We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location, service and great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #143 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 26, 2010

I led a group of 17 to this hotel this month and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was clean, check in was smooth with a group of this size. The rooms were small which is expected in New York but clean and comfortable. Bell Hop was brilliant and gave us excellent advice every time we had a question. The hotel offer a complimentary breakfast service which was both bountiful and excellent, self service and no pressure to rush. My only critisism there would be that they use polystyrene plates, cups and plastic knives and forks and this is not very environmentally friendly but I appreciate it allows them to keep the costs down which in turn allows them to offer a complimentary service. Location was great on the corner of 6th Ave and 31st about 15 mins walk from Times Square. There are plenty of good places to eat, drink and shop nearby - Macy's only 5 mins walk. Empire State Building 10 mins. I would highly recommend this hotel to all, very family friendly and affordable. Overall very good :-)

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

My friend and I stayed here because it was the perfect price & location to see Martha Stewart's show which we had tickets for. We arrived late in the afternoon on St Patty's Day and apparently they had a one bed room for us - which was unacceptable for two grown women. They quickly changed us to a two bed room - and also told us where we should go for dinner - up the street for some St Patty's atmosphere.
We went to our room - the hotel has very thin hallways which was surprising at first - but the room was sufficient and bathroom was great - bigger than expected for a city hotel. Dinner was a great way to start off the night - good Irish feel and we were even lucky enough that the bagpipers came through the restaurant and gave us a little concert.
The beds were comfortable - but you can hear things from the hallway like other doors opening. Again - expected in such a small space. In the morning we had our one and only real issue with the hotel = the hair dryer didn't work. It worked for about 2 seconds and then died. We reported it and the desk person said it was normal and let it rest? But it shouldn't need to rest since it only worked long enough for me to put it to my head and then stopped before actually emitting hot air on my hair. We called again when it still didn't work and they didn't know if they had a hair dryer to help us out.
Oh well - we ended up having to go to Martha Stewarts show with wet hair. (as we were leaving the hotel the desk person informed us that they found a hairdryer and were just bringing it up - but we were going to be late for the taping of Martha so we had to do without) So note: pack your own hair dryer. Other than that - this hotel was awesome and everyone was very accommodating - it was a great location and I know I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

It's a nice hotel with a nice staff. The rooms are tiny, but that's the way it is in Manhattan. It's within a few minutes walk to Macy's, Madison Square Garden, the subway and Penn Station. Hundreds of restaurants are nearby.

The staff is nice. I had some college age kids in the room next to me. I called the front desk and within a few minutes I was in another room on another floor far away from the other noisy guests.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davesito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights for our first (hopefully not last!) visit to New York: Loved the city and were very happy with our choice of hotel. The included breakfast was so good we never went anywhere else, a little crowded but we always found a table or just took plates of food up to our room. The 24 hour coffee and tea was a real bonus too, we certainly made use of that amenity!! The rooms are small but in my experience that is often the case in large cities and we managed just fine, we were out practically all day every day anyway so it's not something that was important to us. We really liked the location, very close to the subway and plenty of stores and deli type places nearby... Not sure about actual restaurants as we ate in other parts of the city. I also have to give a mention to the excellent service we received: My boyfriend is a keen photographer and asked at reception if it was possible to go up on the roof and take some photos which they agreed to as long as he was accompanied by a member of staff which they sorted out immediately and my boyfriend got his photos (including some great ones of the Empire State Building at night) and had a nice chat with Jake from maintenance who happened to be a native New Yorker, what a bonus!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Spent four nights at the Hampton Inn on W 31st Street recently for a business function. At $134/night, it's a steal considering all of the extras.

The hotel is new and a quick stroll from Penn Station or the 34th St subway stops. The elevators are quick and spacious by NYC standards, and the front desk staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful. The rooms are not your normal Hampton Inn size, but big enough, especially by NYC standards. The King room was plenty large for a solo traveler, but the bathroom was a little snug with a stand-up shower and small vanity area. There is only one 'closet,' which is actually a cabinet beside the bed. The free internet was fast & reliable, and the breakfast in the lobby was fresh and well-stocked. As you can imagine, it gets crowded.

Overall, it was a great stay. The room is modern and quiet, and it's an incredible value. I would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Just a great hotel for manhattan! The other reviewers are bang on so I won't add anything that's not needed. All i need to add is starbucks at one end of the block and double d at the other! Woo hoo.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Just back from a 4 day trip with my mum and sister. The location of this hotel is really excellent. A couple of blocks from Macys and the empire state. Penn station around the corner. When we got to NY it was snowing heavily so there were no bus tours. We got the subway up to 73rd and literally walked back to the hotel taking in most of the midtown sights on the way. No need for a bus tour! Location means you can easily stop back in the hotel during the day. We had a triple room which was a little compact for 3 of us but the beds were really comfortable and it was quiet.The hotel seems quite new. The bathrooms were clean, shower was fine. Breakfast was included. I was surprised at this especially since hot food is available: 3 cereals /fruit/ yogurt/ pancakes/ bagels/ toast/ danishes/ scrambled eggs/grits. Staff behind reception were not so friendly but the concierge, John could not do enough to help. He even made us cookies as we were leaving! Free internet access. If you get a town car to JFK, the cost is $70 not including tips. John had told us it would be $65. Altogether a great hotel and I will be recommending it to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaineyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#145 of 473 in New York City
1,998 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#159 of 473 in New York City
2,279 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#201 of 473 in New York City
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#249 of 473 in New York City
2,548 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 473 in New York City
2,106 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#129 of 473 in New York City
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $154 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing