We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #167 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is very small, it was a bit close feeling at times since my husband is very tall, especially in the breakfast area. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect for exploring midtown by foot. Be sure to ask the front desk about local attractions, they gave us quick passes to the Empire State Building. Construction just began on a building next door so I don't recommend rooms on the East side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower levels and rooms on the East side of the building, the construction is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horsegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
We take your comments about your stay seriously. New York hotels seem to be smaller than most hotels; we are glad that you able to enjoy your stay. We apologize about the noise disturbance from the construction next door; next time you decide to stay us we can assign you a room that is not on the east side of the building,.Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    756
    194
    56
    40
See reviews for
710
466
110
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Burnie, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

very friendly staff, an easy walk to Penn Station and the Empire State building. Good restaurants nearby, I especially recommend IndiKitch for a great lunch or dinner. Close to the subway and surface transportation will definitely stay at this Hampton Inn on my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feed back with us. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and the location of the hotel. We hope that when you return, you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It's great value for the location to major attractions in the city, highways and access to subways. Can't be beat! The staff was helpful and accommodated all of our needs. The breakfast had plenty of variety and great quality. Parking in the area is a bit of a pain but they try and make it as easy as possible (discount on local lots).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Driving and finding parking in New York can be a pain we are glad you were able to utilize our discounted parking lot; we are glad that you enjoyed the stay with all the other amenities we had to offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a good hotel with great helpful staff. Buffet breakfast and clean rooms.
The location is excellent just off broadway and beside madison sq gdns.
I have no hesitation in recommending this Hampton inn, and I would return myself.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our location is almost centralized and easily accessible to most subway lines and attractions which is plus for our guests. We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you again for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Clean, quite boutique hotel. They have a wonderful breakfast in the morning with anything you hearts delight! If you don't have time for breakfast on the weekdays they have a to go bag with a muffin, water, mints a protein bar and an apple. There are wonderful delicious warm cookies waiting for you when you come back after a long days work. The staff is very nice but make sure you ask for a bath tub, because not all room have one!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We apologize that we were unable to accommodate your needs. We suggest after booking your reservation, add a comment for a preferences and if available we would be happy to accommodate you.
The breakfast and our staff are the most raved about delights at the Hampton Inn MSG. We are pleased that you were able to experience the best we have to offer. We hope that when you come back to New York City, we are your number one choice! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The location of the Hampton Inn was very convenient to MSG, 6th/7th Ave Metro stops, fashion district etc. Staff was fantastic, helpful, knowledgeable, courteous. Bathroom decent sized, but overall size of room put a damper on the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank karenp771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We understand that our rooms may be a bit cozy, if you were traveling alone we do suggest booking a King size room; those rooms may be a bit more spacious. Helpfulness of our staff can improve your stay immensely, so we are glad that they were very informative. We hope that when you return to New York City you decide to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I travel to Manhattan for work and stay at the Hamton Inn near MSG 3-4 x's year for 8-10 days at a time. Kevin and his team of hoteliers have truly taken feedback from their guests and constantly seem to improve. A neighborhood such as MSG has tons of hotels, and staying here makes the stay in the city an enjoyable one. If you do not like noise or high foot/car traffic, then you really have no busy coming to NYC to begin with, and given the value of this hotel, it is as quiet as it can be whilst being the middle of everything I need from fine dining, entertainment, and awesome shopping. Thanks again Kevin, until next time.
~Dr. Raj

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kartik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We value your comments and concerns especially as returning guest. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to improve your stay; it’s imperative that our guests feel comfortable expressing their thoughts or concerns. We hope that you choose to stay with us, once again upon your return to the Hampton Inn MSG.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#117 of 468 in New York City
817 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 468 in New York City
1,854 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#168 of 468 in New York City
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#270 of 468 in New York City
1,988 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,291 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#218 of 468 in New York City
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing