shack for a great burger. If you are a dog fan or have your friend with you, the dog run is nice and shake shack has some dog friendly snacks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,255 reviews
1,943 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,872 helpful votes
“A beautiful park”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of the attractions of New York is the number of wonderful parks that breakup the built environment - this is one of those great parks - surrounded by some wonderful landmark buildings. It is worth a side trip to enjoy the park and see surrounding areas like Gramercy Park and the flatiron building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Lovely little park”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little park between 23rd and 26th streets at Madison. Accessible via various trains. The original Shake Shack is in the park, Eataly overlooks the park, so it is a great spot for a picnic. There are several benches, tables and chairs (some with umbrellas) to choose, or bring a blanket and sit on the grass.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved Madison Square Park”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My son and I just happened upon Madison Square which also has a wonderful park for children. This is a great place for a break with the kiddos in the big city. The park offers several concerts for children along with a playground and beautiful garden.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurakrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Square Park also viewed

 

Been to Madison Square Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing