We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hampton inn- perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #165 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“hampton inn- perfect”
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Stayed here 19-23 November. This is a hotel in a perfect location- MSG minutes away, Times Squate, 10 minutes. However the street is comparatively quiet- considering this is NY!
Hotel room very clean- spacios (2 adults in 2 double bedded room), bathroom sppotless with loads of fresh towls every day.
Staff in lobby always chatty and friendly- breakfast great- plenty of fresh fruit as well.
Internet access a bonus- always eady to use the computers.
Would highly recommend this hotel- great budget too.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UkNewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    744
    192
    56
    38
See reviews for
697
461
108
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, R.I.
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night to introduce our 4-year-old daughter to New York City. First off, the room was the most spacious we've ever stayed in in NYC. Not huge by any means, but roomy and good-sized by NYC standards. And it was immaculate! I am a huge freak when it comes to hotel rooms and cleanliness, and this hotel certainly passed the test.
The staff was friendly and always gave you a warm hello in the lobby. That was nice, as it doesn't happen everywhere! Free breakfast was tasty and the bed was really comfortable. It was close to midtown, Times Square, and a subway stop was only just around the corner.
Very quiet, friendly and just the right size for our little family. We had a great time during our stay, and I'd highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingLavertys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Very good rooms, clean and confortable! Great location and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateTosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I stayed here while I was attending a trade show at the Javits. This location is perfect - you can walk to the trade show, Times Square and just about anywhere. The staff was very friendly at check in and seem to really like talking to the guests. The breakfast room attendant, Mohammed, made you feel like a guest in his home every day! The rooms are clean and well maintained. There seems to be a mix of families, tourists and business people.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ber5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed at the hotel on 7 Nov., 2009 and was very impressed: friendly front desk staff, good selection breakfast buffet, free wireless access in room AND free computers in the lobby, room was small but you are not in NY to sit in your room and the bed was very comfortable. The location was great- only 1/2 block from Penn station with Newark Airport train and subway connections, 3 block from Herald Square with new outdoor seating plaza(street blocked off from traffic).
It is a simple but solid 2,5 star hotel. I will definitively be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meklof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

This was my second choice of hotel but so glad I changed my booking. Location was fantastic both for sites and transport. Hotel clean and tidy. Complimentary breakfast. Free wifi. Free tea and coffees downstairs. Room quite small for 2 adults and 2 teenagers but no smaller than other NYC hotels I've stayed it. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly which isn't always the norm in NY. Would recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyC6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two and a half weeks and we were straight away made to feel at home and the staff were exceptional with their friendliness and helpfulness. The rooms are clean, and generous in size, the bed is extremely comfortable and the hotel is very quiet. Complimentary breakfast is sufficient to start you on a busy day's activities and there is hot tea and coffee available at all times. We asked for a refrigerator in our room and this was done immediately at no charge. The location is nicely central between downtown and uptown and very handy to the subway at 34th street and the Penn Station/subway on 7th avenue. Our tip for travellers is that midtown is too touristy so head downtown to the quaint and interesting districts, or else uptown to Central Park and the museums. The closest supermarket (Wholefoods) is quite handy on 7th avenue and 24th street.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing