We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time in the big apple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #165 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first time in the big apple”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My first time in the city, this hotel is very central located in my view.

Close to time square (10 min walk). I took the subway and taxis to get around, wasn't hard to get to the closest station or hailing a cab.

The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast had great hot and cold options.

My only negative point is the elevators weren't the quickest, but the stairs were a great option to head down.

I would definitely come back to this hotel !

Room Tip: i had 6th floor facing 31st street, i can imagine higher up would be better (19 floors total). The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montrealmatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
First I would like to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden. I am so pleased that your first trip to New York was so enjoyable.
Let me take a moment to apologize for our elevators not moving so swiftly.

I am so pleased that you were happy with our location. We look forward to servicing you on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    744
    192
    56
    38
See reviews for
697
461
108
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
1,027 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice little Hampton inn close to Penn Starion, Madison Square Garden and not to forget Macy's for you shoppers out there. Rooms a bit on the smaller side. Very nice comfortable beds, with fresh sheets and duvet covers, mind you! My room was pretty cold 65f waking up this morning and I was unable to get it warmer.

When here and looking for a place to eat. Try Pennsylvania 6, which is more or less next door for a nice comforting meal.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your hotel of choice while in NYC. I am glad you enjoyed your shopping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here overnight prior to a cruise. Very nice hotel. Location is covenant to subway station. The room is a little small, but it is NYC, so that is to be expected. The front desk staff were very friendly, and an added plus, they spoke English!!! Clean, comfy -- what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. Hope you enjoyed your first visit to our city and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

it was a good experience. I would definitely come again. enjoy your time with your spouse and its quiet and relaxing. if you don't have enough money this hotel wasn't a horrible experience at all. didn't like when we first arrived though. I felt like I was in prison when the receptionists didn't allow us through the sliding door. we had to speak through the phone before she allowed us in. didn't like that at all. I am not a criminal. over all it was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. There is nothing better than spending time with the family. I am pleased you were able to enjoy your stay. Sorry about the front door, we secure it from midnight to 6am, but a guest room key will grant access as well. Safety, security and comfort is of the utmost importance to us.
We hope to see you again when in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Beds super comfortable; hotel was so clean, Breakfast was nice ... I can't say enough about the hotel ...

Even though the room was small; the décor was nice so you could forgive that -

Really lovely place to stay in New York!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to you and your family reurning to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

On arrival, without a reservation due to a mix up at another hotel, we thank God for Kevin the hotel manager who quickly made us feel like we were invited close friends in his own home. We felt like Kevin was family, and I just met the guy 5 minutes ago. We stayed 2 Nites. During our stay, Kevin's great leadership skills obviously rubbed off on his entire crew. Very friendly, helpful, courteous especially I think its Kevin's assistant Mgr Carlos. What a great crew to deal with. Extra clean rooms, sweet breakfast in the morning, location is perfect, and above all Kevin the manager, Carlos his assistant, and the entire staff made me and my family feel at home. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halifaxjoemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for all of your graet comments regarding our staff. I will pass this along to them and we look forward to you staying with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 13, 2014

really staff so good and the hotel good breakfast and clean the rooms the hampton inn hotels i stay before really good hotel is good for family or business all is good for this hotel i like it i am stay again and again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
It is always nice to hear that we have met or exceeded our guests expections. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and that our staff was able to meet your hotel needs on a consistent basis. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing