We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for claustrophobes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #147 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 11, 2007

I booked this hotel through Hilton Honors - I was told it would be no problem to have an open view out the window. The room we were given looked directly into another building... not unusual for NYC, but not what we were promised. The room was tiny. We paid over $300 a night ... I think you can do better elsewhere. My complaint re: the "view" was brushed off by front desk staff - There are alternatives, I learned too late - for example the Radison nearby has 100's of rooms facing Greeley Square, much more open.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Maryjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,487 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2007

I like the Hampton Inn brand for being a comfortable, affordable place to stay. The formula has translated well into New York City.

We had a family trip with 15 people. The location was perfect. Subway access for major subway lines were only a block or two away. Getting around the city was easy. Times Square is not a hard walk from the hotel. The Empire State Building is even closer.

I think the staff is exceptional -- friendly, professional, and very helpful. One evening, we brought a giant Carnegie Deli cheesecake back to the hotel. The staff opened the dining room so that all 15 of us could enjoy a New York treat together.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. But expect them to be a little on the small side because you’re in New York City.

My wife and I are planning a visit to New York by ourselves. We plan on staying at the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Bsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Overall, the hotel was nice. As with almost any hotel, it did have some things that could have been better. The main thing was that the rooms were very small, especially for our family of 3. We had a king bed and had a roll away each night. We were basically stepping over each other when we were in the room (which really wasn't all that often). The location was good, but if it had been one or two streets over, it would have been better. There is a church or mission on the other side of the street so there were quite a few homeless people around. They never were a problem while we were walking to and from the hotel. The hotel provided a nice breakfast each morning. The food was good and it sure saved our family alot of money. They also had little snacks in the evenings. The staff was always helpful if we had a question or needed anything.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mladamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this Hampton Inn from July 1 to July 6. This was our first visit to New York City and we arrived at Penn Station on Amtrak, within walking distance of the hotel. We found this location very convenient, as we were in close proximity to the subway and all the major attractions, Times Square, the Empire State Building, etc.

Every morning, we were warmly welcomed by Mohamed, the lead attendant of the Breakfast Bar. Although the dining facility was constantly busy, Mohamed always went out of his way to personally ensure that we had everything we needed. He is truly four-star! The food was always good and there was plenty of it as well.

The layout of the rooms made for a more quiet stay, no noisy neighbors running through the corridors. The only indication that there was a housekeeping staff was the fact that our room was always clean and we were supplied with fresh towels daily. This is the first time we have ever stayed in a lodging facility without seeing staff or cleaning carts cluttering the corridors.

My husband refers to Hampton Inn as the "Official Hotel of the Perry Family"; we always stay there because of its quality, but this Hampton Inn is head and shoulders above any other in which we have stayed. Rest assured that our next stay in New York City will be at the Hampton Inn-Herald Square!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1wildpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

When I booked this hotel, I was a little concerned about what we would get considering it was priced cheaper than the majority of hotels within Manhattan. But when we got there, it was ok. The location was great, within walking distance of everything. The room was very small but very clean. I appreciated the breakfast, considering most NYC hotels don't offer that. Loved the flat screen TV on the wall. The only issue we had was that there was a bad smell coming from the AC. The maintenance person came to fix it, but there was still a little trace of the smell after he left. Also, a couple suggestions- add a safe and mini-fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank opn2nethng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The location is great, being close to mid town, the subways and trains. If you're looking for a large room in NY then you'll be paying for it also- this is a typical size room that is definitely newer, very clean and welcoming.
The free breakfast has something for everyone from fruit,cereal, yogurt, eggs, bagels, etc. and the menu varies each day. They have snacks waiting in the afternoon when you're back from a funfilled day also.
We came for the 4th and of course so did alot of other people. we were on the top floor hoping to be away from the city noise but unfortunately were next to a loud group of kids staying in a room by themselves with their parents never around. We spoke to the desk and were moved ASAP with no questions asked.
The staff is great, friendly, helpful and even suggested a restaurant one night which was outstanding and reasonably priced. We'll stay here on our next visit

Stayed: July 2007
Thank sunshine7163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

This was our (family of 4) first trip to New York, and we were concern about the hotel and the location. The reviews of the hotel were generous, but after a week of an outstanding experience - the reviews should have been much higher. When you stay here expect more than the reviews. The concierge John, was top notch with his knowlege of locations and tips for city travel. He also provided treats for the kids. The rooms were clean, good free breakfast and location. The hotel is close to all of your needs.

Couple of items of note; don't rent a car (trust me) and pack small because the rooms are small. We carry an extra suitecase for gifts - glad we did. Bring your camera.

The best way to get around - the subway - asked the attendents for dierections, and bring some comfortable shoes.

Awesome - no regrets. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#161 of 469 in New York City
2,212 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#154 of 469 in New York City
1,932 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#112 of 469 in New York City
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 469 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#199 of 469 in New York City
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $143 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing